We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shopping hand made Sandals ”

Melissinos Art -The Poet Sandal Maker
Ranked #5 of 188 Shopping in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: "The Poet Sandal-maker of Athens". A shop that remains a place for poetry, art and custom made sandals. Among its clients: some of the biggest names in art and show-biz including The Beatles, Jackie Onassis, Barbara Streisand, Rudolph Nureyev, Sophia Loren. Now in a new location at: 2. Aghias Theklas St, Monastiraki - Psirri where Stavros Melissinos keeps creating his wonderful sandals and poetry with his artist son Pantelis.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Shopping hand made Sandals ”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

If you want genuine leather hand made "on the spot" Sandals and, you have great patience and no sense of smell, it is worth the walk and the wait !!!

We were a big group and waiting for everybody to fit and try took the best of us, just know to arrive as early as possible and be aware you will wait at least an hour.... if not more !
Hopefully the enjoyment of your wonderful leather Sandals will be worth it !!!

Helpful?
2 Thank erastis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    28
    7
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Custom made by you”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

People hear "custom made" and they are sold. One overlooked aspect about custom sandals is that hours of wearing the sandals makes them custom made. That process can be a little uncomfortable, so don't be disappointed when Melissinos sandals start out rough. I hated mine for the first couple days, but now Iike them. The shop is in a dirty alley, but the owner and employees are very nice and attentive.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank TitoH82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, TN
Level Contributor
72 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Definitely a tourist target”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This is definitely a tourist destination. The shop was packed when we were there and all, like us, had American accents - guess we'd all seen the same guidebook. I guess the shop would have had an authentic feel if it wasn't packed with other Americans. The shop is very small (clautrophobic?). We were never sure if they waited on people in any particular order - many customers who arrived much after we did left much quicker, but maybe their sandals didn't need as much special fitting - who knows? The whole process of picking out shoes, having them fitted, and remade took a little over an hour. The sandals are premade and they're actually just loosening straps and regluing/nailing after they're fitted. The shoes are cute, but still new so I'm not sure about the quality - I am a little concerned that the nails will eventually start pushing up into my feet since they're not in any way covered (like commercially made shoes). There was also excess glue on the leather which I had to pick off. I was really looking forward to this experience but I guess I just wasn't as impressed as others seem to have been. The shoes do exactly fit my feet, but they appear of average quality and the experience just wasn't that great. At least the price was not unreasonable at 30 euro.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank beachgirlinmemphis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great souvenirs and super comfy”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We visited in the afternoon and soon after we got there it got very busy. It's ok though, just be patient, they make sure to cater to everyone and since it's custom fit of course there will be some wait. The quality of the sandals are excellent, we wore them throughout our time in the islands and they got more comfortable the longer you wear them. For 30 euros the price is excellent. We saw other sandal shops both in Athens and the islands and can genuinely say Melissinos looks like they have the most authentic and well made products.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank BonnieHo1609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Loved this place!”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Custom-fit, hand-made sandals for only 30 Euro. The little shop is charming and the experience of picking out your style and waiting for them to finish making the sandals is the best part.

It's a little hard to find - at least it was based on the directions in my guide book - but so worth it!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Melissinos Art -The Poet Sandal Maker also viewed

 

Been to Melissinos Art -The Poet Sandal Maker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing