We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Staff, I felt like one of the family”
Review of Hotel Fivos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Fivos
Ranked #45 of 63 Speciality Lodging in Athens
Oakland, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Staff, I felt like one of the family”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We wandered into what we thought was simply a travel agency looking for some help booking our excursions throughout Greece (Santorini, Crete, Delphi, Meteora and the Peloponnese). What a happy accident for us. Mr. Consolas took incredible care of us and handled everything, he even drove us to the ferry! When our itinerary indicated a few more nights stay in Athens (We had just come from an over priced place found on Expedia) he jovially said. "You can stay upstairs, only 30 Euros" After what we were paying, this seemed too good to be true. True, it was basic, and a 3rd floor walk up and the heating was limited. But it was safe, clean and comfortable, and fine once we were tucked in under the covers. ( Frankly being in an overheated hotel room isn't great either!) The breakfast was fine and the location was just amazing. I would definitely stay here again. There was much hugging and laughing, it made our experience in Greece so very rich. We have never had a clerk in a hotel hail us a cab at 3am in the morning, walk us out to the curb and kiss us, on both cheeks, goodbye as the delightful young lady did at The Hotel Fivos. This is what traveling is supposed to be, not being insulated in a pristine cocoon.

Room Tip: Ask for an extra sheet, higher floors in the back have more daylight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Regnig F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    49
    65
    37
    73
See reviews for
13
73
44
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Martin Chile Verde
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Not the most amazing bed as you get what you pay for, but very clean, friendly staff, breakfast included...can't complain and would book again. The location is great for walking to all major Athens destinations.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ocnmvmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 December 2013

I booked to stay here for 3 nights when I ran the Athens marathon. I also booked an addition 8 days to stay after, but as i had seen mixed reviews, I waited until I had actually stayed there myself before paying and staying for the extra.time. I need not have worried. The rooms were clean, WiFi was excellent, breakfast perfectly acceptable, shower hot and excellent water pressure and sheets/towels changed daily. Although it was on a busy road leading to Monastiraki Square noise was not a problem. The staff on reception and the manager were extremely helpful at all times.
All this for €10 a night, no better value for money anywhere I suspect

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2coldfingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Completely acceptable for budget-minded travelers and right around the corner from the Plaka. Be warned tho, it is a walk up. Room was bare but completely clean, as was the bathroom (in-room). We were on the street side so it was quite noisy with the windows open. Old style Athens plumbing which is a bit of shock to our north american sensibilities, but still found everywhere except new or higher end properties. Old, but again, completely clean. Warm, friendly and accomodating staff

Even if you dont stay here, I highly recommend you use Consolas tours (consulas@hol.gr / www.consolas.gr) downstairs. Theo couldnt have been more warm and welcoming and bent over backwards for us. We walked in off the street late on the first afternoon, told him what we wanted to do in Athens and the next morning came back for a COMPLETE itinerary at a very reasonable price for everything. A trip to Delphi, an overnight to Naxos, ferry to Italy, 2 nights at Hotel Fivos including all transfers to and from ferries, buses, taxis, hotel, etc. Thanks for everything Theo......from the "germans" teacher and business woman!

Room Tip: dont get the street side if you are a light sleeper and dont like the hustle and bustle of the Plaka...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ksosay2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Was supposed to stay there for a period of two weeks but could hardly handle one night. Photos of the rooms are misleading, stained walls, some hair on the floor/bed, no working heating (3 old blankets were provided though), very old mattress, humidity smell in the room and I could go on. The worst though was the indifferent, cocky attitude from the manager (like talking to a wall, does not accept any comments), the other stuff was nice though. It is very close to monastiraki station but the it is not worth it, way friendlier hostels around.

Room Tip: Do not count on the pictures- they are totally misleading.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Coco B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Athens hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
paris
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

We've stayed at Fivos in July 2012. Certainly not a pleasant stay but it was the cheapest option. But don't be tempted by the price, because they are THIEFS!
7 months after our stay they debited my creditcard with 315€! DON'T USE YOUR CREDITCARD BECAUSE THEY WILL COPY YOUR CARD!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank yinkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013 via mobile

Stayed here march 2011 for 4 nights, as headline says 7.50euros a night, aint gonna complain, for the price this hotel was exactly what we expected, mebbe better, location was spot on for travelling around the athens area and superb for walking about at nite, wi oor carry oot.... This trip was with my m8 not a family hol, so didnt need the nice restaurant and fancy accom, we had a great time, bottle of ouzo, can of beer and shanks pony through Athens at nite and it was superb, forget all the recent troubles, its a def place worth visiting, the Acropolis is an awesome monument to the world and is a must see, and you can see it from hotel fivos. Take a trip to Vouliagmeni, visit the lake see the beach, go 2 piraeus, and enjoy the greek people, so nice. I will return 1day and i will stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hairydug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Monastiraki
Hotel Tempi
Hotel Tempi
#130 of 326 in Athens
363 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
Pella-Inn Hotel
Pella-Inn Hotel
#15 of 75 in Athens
259 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
AthenStyle Hostel
AthenStyle Hostel
#10 of 63 in Athens
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monastiraki
Athens Luxury Suites
Athens Luxury Suites
#37 of 75 in Athens
12 reviews
Plaka
Small Funny World
Small Funny World
#42 of 63 in Athens
9 reviews
Plaka
Hotel Dioskouros
Hotel Dioskouros
#33 of 63 in Athens
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fivos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fivos

Property: Hotel Fivos
Address: 23 Athinas | Monastiraki, Athens 105 54, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Monastiraki
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 63 Speciality Lodging in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Fivos 1*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Fivos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing