We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“#1 for a reason”
Review of AVA Hotel Athens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
AVA Hotel Athens
Ranked #2 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This hotel is absolutely deserving of all the fine reviews that it receives. Perfect location steps from the Acropolis and within walking distance to everything. Friendly helpful staff. Breakfast was fantastic with buffet items, fresh sqeezed juice and eggs made to order.

Room was large (particularly by european standards) with a nice balcony and spotless. Easy to get to from the airport. Don't think twice about staying here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vistasweethearts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,743)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

611 - 617 of 1,744 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

We are staying at Ava Hotel now and we will be sorry to leave!! The location is absolutely perfect!! Walking distance to most archaeological sites,restaurants, bars, etc. the staff are friendly and extremely helpful with all requests. The breakfast buffet is great too. Room is large and bathroom is ample as well. Plush bathrobes and slippers too!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Our room was classy and comfortable (located on the third floor) and felt like a little apartment in the city with a small kitchen area, private balcony and beautiful bathroom. We had trouble with the wifi the first day but there was an ethernet cord in the room which quickly solved this. The staff was very friendly and helpful and did not hesitate to make bus tour arrangements for us to see the ruins. If you prefer a smaller boutique hotel in Plaka to a larger hotel elsewhere in the city, this is a wonderful choice.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank taradyan29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Booked this hotel based on the ratings from tripadvisor. What a gem! The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The front desk called our room once we had settled in to tell us to have a look at our view from the window. We had Hydrians Arch to our left and the Acropolis to the right.
Highly recommended!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Seamus O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This is a small hotel that we chose based on Tripadvisor reviews. We flew from Florida to Athens on May 26, 2014, and the hotel arranged to have us picked up at the airport and delivered to the hotel by car. It could not have been an easier trip after landing but you had to have euros to pay the driver. The staff was friendly, spoke excellent English, and provided a bottle of champagne when we checked in. Most importantly, our room, which was a regular suite, was immaculate. The air conditioning, shower, refrigerator, etc were clean, quiet and operated well. The hotel offered a breakfast, but at 20e per person, it seemed too expensive given the other options, and we did not use it. The hotel is located within sight (100 yards) of Hadrian's Arch and a very short walk from shops and restaurants in the Plaka. It is also located very close to the new Acropolis Museum and the walkway leading to the Acropolis. The next morning we were catching a cruise ship in Pireaus, and the hotel arranged a taxi to take us to the terminal which was about 20 minutes away. It's excellent rating is well deserved. I would definitely stay at the AVA Hotel the next time I'm in Athens.

Room Tip: The elevator is very small so the staff transported our bags to the room. When leaving, there was o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2JaxTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

My husband and I just returned from a trip to Turkey and Greece. Our final stop was in Athens where we stayed at, and enjoyed, the AVA hotel for four nights. This is a boutique hotel one block from the Temple of Zeus, and within easy walking distance of the Acropolis. The suite was tastefully decorated and comfortable. Breakfast was normally served between 8 am and 10 am; however, we needed to make an early start on 2 of the mornings we stayed there. The night manager made sure that breakfast was available before 8, just for us! The staff at the AVA were the best part of our stay. Every one of them were friendly, helpful and attentive. I highly recommend the AVA and would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Poss52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Good location, upmarket hotel suite. Quite pricy at E 278 per night. Kitchen facilities. Very clean.
WiFi drops out often though or it unavailable, - disappointing at this price.
Location in Plaka area terrific- walking distance to Acropolis, Parliament ( for changing of Guard) etc

Room Tip: Wifi kept dropping out- only real problem. Fantastic location - walking distance to Acropolis etc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerAVAHotel, Διευθυντής at AVA Hotel Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable comments for your stay in AVA Hotel & Suites. We are happy to hear that your enjoyed our room facilities and our location. It is to our regret that you experienced problems with our wi-fi facilities which were of temporary nature due to new cabling laid out by our supplier. Our Wi-Fi has been and is very reliable and we are glad to advise you that is now back in operation in all hotel rooms and public areas.

Thank you for your trust and we will be happy to accommodate you once again during your next trip to Athens.

With warm regards,
Maria Kokkori
AVA Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
MET34 Athens Hotel
MET34 Athens Hotel
#1 of 282 in Athens
141 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#10 of 282 in Athens
2,438 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#13 of 282 in Athens
3,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AVA Hotel Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVA Hotel Athens

Address: 9 - 11 Lyssikratous Street | Plaka, Athens 105 58, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#2 Family Hotel in Athens
#2 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#2 Green Hotel in Athens
#9 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £129 - £268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — AVA Hotel Athens 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AVA is a boutique Hotel situated at Plaka in the middle of the Historical Centre, at the foot of the Acropolis, on a quiet street. Surrounded by the worlds most renown monuments of Greek Civilization: Parthenon, Zeus Temple, Hadrian Arch, Agora etc. AVA offers spacious Suites & Apartments with all the amenities and comfort of an upscale Hotel, plus the exclusiveness and privacy of one's own home. AVA is a non smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your AVA Hotel Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Ava Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing