We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible location...but, not the 1st choice for luxury”
Review of AVA Hotel Athens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
AVA Hotel Athens
Ranked #2 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Based on tripadvisor reviews, we picked Ava over the Grand Bertagne. Ava has an awesome location and the rooms are very clean. However, if luxury is what you are you looking for - this is not the place that comes to mind. It is functional, clean and close to everything. It does need a little bit of a makeover. We stayed in by far the best room they offer, but, felt like it could be a lot better. Another tip, dont spend more than a day in Athens and you can walk everything if you are staying at the Ava or the Grand Bertagne. Spend more time in the islands vs. within the city.

Room Tip: 302...room has a great balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Anandaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,739)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

935 - 941 of 1,739 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2012

Ava was a great find and one where Trip Advisor came up trumps. Staff are incredibly helpful and friendly. Location good, accomodation excellent with lots of attention to detail which is what makes the difference when you travel a lot.

On the doorstep to Plaka which is a cute areas with loads of great places to eat and drink and at the foot of teh acropolis.

No hesitation in recommending.

Room Tip: Our room had good space and great facilities. Hotel had the staff and personality that the large ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

The AVA is a "must stay" boutique hotel in the delightfully charming Plaka area of Athens. It's luxerious, beautifully designed and extremely comfortable. It's worth spending a bit more for Suite 301 if you really want the best. The hotel is a few minutes walk from the new Acropolis Museum and if you're a bit lazy after a day in the museums we recommend risotto with mushrooms up the street at the Daphne cafe.

Room Tip: Suite 301 is well worth the up charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HOWARDLH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

We stayed here for one night on our way to Santorini. We arrived in the early evening and the desk clerk was very welcoming and helpful. He pointed out which tourist locations would still be open and offered to book a restaurant for us for dinner (we chose to go to Strofi which has a view of the Acropolis and it was well worth it!). The room we stayed in was large and quiet. The rooms aren't quiet as good as the photos but still very nice. The only thing that let the room down was the size of the shower. I'm 5'7" and 130 pounds and I barely fit in the shower.
The location was perfect for restaurants and the tourist sites.
On our way back from Santorini we stayed at the New Hotel in Athens and if I had to choose again I would choose the AVA hotel, it feels more like a home than a hotel

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank _VivvyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Stayed for a day before a sailing trip and three days afterwards. Wonderful location in interesting neighborhood at the foot of the Acropolis. Walking distance to almost everything you'll want to see. Good, well designed and equipped room ( unusually, good lighting) comfortable and clean. Staff are exceptional in their helpfulness and cheerfulness. Recommended unreservedly.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

We stayed at the AVA hotel in May this year. We had a suite with a bedroom and large living room with kitchen area and facilities.

The hotel is very close to the Acopolis and Museum, the National Gardens and tons of eating and shopping choices. The room comes with a great breakfast.

The staff was very helpful.

We highly recommend AVA and will stay there again if we come to Athens.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

A beautiful boutique hotel in an excellent location. Quiet, surrounded by good bars and restaurants, and short walk to major sites. Recommend staying in a larger appartment; well-equipped and spacious.
Lovely staff; friendly and helpful.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank chrstcov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
MET34 Athens Hotel
MET34 Athens Hotel
#1 of 282 in Athens
138 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,932 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#10 of 282 in Athens
2,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 282 in Athens
3,420 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AVA Hotel Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVA Hotel Athens

Address: 9 - 11 Lyssikratous Street | Plaka, Athens 105 58, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#2 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#2 Family Hotel in Athens
#2 Green Hotel in Athens
#9 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £129 - £248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — AVA Hotel Athens 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AVA is a boutique Hotel situated at Plaka in the middle of the Historical Centre, at the foot of the Acropolis, on a quiet street. Surrounded by the worlds most renown monuments of Greek Civilization: Parthenon, Zeus Temple, Hadrian Arch, Agora etc. AVA offers spacious Suites & Apartments with all the amenities and comfort of an upscale Hotel, plus the exclusiveness and privacy of one's own home. AVA is a non smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your AVA Hotel Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Ava Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing