We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast!”
Review of Meliartos

Meliartos
Ranked #1 of 54 Bakeries in Athens
Price range: US$2 - US$11
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighbourhood: Plaka
Description: Meliartos is located in the center of Athens. It is a multi-space where one can experience traditional Greek cuisine in 4-shops-in-a-shop: The Coffee House, the Pie Shop, the Creamery Shop and the Kitchenette. What is intriguing about Meliartos is how well it combines traditional taste with modern design.
Treviso, Italy
Level Contributor
83 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great breakfast!”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I loved having my breakfast/brunch here! It's super close to Monastiraki and the Ermou st. zone, therefore it's easy to reach for anyone! The prices are very good, and they offer surprisingly tasty traditional greek delicacies that are fresh and taste as if they were homemade! Their breakfast menus are incredibly good, but I got their galaktobureko and loved it! Definetely a great place for breakfast or a very quick lunch. The interior design and atmosphere were nice as well and the staff was very kind too! It's an excellent - and more greek - alternative to breakfast at starbucks!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sophs95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    542
    172
    30
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best breakfast in Greece.”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Saw a sign for a €4 Greek breakfast went in the extremely friendly staff explained what he would recommend and boy was he right healthy and gave me enough energy to get through the day to see the sites and only needed a early dinner. Only restaurant I will demand any one of my friends to visit on there next trip to Athens.

Helpful?
Thank Matthew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Only the finest quality!”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

What I love about this place is that they only use top quality ingredients and they don't cut any corners. I liked their spanakopita and baklava. I think the ice cream deserves a special mention too, the pistachio flavour (which I usually don't like) was amazing! I tried a sample then just had to get a few scoops of it. The guy there explained to me that it was 100% pistachio, that's why it was so good. Whereas most places mix other lower quality nuts in with their 'pistachio' flavoured ice cream...

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Panionara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Brilliant local delicacies”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

As an Athenian I couldn't recommend this place more. In a neighborhood of chain bakeries that churn out identical pre-frozen pies this place sells lovely specialty pies and pastries from all over Greece. Try the ladenia Kimolou and the Cephalonia meat pie.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Athensasitreallyis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
75 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Tasty and affordable”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Not a classic Greek meal, but delicious! Portions are absolutely huge, especially for the salads. We had the fried cheese appetizer and a salad and then ordered a pasta and a burger. Way too food. Prices are VERY reasonable.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sillymango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Meliartos also viewed

 

Been to Meliartos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing