We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay!”
Review of AVA Hotel Athens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
AVA Hotel Athens
Ranked #2 of 285 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The Ava Hotel in Athens was not only in a perfect location, it was a perfect hotel. The rooms were clean, (very important to me) and the staff most willing to do anything for the customer. A chilled bottle of Champagne as a welcome gift was a very nice touch. Everyone helped to make our stay an excellent one.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Butterfllyjoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,757)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

596 - 602 of 1,757 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014

Acropolis at one end of the street and the temple of Zeus at the other - location couldn't be better. Nice room and very clean. The breakfast is excellent and all the staff were friendly and helpful. There is room service but no restaurant for evening meals. However you're right in the centre of the old city and there's a huge range of restaurants and tavernas within a few minutes walk. The hotel staff are happy to advise on sightseeing and restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LJBDRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Couldn't ask for better location. Close to everything that you need to be in Athens. We upgraded to a suite which had a mini kitchen and lounge room..Breakfast was lovely. Hotel arranged a car for us for airport pickup.

Room Tip: At front of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank burleigh4220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in July following a week's sailing in the Argolic Sea. We had booked an executive suite (room 103) with views of the Acropolis and Hadrian's Arch. The hotel is charming, the staff are excellent, the location is perfect, the suite was a good size and the view from the balcony was all that was promised. Thoroughly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alistair G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I only had one night here but from the moment I was greeted at the door by Petros I knew it was a good decision to stay here. It is a small boutique hotel within easy walking distance to Hadrian's Arch, Temple of Zeus and the Acropolis. It is also close to so many cafés and restaurants that you really are spoilt for choice. The hotel itself in immaculately, and I mean immaculately, clean. I had an executive room with a balcony with views of the three sites mentioned above. The bed, pillows and sheets are 5 star quality. The air conditioning is powerful which is great as it was 36 degrees in Athens when I arrived. The space in the executive room was very impressive and contained a small kitchenette which I didn't use. The also have a mini bar and a room service menu. The whole room was fresh and any tiled areas gleam. DVDs are available to hire for free.

This location is also very quiet at night which makes for a great sleeping environment.

Each staff member was helpful, friendly and very ready with good dining suggestions. The only disappointment was that I only had one night there. If I return to Athens I would not consider staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: I had a second floor with balcony and it was terrific
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank RobbieRoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I didn’t have high expectations about Athens city center in terms of lodging and food …. but I was wrong ! The Ava hotel is the perfect place to tour the Plaka area, the new Acropolis Museum (terrific), the Acropolis itself, the Agora (awesome, Socrates walked and teached there…) ; the other interesting museums are somewhat further away (like the Benaki, which I didn’t like too much). The receptionists were extremely helpful and welcoming, we had an executive suite and a standard suite, for 2 adults and 3 children. The additional cost for the executive suite is really worth it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank TeoSza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Wonderful hotel to stay in Athens. VERY friendly staff. They suggested some great restaurants within walking distance. In fact, everything is in walking distance. We would definitely stay here again. Rooms were very spacious and nice. You can or cannot get your room with the breakfast but we chose to wonder around to some of the little places close by.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Primtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
MET34 Athens Hotel
MET34 Athens Hotel
#1 of 285 in Athens
151 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#10 of 285 in Athens
2,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#12 of 285 in Athens
3,311 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#13 of 285 in Athens
3,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AVA Hotel Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVA Hotel Athens

Address: 9 - 11 Lyssikratous Street | Plaka, Athens 105 58, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#2 Family Hotel in Athens
#2 Green Hotel in Athens
#2 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#9 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £117 - £284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — AVA Hotel Athens 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AVA is a boutique Hotel situated at Plaka in the middle of the Historical Centre, at the foot of the Acropolis, on a quiet street. Surrounded by the worlds most renown monuments of Greek Civilization: Parthenon, Zeus Temple, Hadrian Arch, Agora etc. AVA offers spacious Suites & Apartments with all the amenities and comfort of an upscale Hotel, plus the exclusiveness and privacy of one's own home. AVA is a non smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your AVA Hotel Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Ava Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing