We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel. Great staff. Sketchy Neighbourhood.”
Review of Art Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Art Hotel
Ranked #115 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Reviewed 12 September 2013

My wife and i stayed here to kick-off our Greece tour in mid-August. The hotel was wonderful, modern and clean, and the staff were very helpful, and really went above and beyond the extra mile to make our stay worthwhile.

The breakfast was fantastic (we didn't have it included initially, but they gave it to us anyway! :)), and the wi-fi in the rooms was a definite bonus. They really did their best, and it showed.

If somehow this hotel could be picked up and moved to another area of the city, I'd give it a full 5 stars. Unfortunately, the part of town that it's located in isn't the safest (particularly at night), and even 2 cab drivers did not want to drop us off right in front of the hotel as apparently violence against cabbies is common in Athens, and particularly around Omonia Square.

Having said that, we didn't have any problems with anybody when coming back to the hotel at night, but we did see our fair share of prostitutes and drug addicts, and there was a heavy police presence.

Overall, I'd go back to this hotel with my wife, but would be hesitant to stay with children.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tom_mah1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (858)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 858 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2013

just stayed one night as a transit stay and glad it was only one night. needs a really good renovation . Entrance area tired ...the purple couch in foyer was stained and dirty. Rooms were basic and really need an upgrade ..location not a nice area ( taxi drivers confirmed too ) ..had wifi free ..so that was good ...and it was also within 10 min walk to archaeological museum . Staff were helpful in providing info ..but would not stay again .

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helencha24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

It’s taken me a while however I stayed at the Art Hotel in May 2013 for 4 nights. The staff at this hotel are incredibly friendly and will go out of their way to make you comfortable and provide you with all of the information you need to enjoy your stay in Athens. They helped make us with our journey back to the airport on our last day but suggesting we get a taxi with another couple who’s flights left shortly before ours, They arranged a taxi at a great price and gave us a bottle of wine to drink while we waited!

The breakfast is fantastic!! Large choice of Fruit, Meat, Bread, Juice, Cereal, Tea&Coffee.
Many thanks to all of the hotel staff.

The only thing I can suggest to the staff about the hotel is: We had a room on the 4th floor, I can't remember the room number now, It's the one in front of the lift. The shower head is not attached to the wall, It makes it quite tricky having a shower one handed.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frangipie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I was lucky to stay with my friend in this hotel thanks to some project in 2010.
Everything was great, clean and stylish. The room was spacious with internet connection.
We enjoyed the breakfasts served there as well as delicious fruit!
The stuff was kind and helpful.
Although the neighbourhood is not so pleasant or clean.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaskot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Nice hotel, I would recommend for couples but without children. Stylish hotel with paintings and sculptures everywhere, very nice furniture but in a not nice area of Athens. The personnel is very helpful and kind. Average breakfast..

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
1  Thank Jean-philippe C... C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We had the most wonderful stay at Art Hotel! We stayed a night before and a night after going to the Greek islands and the second night we stayed it felt like we were coming home! Staff were delightful and so helpful and the room was fantastic! Easy to get around! Really recommend it!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SFB_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Service personnel were great (extremely helpful and professional), the bed amazingly comfortable, and breakfast delicious, but...
(1) Overpriced for what is offered
(2) Internet is patchy at best and unsecure (no password/WPN security code required)
(3) The floor and counters of my bathroom, the tub, and telephone hadn't been well cleaned prior to my arrival (several pieces of hair, older grime, and other debris scattered around, not very appealing)
(4) The neighborhood was noisy and seedy (and the sidewalks smelled like urine... I even saw human poop one morning on my way to the subway station)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SueinGallup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Athens Lotus Hotel
#58 of 282 in Athens
917 reviews
Centrotel Hotel
#21 of 282 in Athens
1,202 reviews
Exarchia
Best Western Museum Hotel
Best Western Museum Hotel
#62 of 282 in Athens
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Exarchia
Areos Hotel
Areos Hotel
#23 of 282 in Athens
622 reviews
Katerina Hotel
#34 of 282 in Athens
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Hotel

Address: Marni 27, Athens 104 32, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#57 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £40 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Art Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Athens Art Hotel is 4-star new elegant boutique hotel, operating in a renovated neoclassical building of 1930, situated in the centre of Athens, within walking distance from the national archaeological museum and Omonoia square. The 30 guest rooms and suites are designed and furnished one by one, depending on the room shape, the traffic flow, the focal point and the lighting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing