We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of AVA Hotel Athens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
AVA Hotel Athens
Ranked #3 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The AVA Hotel is located in the Plaka neighborhood of Athens which is teeming with restaurants and little shops. The hotel is a five minute walk from the Acropolis which is reason enough to stay at AVA. The front desk staff was super helpful with directions.

The rooms are very clean and well appointed. However, we had difficulty sleeping because the air conditioner in the room was blowing directly above the bed, thus I slept with a jacket on. We didn't call the front desk because it was very late and we were tired.

Also, bottles of water are not complimentary and breakfast was not included in our rate.

We would stay at the AVA again because of the location.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,671 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,384
    232
    35
    11
    9
See reviews for
391
906
47
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tustin, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

My many email enquiries before our visit were always answered quickly and in a most helpful fashion. This is a small boutique hotel which allows you to interact easily with the wonderful staff and take advantage of its perfect location. The rooms are well sized with a small kitchenette.... We had a gorgeous view of the Acropolis and Parthenon from our balcony!
Breakfasts offered a wide choice of eggs, pastries, meats and fruits, with made to order coffee drinks.
Book early! This hotel fills up quickly... The secret is out!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicknancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We loved the AVA in Athens, from the moment of our arrival, until our departure, which we delayed by a day as we so enjoyed our stay here! Superbly located - our suite had balcony views to the left onto Hadrian's Gate and Temple of Zeus and to the right up to the Acropolis. The suite was beautifully decorated, gorgeous bathroom, and with a lovely separate master bedroom.

A great breakfast, excellent and helpful staff, who tried hard to assist us resolve some challenging ongoing travel issues. Overall this hotel is a gem, and well worth the premium cost. If you want to really enjoy your time in Athens, stay here, you will not regret it. The location for strolling amongst the great ruins of Athens is perfect, as is the wonderful day and night eating and shopping options in Plaka. Go for it!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdamskiAds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Wonderful location near the Plaka, the Acropolis, Hadrian's Arch..... Amazing suite and helpful staff whose sightseeing tips certainly saved us a lot of money. Their breakfast buffet was simple and delicious. Would return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank austraveller71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cullercoats, Tyne and Wear
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel, the room was fab and even had a small kitcheny area if you wished to prepare something in your room. The room had a small balcony with a pleasant view. Staff were lovely and helpful. The location was brilliant very close to the Acropolis. The only reason I am giving a less than outstanding score is because the lift was tiny and the alternative flights of marble stairs were difficult for my parents to manage. I know from their room they found the lift noisy. Also the hotel reception and downstairs breakfasting area is very small. Breakfast was basic but nice enough. There isn't a separate restaurant at the hotel so you can't have anything from room service and need to eat out (or in the room).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthernGeordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensburg, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

If in real estate it is all about LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION - you cannot beat this wonderful location. Steps from Plaka and the Acropolis - main throughfares- nice stroll to Constitution Square - it has it ALL. The customer service is amazing. They are accomodating and welcoming - multi-lingual personnel - suites have small kitchens if you are traveling with children! This will be my go to hotel in Athens!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helene N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We only had two days to see the sights of Athens, and this hotel and the great staff made our visit fabulous. We enjoyed an unbelievably beautiful suite with a large balcony showing views of the Acropolis and Hadrian's Arch. We walked around in the Plaka area and to both those sights mentioned earlier. We took a hop-on, hop-off bus nearby to see other important sights even though we did not have time to get off and explore them. We got a good idea of the people and places of Athens by doing this. We were so happy to stay here and see the sights.

Room Tip: Choose a suite with balcony if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoyOfSeeing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#13 of 326 in Athens
3,273 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#17 of 326 in Athens
3,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 326 in Athens
2,239 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#14 of 326 in Athens
3,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AVA Hotel Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVA Hotel Athens

Property: AVA Hotel Athens
Address: 9 - 11 Lyssikratous Street | Plaka, Athens 105 58, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#2 Green Hotel in Athens
#2 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#4 Family Hotel in Athens
#13 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — AVA Hotel Athens 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AVA is a boutique Hotel situated at Plaka in the middle of the Historical Centre, at the foot of the Acropolis, on a quiet street. Surrounded by the worlds most renown monuments of Greek Civilization: Parthenon, Zeus Temple, Hadrian Arch, Agora etc. AVA offers spacious Suites & Apartments with all the amenities and comfort of an upscale Hotel, plus the exclusiveness and privacy of one's own home. AVA is a non smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your AVA Hotel Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Ava Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing