We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would Not Recommend for Tourists”
Review of Kaningos 21 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kaningos 21 Hotel
Ranked #149 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Reviewed 11 October 2010

OK once inside the hotel, front desk staff not very friendly and roof top garden was not open while we were there. In a very undesirable area; sketchy individuals (I'm being nice) hanging around the street alongside the hotel and graffiti everywhere. We were not comfortable walking outside at night, always took a cab. A fair walk to the tourist areas at the Acropolis, the Plaka etc. Would not recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cosmogirlOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2010

Due to our itinerary we stayed in this hotel 3 times over a 2 week period.First room, safe didn't work .Second room,broken TV.Third room,cold showers in the morning.Don't bother reporting problems to reception desk--they don't care.The rooms were very dirty every time.Saw cleaning person with a mop,don't know why,floor wasn't ever cleaned.Upholstery on chairs in breakfast room was filthy.Anyone booking a Transat vacation BEWARE--this hotel is in their brochure.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Val154954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2010

Only 2 elevators which only held 2 people and 2 suitcases at a time. Rooms were comfortable, but not very clean - floors dirty (if you walked barefoot, your feet were just black, mildew on tile in bathtub, tile missing from wall under the sink which actually was opened up completely to the next room - able to see into that bathroom!!! They had a restaurant on the top floor which was supposed to be opened from 7 - 9 every night. We went up there a couple of times but it was not open. When we called the front desk, we were informed that if we wanted to eat there we needed to let the front desk know at least a day ahead of time. The breakfasts we did have there were ok, but they only had one serving person - there were a lot of people and she had a lot of trouble keeping up (not her fault).They were supposed to have a continental breakfast ready for us the last day we were there, but it never happened. We had to go down the street to get a cup of coffee.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2010

This hotel has a 4-star rating, and I can't see how they deserve that rating. Amenities - none, location - furthest away from all the other hotel pickups on tours - it's in the commercial district not tourist area, and service was the poorest I've received from any European hotel I've stayed at. "Features" included mold in the tub, sliding glass door to room at ground level access with a broken lock, a broken lamp, and broken table in the room. Although hotel rooms in Europen tend to be small, this was overly small. We booked a 'triple'. They provided 3 beds that literally were side by side without access between them, 8-12 inches walking space around the perimiter of the 3 beds, and absolutely no place to store your suitcase. Reception staff was always just one person and when they had to leave their post to deal with a customer issue, it left the reception without staff. I'm sure there are many other options you should conside when visiting Athens.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AvidTraveler1590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2010

We stayed at this hotel because it was part of a package. I'm not overly impressed with the hotel but it was still a great place for sleep. Tiny bar, blaahh restaurant and not so sociable staff. The room cleaning was definitely poor. Beds are confortable. Had to hold shower head to take a shower??? Great view of the Acropolis from the restaurant deck. 8 minute walk to Metro station. 20/30 minute walk to the Shopping street Ermou and the Plaka. Prices on the hotel room door said 170 Euro a night. Would definitely not pay this for this hotel.

Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank BeenThere01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2010

Haha what can I say about the Kaningos 21? We stayed at Kaningos for 2 nights at the tail end of a Mediterranean cruise and well I can with full confidence say the place is Orange.
Arrival:
When we first arrived there were several guests checking in which meant the one person manning the front desk was rather busy so did not really have time to offer any useful advice, tips on Athens or a welcome for that matter. I managed to quickly ask if he had any maps of the city and he passed me a beat up travel booklet that may have been used as a coaster at some point.
We had a room on the 3rd floor and since we had our luggage with us we opted to use the elevators (there were 2) which were the size of a linen closet. According to the sign on the wall they hold 5 persons but I can assure you those 5 persons would have to be tiny (think action figures) and not have any luggage, purses, wallets, limbs...we squeezed in with a third person and if that third person is reading this post I apologize for squishing you. I will admit though they were neat just not practical, we did take pictures of them
Room:
When we exited the elevator we were astonished to see that our entire floor was lighted with orange lighting giving the impression one was in a submarine. The room was clean but small with one of those bizarre windows from the tub to the rest of the room which oddly has a blind within the glass that doesn't open. Not that I would have opened it but made me wonder what was the point of there being a window if you can't look out of it. The shower is a hand held wand no attachment to hang it over your head which makes for an awkward little dance especially since there is no door or curtain to keep the water from soaking the rest of the bathroom. Also the bed only had a comforter no sheet which we found strange and a little gross.
Restaurant:
The Kaningos 21 advertises a rooftop restaurant which we did go up and see (it is there) however it was closed for our stay and when we inquired as to the reason we were told everyone was on holidays, so if you're intending to eat there you may want to see if it will actually be open.
The morning buffet was so-so limited selection of eggs, bacon, fruit nothing great but acceptable. However, the room and furniture where the buffet is located needs a good scrub or better yet paint the room and burn the furniture.
Location:
The location of the Kaningos was excellent as it was about a 20 min stroll down the road to the Plaka or a 5 min walk to the subway or bus stop for the doubledeckers. You are definetly right in the middle of the action so if that is what you are looking for in Athens then here you will find it.
I would not recommend the Kaningos 21 to any couples or families. However, if your looking to travel on a budget and spend as little time as possible in the hotel then the Kaningos might fill the bill just don't expect any mints on your pillow.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malcolm L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2010

Great Central Hotel with nice - though small - rooms. All amenities you'd expect. Restaurant on roof was fully booked so didn't eat there, or see city view. Staff very pleasant.
Very good location as hotel is opposite office for early bus to take you to Agios Konstantinos for ferries to Northern Sporades Islands - Alonissos, Skopelos & Skiathos.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leithman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Exarchia
Melia Athens
Melia Athens
#33 of 282 in Athens
2,155 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#13 of 282 in Athens
3,442 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Centrotel Hotel
#22 of 282 in Athens
1,204 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#10 of 282 in Athens
2,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaningos 21 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaningos 21 Hotel

Address: 12 Chalkokondili, Athens 106 77, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Exarchia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Hotel Class:4 star — Kaningos 21 Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Kaningos 21 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kaningos 21
Kaningos 21 Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing