We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is where you stay in Athens” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of AVA Hotel Athens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
AVA Hotel Athens
Ranked #4 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Adelaide., South Ausrralia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This is where you stay in Athens”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2009

We have now left after 4 memorable days in Athens.We chose this hotel largely as a result of reviews on Trip Advisor and were not disappointed.The staff could not have been more helpful. Our room ( the AVA suite ) was comfortable and spacious for a family of four. Breakfast was ample in a nice atmosphere. A look to the left from the balcony was Hadrian's Arch and Zeus Temple, to the right the Acropolis. You feel a part of "The Old Greece" in the Plaka, not part of the concrete jungle that is Athens and for that matter most other major cities. That is why you travel to Athens - to walk the narrow streets and feel a part of it - stay at the AVA in the Plaka and you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gatman19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,587 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,309
    223
    35
    11
    9
See reviews for
366
853
45
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland, England, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2009

From the moment George greeted us, we loved our stay at the AVA Hotel. It is in a perfect location, right between the Acropolis and Hadrian's Arch. The room was great for a family of four. We had an exec apartment, which was spacious, and the kitchenette allowed us to eat in the room for breakfast and occassional other meals. Our tip is to try dinner at Kouklis (aka Scholarhio) Ouzerti and enjoy the meze deal.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank northumberlandgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2009

This hotel/apartment was absolutely spot on in all aspects. Rooms spacious and clean. Service probably the best I have ever experienced and I do travel a lot. The welcoming champagne and chocholates were a nice touch. Buffet breakfast very tasty with a huge variety of foods. We just loved it and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sukolume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2009

Read the reviews before I booked and I wasn't disappointed.
The professional service started even before we arrived. I accidently double booked online and immeditaely got a call from AVA to warn me.
On arrival the welcome was friendly, polite, and helpful.
The hotel is in a very convenent position for all transport and sightseeing.
The room was large, spotless and well equipped with kitchenette, bathrobes and slippers. I really appeciated those extra touches which added to the comfort and home-from-home feeling. I must mention the lovely smell of the towels (orange blossom?) and last, but not least, the complimentary bottle of champagne we found waiting for us in our room on the first night. AVA is the perfect antidote for a day's sight seeing in interesting but hectic, even frenetic, Athens city. Check out the hotel's black information book - one of the most helpful and entertaining I've ever read! Even so, the professional staff were always on hand with advice and information.
The only criticism I have is that the decor is rather dated and uninspiring but at the same time very clean, well maintained. Also, another English TV channel (apart form the news) would have been welcome, as we tend to stay in at night.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loragirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne, australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2009

Outstanding hotel by any measure used. Location, service, quality, price and comfort.
Would not consider staying anywhere else in Athens. Nor should you!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wolfie72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delft
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2009

Fantastic location.
A very centrally and confortable hotel.Located in the historical and nice Plaka area at walking distance of the famous Akropolis and other archelogical sites.Also in the neighbourhood of nice little shops and restaurants.
Staff and personal are very friendly,hospital and interested. They give you for example advice where to go to and which restaurants are the best .
Breakfast is very complete. We are frequent travellers and are also used to stay in expensive hotels for business and leisure, but never before we had such a pleasant experience. After arrived at our - spacious- room we received a cooler with a bottle of sparkling wine.What a surprise!
Very good price/quality rating. If you visit Athens I advise you to stay in Ava appartments and suites.

Frans Vrins

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petrafrans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Purmerend
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2009

Dear fellow travellers,

We choose this hotel based on the reviews on TripAdvisor. Boy, oh boy. We stayed in loads of hotels all around the world, from 2 to 5 star. This hotel is now in our top 3! You'll be hard pressed to find anything better, certainly for the rate they are charging. The cheapest deal we found was booking with the hotel directly.

The hotel is ideally located on the rim of the old city heart district, Plaka. All the ancient sites are at walking distance. Basically the hotel is at the bottom of the Akropolis. Restaurants and bars are just around the corner, no need to go very far. Check the prices though, some charge a lot of money for an average quality meal...
The hotel provides restaurant recommendations, for every budget.

Breakfast in the morning is buffet style, you are really spoilt for choice. There's plenty, it's fresh, delicious and an excellent start of the day. They even serve real scrambled eggs (most hotels use instant stuff). The breakfast staff looks after you really well, that's for sure!

We had a regular apartment at the back of the hotel, not much of a view (you must realise that the houses in Athens are somewhat close together, as needed for those 5 million inhabitants....) but it was really quiet, even with the window open. There even was a tiny balcony. (apt 304). The bed is just great, we slept like a log, normally beds in hotels are not quite that good. There is also a fold-out bed for an additional person (child).

The regular apartment is very spacious, for 2 people it is more than adequate. There is a small kitchen, with two electric plates, sink and a fridge and they even provide you with washing-up liquid. The bath room is adequate, not too big, not too small (but we heard that in some of the apartments the bathrooms are huge).
The style of the furniture is a bit old fashioned, but not worn. While we were there, the managers were looking at fabrics and lots of other stuff, so a refurbishment looks to be on its way. TV, mini-bar, hairdryer, coffee/tea facilities and even an Internet connection are available in the room/apt.

The staff at the hotel is just fantastic, we just can't thank them all enough (so we repeat it here). They made us feel very welcome, nothing was too much trouble and they were always cheerful. Thank you again Maria, Stavros, George, Eleni, Costas, Rita, Flora, Andrea and Vassiliki. Also thanks to the management Lucy and Iris (both Dutch).
They are really interested in guests comments and make it their business to work to perfection. Management and staff have regular meetings to upgrade service even more.
They are a true team.

Getting to the hotel is easy. When we arrived, the metro from the airport was not running because they are extending that particular line. We took a bus (the X95) to Syntagma Square (which costs 3,20 euro per person, one way). A taxi will set you back around 35 euros. This is not the fare you will see on the taxi meter, but also includes toll charges. The public transport in Athens is excellent. Metro is clean, fast and safe, trams are great too.
The price for a 7 day ticket for all these public means of transport is just 10 euros (this does not include the express bus nor the metro from the airport). Closest metro stop to AVA hotel is Akropolis (5 minute walk from hotel).

Really, trust us, if you make it to Athens, make this your hotel, you won't be disappointed.

Corina and Willem,

Purmerend,
The Netherlands

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clogs1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#14 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,802 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#9 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#13 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,600 reviews
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AVA Hotel Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVA Hotel Athens

Property: AVA Hotel Athens
Address: 9 - 11 Lyssikratous Street | Plaka, Athens 105 58, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#2 Green Hotel in Athens
#4 Family Hotel in Athens
#4 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#13 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — AVA Hotel Athens 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AVA is a boutique Hotel situated at Plaka in the middle of the Historical Centre, at the foot of the Acropolis, on a quiet street. Surrounded by the worlds most renown monuments of Greek Civilization: Parthenon, Zeus Temple, Hadrian Arch, Agora etc. AVA offers spacious Suites & Apartments with all the amenities and comfort of an upscale Hotel, plus the exclusiveness and privacy of one's own home. AVA is a non smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your AVA Hotel Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Ava Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing