We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location,location,location and wonderful staff”
Review of AVA Hotel Athens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
AVA Hotel Athens
Ranked #3 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 24 September 2009

We read all the reviews before booking the AVA and amazingly they were all correct in the comments about this gem of a hotel. They have a philosophy to make sure every guest is treated like family. From the greeting by Stavos when we arrived in the evening from a long flight from LA to having arrangements for a price fixed taxi that they call to take you to the airport or port. (Much better than trying to negotiate the taxi fare on your own)
We took the 95 airport bus to Syngama Square (buy ticket at the kiosk just outside the terminal door and remember to punch ticket in the machine in the middle of the bus).There is a large fine if your ticket is not stamped. Bus is every 10 minutes and you line up at sign that says 95 by the curb. Just a few feet from the Kiosk. (95 is right after 94 bus sign) There is plenty of room for luggage just sit where you can keep you eye on your bags.. Get off at last stop and a 5 minute taxi ride to the hotel.Taxis are right by where the bus pulls in. Oh.. people will try to get on the bus before everyone gets off..welcome to Athens. AVA has a great informational web site with all the information including a map and the hotel name/address in Greek.Make a copy of this to take and give to the taxi driver. The AVA hotel really thinks of everything.
Have a great trip and enjoy the hotel and it's prime location in the Plaka.
Bus is 3 euros (or if over 65 1.5 euros) plus 10 euro for the taxi with all our luggage.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CalifTravelBuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,711)
There are newer reviews for AVA Hotel Athens
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,266 - 1,272 of 1,711 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2009

All the previous reviews are "bang on". Great location -- easy walk from Syntagma square. The hotel is clean, well located in the Plaka, comfortable with very helpful staff. Nice breakfast. Everything as described. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend to others passing through Athens. Free internet access in the lobby for quick email updates.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank devoted_guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2009

We travelled to attens with a group of friends and spent 3 nights at this hotel. Excellent food, staff and accommodation. The location of this hotel is perfect for visiting all the main tourist sites in Athens. Will defintely stay at the AVA Hotel the next time that we visit Athens.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VonnieWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2009

The service at this hotel was beyond excellent-the staff was the best I've met in years. We had 12 people in our group. At every moment the employees suggested great places to dine, which sites we should see and met our every expectation. One day a member of our group had his birthday - the staff even delivered us a beautiful birthday cake! This hotel has the ideal location of being in the center of Platka (for shopping). We stayed in a suite on the top floor, we sat on our deck as often as we could with exquisite views of the Acropolis. I was offered a less expensive rate at the King George and Bretagne, but from all we ever heard the AVA Hotel Athens was the place to stay ... and I will recommend this hotel to all my friends who go to Athens.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiriamDoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2009

If you are planning a trip to Athens, then there is no other hotel that you should consider. The hotel location is perfect and the rooms are modern, clean, and spacious. Ms. van den Berg and the staff are absolutely wonderful and do their very best to assure your stay at the AVA is perfect.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelWCTE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2009

8 of us stayed here for a long weekend. perfect location for the Plaka & wonderful views of The Acropolis. Staff were excellent - incredibly helpful & friendly. Bottles of "pop" delivered to our rooms on arrival. Suites all very clean, comfortable & suprisingly quiet.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WiltshireWhisperer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2009

"Boutique Hotel" within Plaka district, but located in quiet street. Really convienient for all the historical sights plus all the nice things, bars, restaurants,shops etc, that this district has to offer.

This is a small hotel with excellent accommodation, we stayed in the very spacious executive apartment, with stunning views of the Temple of Zeus and the Acropolis, from our balcony.

The management and staff were very helpful and informative and their recommendations and tips about, taxis, restaurants and Athens generally, was constructive and very useful.

And they do a cracking breakfast!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djs52Wiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,843 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#10 of 282 in Athens
3,339 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#13 of 282 in Athens
2,332 reviews
Syntagma
MET34 Athens Hotel
MET34 Athens Hotel
#1 of 282 in Athens
133 reviews
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#12 of 282 in Athens
3,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AVA Hotel Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVA Hotel Athens

Address: 9 - 11 Lyssikratous Street | Plaka, Athens 105 58, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#2 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#2 Green Hotel in Athens
#2 Family Hotel in Athens
#9 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £139 - £309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — AVA Hotel Athens 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AVA is a boutique Hotel situated at Plaka in the middle of the Historical Centre, at the foot of the Acropolis, on a quiet street. Surrounded by the worlds most renown monuments of Greek Civilization: Parthenon, Zeus Temple, Hadrian Arch, Agora etc. AVA offers spacious Suites & Apartments with all the amenities and comfort of an upscale Hotel, plus the exclusiveness and privacy of one's own home. AVA is a non smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your AVA Hotel Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Ava Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing