We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location AND great staff! ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of AVA Hotel Athens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
AVA Hotel Athens
Ranked #4 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Location AND great staff! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

We checked into the Ava not knowing what to expect as it was our first time in Athens. Well, it was terrific! Staff was super helpful and friendly, location was fabulously close to all the things we wanted to see and do.
Couldn't have asked for better. The hotel itself is beautiful and the room spacious with a lovely balcony overlooking a small courtyard in the back. City noise was not bad at all and we felt safe at all times (this was very important as I was with my 11yr old son).

The surrounding restaurants and vendors in the Plaka were wonderful.

I would definitely go back and will recommend this fine hotel to anyone looking.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,586 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,308
    223
    35
    11
    9
See reviews for
365
853
45
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

I spent 4 days in Athens just 2 weeks ago, and we stayed at the Ava Hotel. It is centrally located, close to the Plaka area, within an wasy walk from Syntagma Square. The staff is very helpful and kind. The room was spacious and clean. I think next time I will go back to Athens, I will stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RomanHolidays67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonita Springs, FL
Level Contributor
52 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

We spent three days at the AVA at the end of a cruise and could not have been more pleased with a hotel. The staff was unbelievable - friendly, helpful and cheerful. Location in the Plaka was exceptional - view of Hadrian's Arch to our left, and a view of the Acropolis to our right. Essentially everything within walking distance. Our room was large, well appointed and comfortable. Breakfast at the hotel was also very well done - good selection, good service and good food (eggs cooked to order among other things). One of the few hotels stays that we have had where everything was basically perfect.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms with a view of the Arch and the Acropolis are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JMSFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

My mother and I stayed at the AVA hotel in December 2013 and thoroughly enjoyed our time there: it's simply in the best location in Athens. Not only that, the hotel team were incredibly helpful, professional and friendly and the room we stayed in was gorgeous - lots of space, well-appointed and impeccably clean. If you're staying in Athens, stay here.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kaswa7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

What a great hotel, the staff were amazing. From the minute we arrive the hotel provider 1st class service, they deserve the Trip adviser rating they have. Can't wait to get back and stay longer next time

Room Tip: If you can get the top floor suite do it
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graeme H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sequim, Washington
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

Our first trip to Athens and stepping off point for a cruise of the Greek Isles and Mediterranean ports could not have been better with our stay at the Ava Hotel and Suites. A perfect location to see the Acropolis and Plaka. The hotel staff were welcoming and helpful. The morning breakfasts were well prepared and delicious and were included with the room we were offered, the Executive suite with a balcony above the street and entrance to the hotel and a good view of a section of the Acropolis. Stay in the Executive suite if you can. The extra cost is good value added. We were surprised and greeted with a bottle of Champaign in a bucket of ice. A beautiful beginning to our 2 night stay in Athens. The hotel was also helpful in arranging private transportation from the airport @ 50 Euros.

Room Tip: consider the Executive suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sutter1921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

We spent a week in Athens during July of 2013 at the AVA hotel. My wife and I both really loved this hotel. It has a very nice laid back feel to it while still maintaining some very nice luxury touches. The room that we staid in was spacious and had lots of very nice artistic features and extras that can be hard to find in a hotel these days. The location is perfect if you are trying to see the historical and archaeological sites in Athens. We walked to 90% of the places that we went to see while staying there. The staff were some of the friendliest and most helpful out of all the places I have stayed. We both also really enjoyed the breakfast that were served there.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Prevara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#13 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,800 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#9 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#12 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,600 reviews
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AVA Hotel Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVA Hotel Athens

Property: AVA Hotel Athens
Address: 9 - 11 Lyssikratous Street | Plaka, Athens 105 58, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#2 Green Hotel in Athens
#4 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#4 Family Hotel in Athens
#13 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — AVA Hotel Athens 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AVA is a boutique Hotel situated at Plaka in the middle of the Historical Centre, at the foot of the Acropolis, on a quiet street. Surrounded by the worlds most renown monuments of Greek Civilization: Parthenon, Zeus Temple, Hadrian Arch, Agora etc. AVA offers spacious Suites & Apartments with all the amenities and comfort of an upscale Hotel, plus the exclusiveness and privacy of one's own home. AVA is a non smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your AVA Hotel Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Ava Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing