We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and price in a dodgy neighborhood ”
Review of Art Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Art Hotel
Ranked #125 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“Good location and price in a dodgy neighborhood ”
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

Based on the hotel alone: excellent service, free breakfast, great location in terms of relative distance to sites, and friendly staff.The woman at the front desk Margaret was an angel that was really helpful when we told her our plans for the day. She pretty much helped us map out our trip. Also, the hotel wasn't far from the Omonia train station which we took to the Acropolis, cheaper than the cabs. The rooms were a little small but not cramped.

In terms of location, it was good because it was close to the train and the nearby archaeological museum. However, if you're not used to the city life you may be turned off by the surrounding area. It can be a little scary but do not let this scare you! Just have your whits about you and you'll be okay. For the price and service for this hotel it's really a steal.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    241
    153
    75
    44
See reviews for
140
390
52
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

My husband and I stayed for 6 nights at the end of Feb 2014. The hotel is proberly not a 4 star but the prices appear to reflect this. The rooms were wonderful, working TV,very clean and hot water whenever you wanted it. Fresh towels every day.
The staff really make this hotel. We met three different staff on reception (all of whom spoke some English) and each of them were extremety helpful whether it was to give us extra pillows, give advise on how to get to the the attractions/shopping or just to wish us a good night. The staff in the dining area were also very attentive.
The breakfast was more than I expected from an hotel in Europe with both a hot and buffet choice with different breads.
As to the location, we found it really easy to get to the main tourist places with a museum within walking distance.
I would certainly recommend going to this hotel. Great value for money.
Great cafe on the corner outside the hotel. Again very nice staff.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaarLouis, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Here is more like a museum or an art gallery, but they've forgotten to be a hotel. The rooms were somehow nice in design but not really clean and pleasant. You don't like to go back there. For breakfast there are so many nice utensil but really nothing to eat!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shadbanoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Took the metro from the airport - take the blue line going to Aghia Marina and get off at Monastiraki station (16 stops from Airport station) then change to green line to Kifissia and get off at Omonia station(1 stop only). Get out from the station and look for Hondos Center. If you are in front of the center go to September Street/Ave on the right side of the center and walk down the street. You will find a bicycle shop (you will not miss this even if its evening as it is well lit), turn left, walk down the street and turn left again then you will find the hotel at the corner...just on the corner...so keep your eyes on the left. I see people complaining about the decor and arrangements but please, this is not a museum. This is a hotel!!!! The staff are great and so helpful specifically Michael, the lady with glasses (whom I entrusted my passport) in the morning shift and Rosa, the all-around lady!!! the rooms are basic and clean...the breakfast is alright, the location is good. The most important for me is the people working there on how they make your stay as comfortable as possible. I recommend this hotel and will definitely come back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mikkolazaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

The first thing I have to say is that our experience at this hotel was really good. But in the same time I have to point out that it was an experience of a guest of a 3 star hotel. As far as this place might be pleasant and even special in a way, it certainly does not deserve 4 stars. In our case that's nothing to complain about though because the price-value proportion was good.

Certainly, what is not satisfactory is the neighbourhood. If it wasn't for the fact that I came with my boyfriend, I would find it simply terrifying to come back to the hotel even in the evening hours, not mention night. 25 min walk from Acropolis makes it also not especially close to the main attraction. It's been a 10 min walk from the Archeological Museum which is ok.

The first impression was good - the hotel looks nice from the outside and the lobby is also not bad. The service we were given is also nothing to complain about - everybody was extremely nice and helpful. Their tips were amazing and helped us organize our trip better.

Now, the way the hotel is arranged is a little bit weird. It's really dark and heavy, with a mixture of some copies of classical paintings with modern art and "cheaper" art. Altogether it creates a little bit of a mess for somebody who cares about the esthetic values ;). The whole place really lacks light and the heavy furniture contributes to its gloomy atmosphere. It really doesn't look as impressive as on the pictures from their website ^^.

The room we got was really small and not impressive. Few simple pieces of furniture, darkness even in the middle of the day. One small window, a little bit dreadful - a meter from it was starting another building, currenly in renovation. Really weird. The design of the bathroom wasn't bad though, we liked it. However, something was wrong with the sink, the tap wasn't long enough which made even washing our hands hard :D.

The room was decent and was being cleaned everyday but it seems pretty obvious that it was so.

The breakfast wasn't amazing, it was simply alright. One kind of cheapest cheese, one kind of ham, eggs, white cheese, the most simple vegetables and fruits, cornflakes, one kind of bread - that's it. The cake and the little croissants were so old that were completely uneatable.

So to sum up... That's not what one would expect from a 4 star hotel. Still, everything we got would be perfectly fine and would deserve a 5 star review if it was a 3 star hotel. In general, we're happy and having nothing to complain about. It was just less than we exptected.

So if you see that you can book a room over there for a price of a 3 star hotel, don't hesitate, it's a good choice. Have a cool time in Athens!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank polaniya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Miniato, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Nice hotel, nice people but i found it difficult to identify the hotel entrance because the sign on the street is not very evident. The price/quality ratio is not that convenient but, at the end of the day, fair

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benedetto A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

On entering the hotel, we were surprised by a shabby-looking sofa and clapped-out grand piano, which weren't in keeping with the rest of the surroundings. A lot of effort had been made with art deco furniture and modern art pieces, so the sofa and piano looked incongruous. However, we were welcomed and made to feel at home and our room was large and comfortable. The overall feeling was of a hotel relying on its former glory. The staff were very friendly and helpful and even told us what to look out for at the Archaeological Museum. We would stay again, if we go back to Athens.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nitalondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Athens Lotus Hotel
#55 of 326 in Athens
880 reviews
Centrotel Hotel
#24 of 326 in Athens
1,180 reviews
Exarchia
Areos Hotel
Areos Hotel
#26 of 326 in Athens
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Delphi Art Hotel
#89 of 326 in Athens
277 reviews
Omonia
Polis Grand Hotel
Polis Grand Hotel
#48 of 326 in Athens
888 reviews
Exarchia
Best Western Museum Hotel
Best Western Museum Hotel
#63 of 326 in Athens
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Hotel

Property: Art Hotel
Address: 27 Marni | Omonoia - Museum, Athens 104 32, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#69 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Art Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Athens Art Hotel is 4-star new elegant boutique hotel, operating in a renovated neoclassical building of 1930, situated in the centre of Athens, within walking distance from the national archaeological museum and Omonoia square. The 30 guest rooms and suites are designed and furnished one by one, depending on the room shape, the traffic flow, the focal point and the lighting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Odigeo, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing