We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“pleasant stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Epidavros Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Epidavros Hotel
Ranked #110 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“pleasant stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

my stay in epidavros was a pleasant one.
i stayed for four nights starting 13th may 2014 and staying in room 107.

to be honest i was a bit uneasy booking this hotel,but in the end i still booked it and give it a go.after booking it i was still continue reading at different reviews here and the sooner my holiday is coming the more i was worried.specially about the area of omonia.
i even sent an email to the hotel itself asking about the area and should i get a taxi from omonia metro station to the hotel as i was arriving very late at night.
they replied to me and told me that no need to get a taxi and the area is safe!
and yes it is as i am still alive doing this review:)

when i arrived at the omonia it so easy to locate the hotel providing you are following the instructions from the hotel website.
the only wrong information was the subarban train.you dont need need to take the train and change there is a direct metro from the airport to the city.
epidavros:pls update your info on how to get to the hotel from the airport on your website.

i was bit cautious while walking as it was 0100 already in the morning.
checking was so smoothly,the receptionist was very helpful and polite.after unpacking my bag i even went out again back to omonia to get some food.(yes it is safe to walk around)
police are always on the sights patroling and that makes me feel more secure.

the room was spacious,clean and i had a balcony.
its not brand new but its okay.i do always prepare myself for the worst so i will not be devastated.
it is cleaned everyday and fresh towel too everyday.
breakfast was not brilliant but it is okay to fill your stomach and start your day.
it is very close to the metro of omonia a few minutes walk you will find yourself in monastiraki whic is another area of athens.
the WiFi is not working on my first and last night:( dunno why?.....but on the other days that i was there it is fantastic.
the receptionist are very helpful specially the lady on the morning/day shift.everybody are very welcoming and cheerful.
no mini bar,no water but there is a fridge.

i will definitely recommend this hotel to all travellers that are not so fussy.at the end of the day all i need is a bed to sleep and a warm shower.
i will also definitely staying again if i will eva go back in athens.

Room Tip: bring your own drink as there is nothing in the room.but the lobby/bar is selling drinks which is ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank asyano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    106
    92
    24
    11
See reviews for
44
116
39
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
newcastle
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

What do you want ? If its a cheap hotel - clean - nice staff - lush breakfast then this hotel will suit you - its not ideally central - But its not that far from anything - 5min walk to the nearest metro station - 10mins from Strefi Hill - 20-25 from the ancient centre - The district it lies in is a bit rough n ready - But we never felt threatened or intimidated tho' we did stick to the main streets when coming home at night (But this is our policy in ALL big cities we visit not just Athens)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NewcastleStavros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

So I paid $30 Euros per night for 3 nights. I wasn't expecting a palace or for the place to even be that good, but I was still let down overall.

QUICK REVIEW
Liked: Cheap, very friendly staff, good breakfast, in-suite refrigerator, free WiFi
Disliked: Hard bed, tacky wallpaper, shag mirror, tiny shower, peeling paint in the bathroom, loud buzzing from in-room heater

FIRST IMPRESSIONS
Upon arriving at the hotel, the taxi driver warned me not to wander with my phone out in this particular area, then wished me the best of luck. "Oh Great..." However, I was pleasantly surprised at the entrance and lobby area; very clean, polished, and well put together. The lady at the desk was ever so helpful with a problem that I'd had with booking the hotel (I booked the wrong date so I now had to make a last minute reservation), telling me places to go around Athens, landmarks by which to navigate, and generally how to get around (things are looking up :). The little elevator is adorably small, but still nicely decorated and looks a bit classy, but only fits 2 ppl and their bags (tightly). The dining area for the breakfast looks really nice as well (more on that in a sec). The common areas with access to the rooms also look respectable.

THE ROOM (#103)
This is where things go downhill, quickly. The room was a good size. Floor was made of tile, not carpet. The double bed was a queen size, very stiff, and only had the fitted sheet on; the blankets were folded in the closet. There was a large mirror against the wall at the foot of the bed, purple/pink/fuchsia/sparkly wavy patterned wall paper on wall behind the headboard (and was peeling at the edges), as well as a complimentary condom under the pillow. Now I've come to the conclusion that I'm in a shag hotel. "Great." At least there weren't hourly rates. My blankets hadn't been cleaned since the last occupants used them; they smelled of cigarettes and nasty old-man body odor and had gum stuck in them (obviously they'd been used for sex). Room furniture was sturdy, with side tables and desk with a small bar fridge in it. There was also one chair in the room which was nice to use on the tiny patio overlooking the street (and it had a view of the street, unlike my friend's room which looked into the center of a bunch of grungy buildings). The bathroom was tiny and the shower even tinier. I couldn't get my leg all the way up (butt against one wall, knee hit the other. In the shower there was a strange, frosted glass window that led into a shaft that ran up the height of the building. Also, the shower curtain is several inches away from the base of the shower, so water went all over the floor. Also, the exposed pipes towards the ceiling of the bathroom were covered with black dust/mould from the moisture/condensation on the cold water pipe. The heating/air-conditioning unit in the room also buzzed loudly, making falling asleep more difficult. Also, it only would operate at maximum heating and didn't turn off automatically, so on one night I was almost cooked.

BREAKFAST
Self service. There was unlimited toast, cereal, canned peach slices, olives, yogurt, jams, and some other things that I was unsure what they were. Price was 4 euros which is optionally added to your bill when you check in, but I didn't pay and ate anyways because nobody checked. The dining area was overall pretty nice and looked good, much like the lobby.

CONCLUSION
I'm not sure why I give the place 3/5. Perhaps it's because it was one of the cheapest rates around. Perhaps because it was because the staff were friendly and helpful and the overall niceness of the lobby/dining area. Also, the lady who checked me in offered to put me in a different room (perhaps they had rooms that were more properly decorated for a someone who intended on staying more than one night and not for a quick shag). Her associate the next morning didn't speak English as well and I couldn't be bothered to fight for a better room, so I just made do. I have a feeling that any of the other rooms would have been better. Anyways, I gave it 3/5... barely.

I hope whoever reads this finds it helpful.

Cheers!

Room Tip: Room numbers ending with 3 (i.e. #103) and higher will get a patio overlooking the street. Ending in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MitchN210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

cheap and renew 3 star hotel near to omonia square. with breakfast and wifi internet and pc. friendly staff. with lobby area and bar. with aircontition and tv plasma. near to shop and nightlife. thks u


  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Georgios G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kostas T, Manager at Epidavros Hotel, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments.
We are very proud for your great review.
We are looking forward to welcome you again.
Best Regards,
Epidavros Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vasto, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

The operators are available ever and very kind.they have internet connection but just in the all not in the bedrooms.the location was very nice and my bedroom is cleaned everyday.the forniture are coloured and new. Probably the Rooms are not isolated, i listened to the other guests in the night but it was a nice experience totally

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank virginiadirocco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kostas T, Manager at Epidavros Hotel, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for helpful comments.
We hope to welcome you again in Epidavros in the near future.
Happy Christmas Wishes!
Epidavros Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
97 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

It is a cosy and unpretensious hotel. It is very centric and the personnel is very helpful and professional. Rooms with everything you need to rest and be ready to visit Athens. Breakfast helps a lot with delicious olives and greek yoghurt.Some germans love it because it is really a budget hotel with value for the Money....

Room Tip: Upper floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank viajalma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kostas T, Manager at Epidavros Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind review.
We are very proud of your comments regarding the authenticity of our Hotel.
Hope to welcome you again.
Best Wishes!
Epidavros Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

Srayed here for 3 nights on Business, before I went there was all the scaremonger comments about how unsafe the area is etc but I must admit I was out all 3 nights and never once saw anything or felt intimidated. Yes the area is not the prettiest in Athens but for the price it was good. Rooms were spotless with TV, Kettle, Aircon and Toiletries. Breakfast was more than adequate. Only 5 mins from the Metro. I would recommend this hotel.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Ray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kostas T, Manager at Epidavros Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind review.
We are trully happy that you recommend Epidavros Hotel to other travellers as well.
Best Wishes!
Epidavros Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Marina Hotel Athens
#80 of 325 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Hotel Aristoteles
#216 of 325 in Athens
3.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Apollo Hotel
#137 of 325 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omonia
Hotel Cosmopolit
Hotel Cosmopolit
#156 of 325 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Omonia
Hotel Athinaikon
Hotel Athinaikon
#160 of 325 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Hotel Pergamos
#155 of 325 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Epidavros Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Epidavros Hotel

Property: Epidavros Hotel
Address: Koumoundourou 14, Athens 104 37, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Epidavros Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3*** Epidavros Hotel, after a radical renovation in 2012, fully renewed, offers an ideal stay to Athens visitors. It is located in a quiet pedestrian, in Omonia, near all the historical monuments of the city, in a short distance from the center and it is easily accessible by all means of transport.The hotel is in a 7floor modern, functional, comfortable and easy to reach building, in the city centre. It has 51 fully renovated and modern rooms, which meet every kind of preferances and demands. It has also a 24hours front desk, 24hours room service, buffet breakfast, luggage storage, 24hours bar service, TV room with satellite TV, early check in, late check out, free wi-fi access in all public spaces and in all rooms, elevator for guests, baby cot upon request and pet accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Epidavros Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Epidavros Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing