We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location....plus”
Review of AVA Hotel Athens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
AVA Hotel Athens
Ranked #2 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
160 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 440 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location....plus”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

What a place to enjoy a stay in Athens.

This 15 suite boutique hotel is a home away from home with generous size suites, great staff, and a fabulous location (don't even think about the Grand Bretagne or the King George or the Electra that are pushed by some travel agents). They may be great, indeed grand hotels but the Ava Hotel kills them for location, cost and (I'm sure), the personal touch

We had a street-facing suite with a view of the Acropolis to the right and Hadrian's Arch and the Temple of Zeus to the left. A small balcony enabled you to take in these views while people-watching below and enjoying a very inexpensive bottle of Greek wine , available from shops with a few hundred metres.In fact, everything you want to see and do in Athens is within a few hundred metres

The place was equipped with a small kitchen , a sitting area with good quality furnishings, free and effective WIFI, plenty of plugs to charge your electronic gear (bring your two pin converters though), a King size bed and a huge bathroom with quality toiletries. And of course, the complimentary welcoming bottle of bubbly went down well!

Breakfast is good with a combination of some cooked food and wide ranging continental fare, and even freshly squeezed orange juice.

A couple of things they might add to make this great little hotel even better would be a bathtub in the very spacious bathrooms, and some seating on the small balconies.

They also are inclined to recommend some larger (touristy) restaurants rather than some smaller nearby ones (for example ask them to direct you to To Kati Allo run by the Constantinos family for generations and only a five minute walk away.

The Ava Hotel scrubs up well in TripAdvisor ratings - have a look at the Tripadvisor awards proudly hanging adjacent to the reception desk. They deserve their high rating.

They even ran to spotting in my passport upon our checking in that it was my birthday a couple of days away, and a bottle of champagne, a card and a small gift appeared by magic. At my age, birthdays are embarrassing, but the Ava people made it one to remember

Room Tip: Request a street-facing suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gaad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,629 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,348
    226
    35
    11
    9
See reviews for
376
883
46
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bartlett, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We were able to stay here twice! Before and after a 14 day cruise. First in a regular suite, then in an Executive Suite. Both were wonderful and have everything one could need. Kitchenettes are well stocked, We had are own lovely veranda in one room, and a nice French balcony in the other one where you can see both Hadrians Arch and the Acropolis. Close to lots of restaurants and shops. The staff were very attentive and had Excellent customer service!! I will only stay here when I am back in Athens! The welcoming champagne was a nice touch! Thank you!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cindysg48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elysburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
126 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

I booked the Ava Hotel based on reviews from Trip Advisor. The comments were correct. It was a charming little boutique hotel in the Plaka Area within walking distance to all major attractions, excellent restaurants and great shopping. The staff was exceptional with check-in and helped us with our boarding passes the night before our flight. We only got to enjoy the accommodations for one night before our flight to the states but our room was large, clean and the beds were comfortable. There was a kitchen area, which we did not get to use. They also have a nice lobby area and offer and excellent breakfast for an additional price. If your spending any amount of time in Athens this would be the place to stay, and it worked for a one night stay too. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BandBinPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

This hotel has it all, perfect location, well presented rooms and very helpful, friendly staff. They even arranged for my laundry to be done on a weekend which is outside their normal times of service.
The position of the hotel couldn't be better. It is within easy walking distance of all the main attractions as well as restaurants and shops. Yet it is just on the outer edge of Plaka enough that it is a nice quiet hotel.
I very much enjoyed my stay here and would definitely come back.

Room Tip: There is no need to pay extra for an upgraded suite. I was in a basic suite and it was just fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We stayed at the AVA in early October with our 10 year old daughter. The staff were very friendly and accomodating even when we added (not that long prior to our arrival) another night to our stay. Its not inexpensive but the rooms are clean, and although a little dated, very comfortable.

The location is great and close to most things that you'd want to see and a do for a few nights in Athens, (which is itself looking very, very run down...)

Room Tip: Street side with a balcony (if you are willing to pay the extra)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tayfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Perfect location, friendly staff, spotlessly clean, stunning room and view and great breakfast. One of the best stays we've had, everyone at the hotel was so helpful and made our stay in Greece a brilliant experience. The location was ideal, right near all the major sites and very safe. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for an enjoyable stay in Athens.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Treeni1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kenya
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

What a great find! The hotel is in a perfect location with easy walking distances to major sights -even on really hot days. The staff were always happy to chat and offer advice on what to see and to confirm onward travel details-the recommendation of a tiny Taverna in the alleys of Plaka for a dinner resulted in one of the best meals of my entire trip!
This hotel is not a flashy, consumer hotel- admittedly the breakfast buffet is small but so is the hotel and that is the charm of the place. For me, what it lacked in big hotel amenities it MORE than made up for in personal touches (like a lovely bottle of wine as a welcome gift), and a sincerley warm welcome from everyone I met.
The room was beautifully clean and comfortable and the little balcony was super to stand and watch the world go by....
Many thanks to Maria and the team for a great stay- it was far too short but I will absolutely be coming back for a return visit!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank totoKenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,178 reviews
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#15 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Syntagma
New Hotel
New Hotel
#11 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AVA Hotel Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVA Hotel Athens

Property: AVA Hotel Athens
Address: 9 - 11 Lyssikratous Street | Plaka, Athens 105 58, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#1 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#2 Green Hotel in Athens
#4 Family Hotel in Athens
#13 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — AVA Hotel Athens 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AVA is a boutique Hotel situated at Plaka in the middle of the Historical Centre, at the foot of the Acropolis, on a quiet street. Surrounded by the worlds most renown monuments of Greek Civilization: Parthenon, Zeus Temple, Hadrian Arch, Agora etc. AVA offers spacious Suites & Apartments with all the amenities and comfort of an upscale Hotel, plus the exclusiveness and privacy of one's own home. AVA is a non smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your AVA Hotel Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Ava Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing