We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location, perfect in every way.”
Review of AVA Hotel Athens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
AVA Hotel Athens
Ranked #3 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 12 October 2010

This The Ava Hotel was recommended to me and upon arrival it was clear to see why. Travelling solo I found it to be in the perfect location to explore the wonders of "Ancient Greece" in three days. Close to all the attractions, restaurants and shopping. Everything was in walking distance. Easy access by train from the airport. Friendly helpful staff and one of the nicest hotel rooms I have had the pleasure to stay in. Amazing!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oliAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,711)
There are newer reviews for AVA Hotel Athens
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,155 - 1,161 of 1,711 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2010

I stayed four nights mid-September with AVA myself and my two teenage sons in an Executive apartment. Fantastic. The whole Greek experience - Everything lived up to my expectations and more. Travelling the world as airline staff I cannot fault the hotel or staff in any way. Love to return in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McBridefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2010

The AVA hotel fit us to a T! After a busy 10-day cruise, we wanted to see the sites in Athens but also needed to relax before the end of our vacation. The room was modern, clean and spacious; the staff warm and helpful. When we arrived at 10 a.m. they stored our bags and later put them in our room when it became available, allowing us to hustle out to the New Acropolis Museum (a must before touring the site!). They suggested dinner at Strofi and reserved a table (which it seems they do for many guests). Suggestion was spot on - we sat on the roofdeck overlooking the floodlit acropolis and it was enchanting...food was very good and not crazy expensive, either. The location of this hotel is perfect - we walked down to the Grande Bretagne where some of the cruise guests were staying - location wasn't nearly as nice and the hotel is big and impersonal. If you really need a barbershop and gift store in your hotel, then maybe it would suit you, but if you are fairly self-sufficient and appreciate boutique hotels then the AVA is your place. They do not compromise on nice linens and towels, bath products or comfy mattresses, either. Wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shari F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2010

My husband and I stayed here for three nights after a cruise. The suite was much larger than I expected, with a bedroom, living room, full kitchen with dishes, separate computer table and balcony. We were on the street side so we could walk out on our balcony and look at Hadrian's Gate one way and the Acropolis the other. Breakfast was included in our package and was excellent, particularly the fresh-squeezed orange juice. Internet was fast and free. Staff went out of their way to make us feel at home, with great dinner suggestions. The location was perfect for our needs, being just around the corner from the Plaka. It is about a 15 to 20 minute walk to Syntagma Square. Friends of ours were staying there at the King George Palace and they wished they had stayed at the AVA. We recommend this hotel highly.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank t42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2010

With pretty much research before hand, we felt the quality of the hotel at expectation. The location was excellent- right next to the Acropolis and the lovely paths in Plaka were within 2 mins' walk.
Greek hotels are on average smaller than usual. But we liked the clean and cozy room of AVA generally. A little pity that our balcony was not by the road side but the opposite...
A kind reminder- do make sure you book the right dates if you do it on their official website. Cause if you return to the initial page in the middle of the operation, the date will change to default ones again... and we were charged half day rates for non-show...
In summary, the hotel was a pleasing experience in Athens!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RelenaShi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2010

The Staff at this hotel are just brilliant, we got champagne in our room once checked in and were treated like gold throughout our stay.. we would definitely stay their again, we worth their number one spot on trip advisor!!

Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
Thank GQIbiza27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2010

Staff were very helpful - English spoken.
Breakfast very good - perhaps a little more pricey than we anticipated.
Great location for exploring the Plaka.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wagwag222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,842 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#11 of 282 in Athens
3,339 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#13 of 282 in Athens
2,329 reviews
Syntagma
MET34 Athens Hotel
MET34 Athens Hotel
#1 of 282 in Athens
133 reviews
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#12 of 282 in Athens
3,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AVA Hotel Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVA Hotel Athens

Address: 9 - 11 Lyssikratous Street | Plaka, Athens 105 58, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#2 Family Hotel in Athens
#2 Green Hotel in Athens
#2 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#9 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £139 - £309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — AVA Hotel Athens 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AVA is a boutique Hotel situated at Plaka in the middle of the Historical Centre, at the foot of the Acropolis, on a quiet street. Surrounded by the worlds most renown monuments of Greek Civilization: Parthenon, Zeus Temple, Hadrian Arch, Agora etc. AVA offers spacious Suites & Apartments with all the amenities and comfort of an upscale Hotel, plus the exclusiveness and privacy of one's own home. AVA is a non smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your AVA Hotel Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Ava Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing