We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay, attentive staff”
Review of Art Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Art Hotel
Ranked #125 of 326 Hotels in Athens
County Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay, attentive staff”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

My girlfriend and I only stayed here for one night but we found it a great hotel. The desk attendant was extremely helpful, offering us various tips on what to see in Athens and how best to get there. Also, we arrived late at night and were starving, and she very helpfully took an order for two glasses of wine to our room, and offered us menus for various takeaways in the vicinity. Breakfast the next day was also pretty good, with a wide variety of stuff on offer. The rooms themselves were also very nice. Nothing special, but very clean and a bit quirky (the place has been a hotel for over 100 years I believe, so it's a mix of the old and the new). All for 45 Euro a night? Excellent value all round.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NBrady32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    241
    153
    75
    44
See reviews for
140
390
52
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here one night prior to going on a cruise. I wouldn't call this a 4* hotel but rather a mediocre 3* city hotel. It is situated in a grotty part of town sandwiched between the red light and university district. The entrance has seen better days and the rooms although clean are on the basic side. The bathroom had a bath, but the shower head had no wall fitting so had to be held to wash with. It is located on a main road and the sound proofing is not very good , the incessant notice of traffic kept me awake half the night. On the plus side the staff were very friendly recommending a nice and reasonable local restaurant an the breakfast was good

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
1 review
Reviewed 1 October 2013

VERY PLEASANT STAFF, they help us a lot with informations about restaurans, traveling from the hotel to car rentals
GOOD LOCATION
SMALL ROOMS we did have place to move in the room
GOOD AND RICH BREAKFAST




Room Tip: Double room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

My wife and i stayed here to kick-off our Greece tour in mid-August. The hotel was wonderful, modern and clean, and the staff were very helpful, and really went above and beyond the extra mile to make our stay worthwhile.

The breakfast was fantastic (we didn't have it included initially, but they gave it to us anyway! :)), and the wi-fi in the rooms was a definite bonus. They really did their best, and it showed.

If somehow this hotel could be picked up and moved to another area of the city, I'd give it a full 5 stars. Unfortunately, the part of town that it's located in isn't the safest (particularly at night), and even 2 cab drivers did not want to drop us off right in front of the hotel as apparently violence against cabbies is common in Athens, and particularly around Omonia Square.

Having said that, we didn't have any problems with anybody when coming back to the hotel at night, but we did see our fair share of prostitutes and drug addicts, and there was a heavy police presence.

Overall, I'd go back to this hotel with my wife, but would be hesitant to stay with children.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tom_mah1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2013

just stayed one night as a transit stay and glad it was only one night. needs a really good renovation . Entrance area tired ...the purple couch in foyer was stained and dirty. Rooms were basic and really need an upgrade ..location not a nice area ( taxi drivers confirmed too ) ..had wifi free ..so that was good ...and it was also within 10 min walk to archaeological museum . Staff were helpful in providing info ..but would not stay again .

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helencha24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

It’s taken me a while however I stayed at the Art Hotel in May 2013 for 4 nights. The staff at this hotel are incredibly friendly and will go out of their way to make you comfortable and provide you with all of the information you need to enjoy your stay in Athens. They helped make us with our journey back to the airport on our last day but suggesting we get a taxi with another couple who’s flights left shortly before ours, They arranged a taxi at a great price and gave us a bottle of wine to drink while we waited!

The breakfast is fantastic!! Large choice of Fruit, Meat, Bread, Juice, Cereal, Tea&Coffee.
Many thanks to all of the hotel staff.

The only thing I can suggest to the staff about the hotel is: We had a room on the 4th floor, I can't remember the room number now, It's the one in front of the lift. The shower head is not attached to the wall, It makes it quite tricky having a shower one handed.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frangipie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toul, France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I was lucky to stay with my friend in this hotel thanks to some project in 2010.
Everything was great, clean and stylish. The room was spacious with internet connection.
We enjoyed the breakfasts served there as well as delicious fruit!
The stuff was kind and helpful.
Although the neighbourhood is not so pleasant or clean.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaskot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Athens Lotus Hotel
#55 of 326 in Athens
880 reviews
Centrotel Hotel
#24 of 326 in Athens
1,180 reviews
Exarchia
Areos Hotel
Areos Hotel
#26 of 326 in Athens
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Delphi Art Hotel
#89 of 326 in Athens
277 reviews
Omonia
Polis Grand Hotel
Polis Grand Hotel
#48 of 326 in Athens
889 reviews
Exarchia
Best Western Museum Hotel
Best Western Museum Hotel
#63 of 326 in Athens
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Hotel

Property: Art Hotel
Address: 27 Marni | Omonoia - Museum, Athens 104 32, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#69 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Art Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Athens Art Hotel is 4-star new elegant boutique hotel, operating in a renovated neoclassical building of 1930, situated in the centre of Athens, within walking distance from the national archaeological museum and Omonoia square. The 30 guest rooms and suites are designed and furnished one by one, depending on the room shape, the traffic flow, the focal point and the lighting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nozio Netplan srl, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing