We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cruise Hightlight”
Review of AVA Hotel Athens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
AVA Hotel Athens
Ranked #3 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Back from our Mediterranean cruise, we are enjoying telling our friends about the great time we had. The highlights of our adventure included the unique city of Venice, the biblical sites in Israel, the Athens Acropolis, and the AVA hotel. That's right; our hotel in Athens for three nights at the end of our cruise is right up there with the other awesome memories from our trip! The location was perfect as a starting point for our walks to the historical sites and the rest of the city. Our executive suite was a huge, gorgeous room, with a balcony that we visited each morning for coffee and each night for a glass of wine. Looking to our right we had a view of the Acropolis and to the left Hadrian's Arch. The staff was wonderful. All friendly and attentive to our every need. We left too early on our last morning for their delightful breakfast, so the thoughtful staff provided us a "sack lunch" that we took with us to the airport. Every aspect of our stay at AVA rates 10 out of 10. We loved it!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vickiyjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,711)
There are newer reviews for AVA Hotel Athens
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

659 - 665 of 1,711 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2013

What a place to enjoy a stay in Athens.

This 15 suite boutique hotel is a home away from home with generous size suites, great staff, and a fabulous location (don't even think about the Grand Bretagne or the King George or the Electra that are pushed by some travel agents). They may be great, indeed grand hotels but the Ava Hotel kills them for location, cost and (I'm sure), the personal touch

We had a street-facing suite with a view of the Acropolis to the right and Hadrian's Arch and the Temple of Zeus to the left. A small balcony enabled you to take in these views while people-watching below and enjoying a very inexpensive bottle of Greek wine , available from shops with a few hundred metres.In fact, everything you want to see and do in Athens is within a few hundred metres

The place was equipped with a small kitchen , a sitting area with good quality furnishings, free and effective WIFI, plenty of plugs to charge your electronic gear (bring your two pin converters though), a King size bed and a huge bathroom with quality toiletries. And of course, the complimentary welcoming bottle of bubbly went down well!

Breakfast is good with a combination of some cooked food and wide ranging continental fare, and even freshly squeezed orange juice.

A couple of things they might add to make this great little hotel even better would be a bathtub in the very spacious bathrooms, and some seating on the small balconies.

They also are inclined to recommend some larger (touristy) restaurants rather than some smaller nearby ones (for example ask them to direct you to To Kati Allo run by the Constantinos family for generations and only a five minute walk away.

The Ava Hotel scrubs up well in TripAdvisor ratings - have a look at the Tripadvisor awards proudly hanging adjacent to the reception desk. They deserve their high rating.

They even ran to spotting in my passport upon our checking in that it was my birthday a couple of days away, and a bottle of champagne, a card and a small gift appeared by magic. At my age, birthdays are embarrassing, but the Ava people made it one to remember

Room Tip: Request a street-facing suite
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gaad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We were able to stay here twice! Before and after a 14 day cruise. First in a regular suite, then in an Executive Suite. Both were wonderful and have everything one could need. Kitchenettes are well stocked, We had are own lovely veranda in one room, and a nice French balcony in the other one where you can see both Hadrians Arch and the Acropolis. Close to lots of restaurants and shops. The staff were very attentive and had Excellent customer service!! I will only stay here when I am back in Athens! The welcoming champagne was a nice touch! Thank you!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cindysg48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

I booked the Ava Hotel based on reviews from Trip Advisor. The comments were correct. It was a charming little boutique hotel in the Plaka Area within walking distance to all major attractions, excellent restaurants and great shopping. The staff was exceptional with check-in and helped us with our boarding passes the night before our flight. We only got to enjoy the accommodations for one night before our flight to the states but our room was large, clean and the beds were comfortable. There was a kitchen area, which we did not get to use. They also have a nice lobby area and offer and excellent breakfast for an additional price. If your spending any amount of time in Athens this would be the place to stay, and it worked for a one night stay too. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BandBinPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

This hotel has it all, perfect location, well presented rooms and very helpful, friendly staff. They even arranged for my laundry to be done on a weekend which is outside their normal times of service.
The position of the hotel couldn't be better. It is within easy walking distance of all the main attractions as well as restaurants and shops. Yet it is just on the outer edge of Plaka enough that it is a nice quiet hotel.
I very much enjoyed my stay here and would definitely come back.

Room Tip: There is no need to pay extra for an upgraded suite. I was in a basic suite and it was just fine.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We stayed at the AVA in early October with our 10 year old daughter. The staff were very friendly and accomodating even when we added (not that long prior to our arrival) another night to our stay. Its not inexpensive but the rooms are clean, and although a little dated, very comfortable.

The location is great and close to most things that you'd want to see and a do for a few nights in Athens, (which is itself looking very, very run down...)

Room Tip: Street side with a balcony (if you are willing to pay the extra)
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tayfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Perfect location, friendly staff, spotlessly clean, stunning room and view and great breakfast. One of the best stays we've had, everyone at the hotel was so helpful and made our stay in Greece a brilliant experience. The location was ideal, right near all the major sites and very safe. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for an enjoyable stay in Athens.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Treeni1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,843 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#10 of 282 in Athens
3,339 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#13 of 282 in Athens
2,331 reviews
Syntagma
MET34 Athens Hotel
MET34 Athens Hotel
#1 of 282 in Athens
133 reviews
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#12 of 282 in Athens
3,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AVA Hotel Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVA Hotel Athens

Address: 9 - 11 Lyssikratous Street | Plaka, Athens 105 58, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#2 Family Hotel in Athens
#2 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#2 Green Hotel in Athens
#9 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £139 - £309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — AVA Hotel Athens 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AVA is a boutique Hotel situated at Plaka in the middle of the Historical Centre, at the foot of the Acropolis, on a quiet street. Surrounded by the worlds most renown monuments of Greek Civilization: Parthenon, Zeus Temple, Hadrian Arch, Agora etc. AVA offers spacious Suites & Apartments with all the amenities and comfort of an upscale Hotel, plus the exclusiveness and privacy of one's own home. AVA is a non smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your AVA Hotel Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Ava Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing