We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This Is The Best Hotel in Athens - Best Location, Best Service”
Review of AVA Hotel Athens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
AVA Hotel Athens
Ranked #2 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Santa Rosa, CA.
1 review
“This Is The Best Hotel in Athens - Best Location, Best Service”
Reviewed 20 September 2009

The service at this hotel was beyond excellent-the staff was the best I've met in years. We had 12 people in our group. At every moment the employees suggested great places to dine, which sites we should see and met our every expectation. One day a member of our group had his birthday - the staff even delivered us a beautiful birthday cake! This hotel has the ideal location of being in the center of Platka (for shopping). We stayed in a suite on the top floor, we sat on our deck as often as we could with exquisite views of the Acropolis. I was offered a less expensive rate at the King George and Bretagne, but from all we ever heard the AVA Hotel Athens was the place to stay ... and I will recommend this hotel to all my friends who go to Athens.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiriamDoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,629 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,348
    226
    35
    11
    9
See reviews for
376
883
46
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, NJ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2009

If you are planning a trip to Athens, then there is no other hotel that you should consider. The hotel location is perfect and the rooms are modern, clean, and spacious. Ms. van den Berg and the staff are absolutely wonderful and do their very best to assure your stay at the AVA is perfect.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelWCTE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2009

8 of us stayed here for a long weekend. perfect location for the Plaka & wonderful views of The Acropolis. Staff were excellent - incredibly helpful & friendly. Bottles of "pop" delivered to our rooms on arrival. Suites all very clean, comfortable & suprisingly quiet.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WiltshireWhisperer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wiltshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 September 2009

"Boutique Hotel" within Plaka district, but located in quiet street. Really convienient for all the historical sights plus all the nice things, bars, restaurants,shops etc, that this district has to offer.

This is a small hotel with excellent accommodation, we stayed in the very spacious executive apartment, with stunning views of the Temple of Zeus and the Acropolis, from our balcony.

The management and staff were very helpful and informative and their recommendations and tips about, taxis, restaurants and Athens generally, was constructive and very useful.

And they do a cracking breakfast!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djs52Wiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2009

Had a stopover in Athens with 4 -- wife, two sons, and myself -- so wanted to see sights before heading to Greek Islands. Location was perfect -- walking distance to Acropolis, nice neighborhood, and the room was spacious, modern, great bathroom, and quiet for 4. Hotel staff nice and helpful, but performed above and beyond service days later when our ferry to Santorini was cancelled. We were stuck at the port, looking at a 12 hour delay, not knowing who to turn to for help when we taxied back to the AVA. The woman at the desk saved us -- called a travel agent at home (it was both a Saturday and a holiday) and the agent booked us a flight, which salvaged our trip. A week later, we were back at the AVA, grateful and relaxed, again enjoying the comfortable beds, friendly service, and perfect location.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BONVIVANTNewYorkCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bequia, St. Vincent & the Grenadines
1 review
Reviewed 11 September 2009

I own a hotel (Spring House) in Bequia so I know what I am talking about when I say that this is one of the best run boutique hotels that I have had the pleasure to stay in. We stayed in a spacious, third floor, suite with a huge balcony and perfect view of the Acropolis. Every convenience was thought of and the staff very extreemly helpful and friendly. Everyone spoke perfect English and nothing was too much trouble. A complimentary bottle of Champagne greeted our arrival as it was our anniversary. The breakfast is an excellent value with a wide range of dishes. The location cannot be beat as it is within minutes walking to all major attractions. The rooms are modern, clean and well thought out. with flat screen TV and DVD player. There are many fine touches that an average traveler may not notice such as upmarket toiletries. How this could be beat is hard to tell and I can see why it has earned it's Number 1 rating on Trip Advisor. Chris & Kate.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpringHouseHotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2009

I was a little bit worried with it being an "apart-hotel" but it was perfect for our two night stay. It's right in the heart of the Plaka and most places are walking distance. There are lots of little bars and restaurants around too.

The best part is that it's lovely and quiet, despite being in a busy area. Admittedly we had a room at the back (no view) but there was no internal noise either - perfect! The room was spacious and well equipped. We didn't use the cooking facilities, but they looked excellent. Everything worked and it was spotlessly clean.

All the receptionists were welcoming and very helpful. The service is really very good indeed.

Breakfast is fine - absolutely loads of choice from pastries to cereal, fruit to toast and even bacon & eggs (although it wasn't quite a full English!)

It's not Luxxy but it's a great hotel with great staff in a great location - just what we wanted :o)

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DandLSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,171 reviews
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#15 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Syntagma
New Hotel
New Hotel
#11 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AVA Hotel Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVA Hotel Athens

Property: AVA Hotel Athens
Address: 9 - 11 Lyssikratous Street | Plaka, Athens 105 58, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#1 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#2 Green Hotel in Athens
#4 Family Hotel in Athens
#13 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — AVA Hotel Athens 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AVA is a boutique Hotel situated at Plaka in the middle of the Historical Centre, at the foot of the Acropolis, on a quiet street. Surrounded by the worlds most renown monuments of Greek Civilization: Parthenon, Zeus Temple, Hadrian Arch, Agora etc. AVA offers spacious Suites & Apartments with all the amenities and comfort of an upscale Hotel, plus the exclusiveness and privacy of one's own home. AVA is a non smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your AVA Hotel Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Ava Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing