We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant local delicacies”
Review of Meliartos

Meliartos
Ranked #1 of 51 Bakeries in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$11
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Neighbourhood: Plaka
Description: Meliartos is located in the center of Athens. It is a multi-space where one can experience traditional Greek cuisine in 4-shops-in-a-shop: The Coffee House, the Pie Shop, the Creamery Shop and the Kitchenette. What is intriguing about Meliartos is how well it combines traditional taste with modern design.
Athens
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Brilliant local delicacies”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

As an Athenian I couldn't recommend this place more. In a neighborhood of chain bakeries that churn out identical pre-frozen pies this place sells lovely specialty pies and pastries from all over Greece. Try the ladenia Kimolou and the Cephalonia meat pie.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Athensasitreallyis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    550
    174
    30
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
75 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Tasty and affordable”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Not a classic Greek meal, but delicious! Portions are absolutely huge, especially for the salads. We had the fried cheese appetizer and a salad and then ordered a pasta and a burger. Way too food. Prices are VERY reasonable.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sillymango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flemington New Jersey
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Great place for snacks, lunch and dessert”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We ate a variety of different sandwhiches, small quiche type plates and some very yummy desserts too. They have a crepe-like sandwich you can order with your own custom chosen ingredients, the bread is a little heavier than a crepe but not a true flatbread, it was chewy and crispy on the edges and was great and light to eat. We loved the various offerings of desserts too. Along with small single serve wines... We ate as a group of 8, with kids age 8-14 and everyone found something they liked.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bugsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
91 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Heavenly coffee”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I found it by accident wandering around Monastiraki and Plaka (both are in the area). It is located in the very busy, commercial (Zara, H&M, etc.) street Ermou.
I haven't had a snack but ice cream and espresso. Was it good? Well, the next day I brought friends with me ;)
Ice cream was very good, but it is the coffee (my beloved Illy) that was a real star! Excellent espresso served with glass of water. Whenever I am back in Athens I will stop by.
Nice, modern cosy atmosphere and exceptionally friendly staff make this place worth visiting.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hanna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Perfect cappuccino/dessert stop in Athens”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

My husband and I popped in before going to the airport lured in by the dazzling displays of desserts (pies, pastries, cookies, etc.). Very stylish, modern decor. Got a cappuccino at the coffee bar (perfectly made) and a chocolate mousse dessert that was awesomely rich but not too sweet. The service was friendly and helpful when we couldn't decide what we wanted. I savored every drop and bite of the cappuccino and mousse all the way to the airport :)

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hydrangea47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Meliartos also viewed

 

Been to Meliartos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing