We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel, Fantastic staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Art Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Art Hotel
Ranked #114 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, Fantastic staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

It’s taken me a while however I stayed at the Art Hotel in May 2013 for 4 nights. The staff at this hotel are incredibly friendly and will go out of their way to make you comfortable and provide you with all of the information you need to enjoy your stay in Athens. They helped make us with our journey back to the airport on our last day but suggesting we get a taxi with another couple who’s flights left shortly before ours, They arranged a taxi at a great price and gave us a bottle of wine to drink while we waited!

The breakfast is fantastic!! Large choice of Fruit, Meat, Bread, Juice, Cereal, Tea&Coffee.
Many thanks to all of the hotel staff.

The only thing I can suggest to the staff about the hotel is: We had a room on the 4th floor, I can't remember the room number now, It's the one in front of the lift. The shower head is not attached to the wall, It makes it quite tricky having a shower one handed.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frangipie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    233
    144
    71
    39
See reviews for
131
375
52
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toul, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

I was lucky to stay with my friend in this hotel thanks to some project in 2010.
Everything was great, clean and stylish. The room was spacious with internet connection.
We enjoyed the breakfasts served there as well as delicious fruit!
The stuff was kind and helpful.
Although the neighbourhood is not so pleasant or clean.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kaskot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

Nice hotel, I would recommend for couples but without children. Stylish hotel with paintings and sculptures everywhere, very nice furniture but in a not nice area of Athens. The personnel is very helpful and kind. Average breakfast..

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Jean-philippe C... C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

We had the most wonderful stay at Art Hotel! We stayed a night before and a night after going to the Greek islands and the second night we stayed it felt like we were coming home! Staff were delightful and so helpful and the room was fantastic! Easy to get around! Really recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SFB_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gallup, New Mexico
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

Service personnel were great (extremely helpful and professional), the bed amazingly comfortable, and breakfast delicious, but...
(1) Overpriced for what is offered
(2) Internet is patchy at best and unsecure (no password/WPN security code required)
(3) The floor and counters of my bathroom, the tub, and telephone hadn't been well cleaned prior to my arrival (several pieces of hair, older grime, and other debris scattered around, not very appealing)
(4) The neighborhood was noisy and seedy (and the sidewalks smelled like urine... I even saw human poop one morning on my way to the subway station)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueinGallup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

I totally agree with many other reviews. The people at the front desk are very nice and accommodating. They really made all the difference, and I feel bad give them a lower rating than what 4 out of 5. However, i think this hotel should be a three star rather than 4 star hotel.

Pro:
1. The price is pretty cheap and breakfast is included.
2. Staff, of course
3. The room is decent size. and once you get to the subway station, you are short ride away from all the tourist attractions. Room has WIFI and a safe.

Con:
1. Location: the hotel is a little further away from the subway station than I prefer. During the day, it's not a big deal at all, everything is pretty normal. Although i did see a couple of prostitute on the street during the day also.... interesting.... During the night, when you get out of the subway, you probably will see more than just a couple of junkies and prostitutes... so the walk between subway stop and hotel maybe a little weird, to say the least. You don't need to run for your life or anything like that, but if you have kids or just a bunch of girls, i suggest you take the taxi instead of subway to get back to the hotel after 9pm. But if you are a bunch of single guys and adventurous. That maybe a different story. I was with my wife, so I did't ask for the price. Sorry guys. According to my greek friend, that area is known for junkies and red light district. However, this is really not hotel's fault and they told me that they purposely didn't put a big sign for their hotel, i assume for that same reason.

2. At least for my room, the AC didn't work very well at all. Shower door couldn't block the water well neither. So bathroom floor was pretty wet after shower. And the building next door is doing some construction...

Overall, I think this hotel is not as bad as some reviewers say, hotel itself it's not bad at all, considering the price and friendly staff, especially if you are tourists who won't be back too late, or if you are a single guy who wants to stay not too far away from the red light district. (not joking, i know people would go to amsterdam for that)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewJerseyUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birkirkara, Malta
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights in this hotel before our trip to Santorini. When we arrived we were offered coffee or orange juice and the receptionist took the time to explain all the areas of interest to visit in our short stay. The room was small and the decor was old and needs an update mostly the bathroom and beds. The AC worked fine and WIFI was good. Breakfast was ok with a good selection. Area is noisy with lots of traffic. An average hotel but the staff make all the differance.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mario M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Athens Lotus Hotel
#50 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
Centrotel Hotel
#21 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
Exarchia
BEST WESTERN Museum Hotel
BEST WESTERN Museum Hotel
#52 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Psirri / Gazi
Attalos Hotel
Attalos Hotel
#35 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,747 reviews
Delphi Art Hotel
#83 of 325 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Omonia
Polis Grand Hotel
Polis Grand Hotel
#42 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Hotel

Property: Art Hotel
Address: 27 Marni | Omonoia - Museum, Athens 104 32, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#63 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Art Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Athens Art Hotel is 4-star new elegant boutique hotel, operating in a renovated neoclassical building of 1930, situated in the centre of Athens, within walking distance from the national archaeological museum and Omonoia square. The 30 guest rooms and suites are designed and furnished one by one, depending on the room shape, the traffic flow, the focal point and the lighting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, LoveHolidays and Hotels.com so you can book your Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing