We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location; in the heart of it all!”
Review of AVA Hotel Athens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
AVA Hotel Athens
Ranked #2 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Francisco
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great location; in the heart of it all!”
Reviewed 31 August 2014

The Ava hotel is a quaint little place with an amazing location. Literally steps from many of the amazing attractions that Athens has to offer. From this location, we walked to the Acropolis and the museum, Temple of Zeus, the Arch, Olympic Stadium, the Plaka, outdoor markets..And much more...Everywhere basically! Do yourself a favor and book the package with the tickets to all of the sites and the tasting (turned out to be one of our best meals in Athens.) It's not really a tasting; it's a full on lunch experience. No waiting in the long lines with the pre-arranged tickets; it was awesome!! The breakfast in the morning is FANTASTIC. We didn't experience the over-the-top service that others experienced, so for me, it's more 4.5 stars, but the woman who checked us in (Dimitria, I think) and a young lady who assisted in the breakfast area were both very kind and helpful. I rounded up because the rooms were clean, the location was fantastic, and I can't imagine a better place to stay in Athens is if you're visiting the sites. Only certain rooms have views; others do not and there is no public/rooftop space to view the Acropolis. We were somewhat mislead by photos on the internet, but totally our fault for not investigating further.

Room Tip: Buy the ticket package with lunch tasting. Avoid long lines and have an amazing food tasting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tcald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,658 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,372
    231
    35
    11
    9
See reviews for
385
901
46
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
IL
Level Contributor
96 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

This is a small building that was converted into a hotel. Most of its space is occupied by the rooms rather than common areas. This results in huge rooms compared to neighboring hotels. Coming in with 3 young ones this hotel served us beautifully. Attentive service, large beds and great location. Can you ask anything less from a #1 hotel?
Minor downsides - low water pressure in the shower. No car parking.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed in one of the executive suites for a few nights. Two before we went to other islands, then one more night before we left. The location of the hotel couldn't have been better. Quiet location, and yet close to everywhere you would want to go. Upon our arrival from our long overnight trip, the staff did everything possible to accommodate us getting us comfortable with coffee, food, etc. Breakfast in the morning was great. Fresh food with many options. They helped with recommendations and reservations for dinners. The hotel itself was wonderful. We stayed in the Executive Suite with a private terrace. The view was amazing. The room was spacious, clean and had all of the amenities one could want. Beyond this was the decor of the room which was modern, yet Grecian at the same time. I have recommended this hotel to a number of friends/family and would absolutely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Our family booked a 'Executive Suite - Acropolis view' for two nights when we arrived in Athens from a longhaul trip. The room itself was clean and spacious with a kitchenette, good sized-bathroom, separate bedroom and living area. There was a decent-sized balcony that looked up to the Acropolis on the hill. It was good to see the requested port-a-cot was already setup and made when we arrived.

The staff were friendly, helpful, and attentive without being in your face. They suggested good local eateries, bars, sights, booked taxis, etc. The breakfast was ample: primarily contintental with some warm food, lots of coffee, etc.

The location is great too, right in the heart of Plaka so close to lots of nice restaurants, the Acropolis, Olympic Statium, Zeus's Temples, etc.

Happy to recommend AVA Hotel: it has a nice quiet buzz about it, spacious rooms, helpful staff, and a great location.

Room Tip: The Acropolis View room was on the second floor and we had a view but it is not direct - you need to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pedro_Gonzales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth WA
Level Contributor
140 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This hotel provided a wonderful stay for our two nights in Athens. Location couldn't be better, staff were very helpful and friendly. We were offered an upgrade to a suite which was luxurious for the price - a private terrace with Hadrian's arch at one end and the Acropolis at the other - a great place for breakfast. we were welcomed with a bottle of champagne on ice which was a nice touch. We couldn't fault it.

However this hotel is very popular so book early!

Room Tip: A suite with a terrace is hopefully an affordable treat
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthPerthAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We stayed at AVA hotel for two nights, once before heading off to Santorini and then upon our return. We felt like VIPs as we were welcomed with a lovely note and bottle of sparkling wine. The room was very spacious and well appointed and there was a good attention to detail - plenty of soft fresh towels, and toiletries in the bathroom, a range of pillows and complimentary bottled water. It was very hot when we were in Athens so it was a great relief to have a cool and comfortable night's sleep in our room. Our room on the first night was on the 3rd floor and the second night on the 4th floor. Both rooms were great. We would definitely stay at AVA again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
181 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We choose this for a one night stay in Athens en route to Santorini, booking through the hotel website. We took them up on their offer of an airport pickup for €50, which was worth it after the flight. After a short wait with some coffee and cake, our room was ready shortly after 10am.

401 is on the ground floor with a patio, just the place for drinking the complimentary bottle of refreshing French bubbly (but not in the evening, when mosquitoes are about). The room is large and well furnished and equipped, with cooker, coffee maker, mid-sized fridge, etc. Well sized bathroom with good fittings.

Staff were friendly and helpful with sightseeing and restaurant recommendations.

WiFi connection stable and fast enough for us.

Location is great. 50m up the street and on the right is the start of Adrianou, the main tourist street in Plaka full of restaurants and shops.

A bit further up, then left for about 120m is the junction with Dionysiou Areopagitou, which goes past the Acropolis Museum and the two ticket offices for the Acropolis. BTW, get to the Acropolis for the 8am opening. By 8.45 it is crowded. This is early August.

Pretty much perfect for a first-time one day stay in Athens.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kuaychap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 326 in Athens
3,239 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#14 of 326 in Athens
2,974 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#15 of 326 in Athens
2,205 reviews
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AVA Hotel Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVA Hotel Athens

Property: AVA Hotel Athens
Address: 9 - 11 Lyssikratous Street | Plaka, Athens 105 58, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#1 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#2 Green Hotel in Athens
#4 Family Hotel in Athens
#13 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — AVA Hotel Athens 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AVA is a boutique Hotel situated at Plaka in the middle of the Historical Centre, at the foot of the Acropolis, on a quiet street. Surrounded by the worlds most renown monuments of Greek Civilization: Parthenon, Zeus Temple, Hadrian Arch, Agora etc. AVA offers spacious Suites & Apartments with all the amenities and comfort of an upscale Hotel, plus the exclusiveness and privacy of one's own home. AVA is a non smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your AVA Hotel Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Ava Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing