We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on Earth!”
Review of AVA Hotel Athens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
AVA Hotel Athens
Ranked #2 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 18 November 2012

From the moment our taxi pulled up in front of the AVA, we loved our stay at this wonderful hotel.We were greeted with very warm welcomes - a staff member even come out to the street to help with bags. It was as if they were waiting for us to arrive. When we were escorted to our room, our jaws dropped. We were presented with a gorgeous suite, with separate living room and kitchenette. It had high ceilings, crown moldings, chandeliers, a large blue and white marble bathroom, that featured a classical scene painted on the recessed ceiling. The bedroom was spacious with double dark wood doors and a real king-size luxurious bed. TV's in both rooms, and climate control units in each room. It was still very warm in Athens (25C), so we were delighted with the air conditioning. Our balcony looked on the lovely quiet street as well as the Acropolis walls and Hadrian's Arch a half block in either direction. Amazing. The room service menu and food was wonderful - not to mention the bottle of bubbly that was presented to us as a welcome. So thoughtful. In fact everything at the AVA is done thoughtfully. They truly think of absolutely everything to make this your home away from home, but I call it heaven on earth. The breakfast includes everything you would ever want. Plus, with all these wonderful comforts and amenities you have the warm, gracious, and helpful staff. They go out of their way to make sure you have everything you want and more. We highly recommend the AVA - heaven on earth (or at least in Athens)! Thank you to all at the AVA for our wonderful stay. We would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank DlovesLabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,748)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

849 - 855 of 1,748 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2012

Arrived in Athens not sure what to expect, but, the Ava was excellent in all respects. We chose it based on the location and TA reviews and we were not disappointed. The staff were friendly and helpful and able to advise on many things. The location couldn't be better - being 5 mins from the new Acropolis museum, 10 mins from the Acropolis and 10 mins in the other direction from the main Square. I can't comment on the breakfast as we didn't have it (too lazy!)

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 202 which has a separate bedroom and I highly recommend it. It was on the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Isobel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights post-cruise. We got an upgrade to an executive suite for a reduced fee. Room was huge, comfortable, and clean. It was close to being at home. Close to all the top attractions. Only complaint was that we had to wait for an electrical adapter for charging our stuff, they didn't have enough to go around. The breakfast was plain and simple, enough to get you going.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dmorg62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

Chose the Ava in Athens based on TA reviews plus location and price. We were not disappointed. Five days in Athens made all the more pleasant by the friendly and welcoming staff. Room large and spotless and the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. All round highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank york8491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Small comfortable hotel. We had a large room with small kitchen. Bed very large And comfortable. The staff were charming and excellent. Took a lot of trouble with directions to restaurants stamps etc. convenient for the Acropolis and for museums.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aliciasynge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012 via mobile

Stayrd here 3 nights after cruise. Was excellent location within walking distance of Acropolis and other historical sites. Hotel staff very accommodating in suggesting walking tours (map provided), dinner reservations and reccomendations, and transportation needs. Rooms large sized and had kitchenette ( we only made coffee but it was well appointed). Good value for quality of hotel and it's prime location. Highly recommend AVA

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sydNewYorkCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Really enjoyed my stay here... the people were very friendly and helpful and the hotel is in a great location. The street market is just around the corner, and the acropolis is a comfortable 20 minute walk. The room was very comfortable and I appreciated the wi-fi and the kitchenette. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rtbp99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
MET34 Athens Hotel
MET34 Athens Hotel
#1 of 282 in Athens
146 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#10 of 282 in Athens
2,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,963 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#13 of 282 in Athens
3,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AVA Hotel Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVA Hotel Athens

Address: 9 - 11 Lyssikratous Street | Plaka, Athens 105 58, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#2 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#2 Green Hotel in Athens
#2 Family Hotel in Athens
#9 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £113 - £249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — AVA Hotel Athens 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AVA is a boutique Hotel situated at Plaka in the middle of the Historical Centre, at the foot of the Acropolis, on a quiet street. Surrounded by the worlds most renown monuments of Greek Civilization: Parthenon, Zeus Temple, Hadrian Arch, Agora etc. AVA offers spacious Suites & Apartments with all the amenities and comfort of an upscale Hotel, plus the exclusiveness and privacy of one's own home. AVA is a non smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your AVA Hotel Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Ava Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing