We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 Star at Best”
Review of Art Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Art Hotel
Ranked #131 of 325 Hotels in Athens
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“2 Star at Best”
Reviewed 29 June 2009

Ok before I begin i must say that I have always used the reviews offered by tripadvisor when researching hotels prior to a vacation. I booked this hotel because of these reviews. I was EXTREMELY disappointed. I have stayed in hostels while backpacking through Europe which were probably at par with this hotel. I do think that this is a very nice 2 star hotel. NOT the 4 stars as advertised.
First, the room we had seemed very tired, cramped and gloomy. Just about everything felt like it will fall off or brake. The drawer doors were falling off. The bed was OK, and the sheets were changed every day, but although they were clean (washed) they were stained. Stains on the sheets, clean or not is NOT something I expect to see or have ever seen in any 4 star hotel.
Second, the bathroom door was a glass door. I guess they thought it would be "chic" and artsy but it was just annoying in a room so small. The door was matted glass but still see through and swung both ways without any locks or door frame. SO since the door didn't lock in to place, you can see, hear and you can imagine smell the bathroom. The shower curtain was dirty and had mildew on it. The shower it self had decent water pressure, but it took some time to actually keep the shower from going all over the place. We could NOT through toilet paper in the toilet as it didn't flush down. I had to use the shower to pour water in the toilet to flush it appropriately. The AC barely worked and it took a few HOURS to get cooler. I set the thermostat at 19 degrees (Celsius) but at no point of our stay did it reach this temperature or close to it. Oh and our phone didn't work for 4 days, although I did advise the staff and was told they'll have it fixed right away.
As for the rest of the hotel...yes it is fairly clean. The breakfast was nice. Coffee, tea, fresh juice, eggs, cold cuts, etc...
I asked about the roof deck as advertised on their site and was told that this is not available and not allowed by the city. The bathroom in the lobby was out of order for the entire time we were there.
The area...this is obviously not the hotels fault, BUT this is something i consider when booking a hotel. Yes it is a few blocks away from a pretty main square - Omonia square. It's one of the main train hubs of the entire city and all (3 lines) stop there. However the walk from the hotel to the square is very unpleasant. Their are prostitutes right around the hotel and lots of shady seedy people walking around. Our taxi driver, on the way from the airport, warned us to be very careful there and try not to walk around there to much at night. Our first night there we understood what he meant and took a taxi back to the hotel every time afterward. Don't let the proximity of this hotel to city center fool you. This is a pretty small city (in comparison to large European cities) and distances are small. So pretty much anywhere in central Athens would be considered "close".
Bottom line, for a 2 star hotel budget hotel, what Art hotel offers is decent. I must say the staff is very nice and friendly and helpful. But this is in no way a 4 star hotel and one of the worsted hotels I've ever stayed in.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank feldmm03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D35Athens, Manager at Art Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2009
NOWHERE in any website is writen that Art Hotel Athens has a roof terrace. Nowhere is advertised that we have a roof top simply because we never had since the opening of this hotel . Therefore as we explained to you in person this was a misunderstanding from your side - we even asked you to find where you saw this advertisment writen and you were very upset to do that. I was thinking about it after you left and the only thing I could think of is that probably you read some reviews writing about the big terrace of one of our suites on the top floor- but this is the private terrace of the suite.
After that huge dissapointment we read now for the first time that everything was barely wrong or working inside your room, the area, the hotel itself. Well why you didn't ask us when you were staying here to change your room since nothing was working as you claim and make your stay more enjoyable? You stayed in the same room for the whole stay did not make any complains during the stay or upon departure when we always ask our guests if they had a nice time or smg went wrong , therefore I assume that the huge problem from the beginning was the rooftop that you thought existed. I really feel very sorry about your experience. Regarding the area, I don't agree that Athens is so small city that doesn't matter where you stay, and Omonoia square (the square and metro next to the hotel) is one of the 2 biggest squares of the city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    316
    234
    150
    74
    42
See reviews for
136
385
52
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2009

We arrived at this hotel late at night, requiring a change (addition) to our booking. The staff not only accomodated us quickly and efficiently, but were helpful and calming. Over the period of our stay they provided advice and information that really enhanced our visit to Athens. They also did our laundry at no charge! The hotel is clean and comfortable - an absolute MUST for me! - the dining room is very nice, and they live up to their name: the art on the walls is fascinating and endless. I highly recommend the place!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rhody77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2009

We stayed at the Art Hotel for 2 nights in May and then 2 nights in June. It lived up to its reputation. Excellent room - at the back by our request for a quiet life. Free tea and coffee available all day and a computer for guests to use.
Excellent modern design and spotless. Staff could not have been more helpful. Breakfast included and lavish.
Not in the best area of Athens but we felt perfectly safe,even arriving at midnight - not offended by the odd working girl on the street corners.
Will certainly return here on next trip to Athens.
M&D.Adams UK

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarlenaDixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2009

We used the Art Hotel as a starting point for our honeymoon of the islands. It is quite comfortable and the staff are very willing to help you get to where you need to be. They also like suggesting what to do in the area. It is a little far from most of the touristy stuff but its close enough to the subway that it doesnt matter. The breakfast was good too. Within walking distance are some great outdoor patios and restaurants. We also got to use the internet for free.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JFCfromYYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level Contributor
132 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2009

We stayed in this hotel for two nights. Demis, the receptionist, (think he was the only person on duty at the time) was extremely helpful and gave us all sorts of advice and information on check in. We were upgraded to the room with the jacuzzi bath (which as far as we could tell was not working). The room is quite big and on the corner with a large balcony which Demis was totally enthusiastic about - it was large but the views weren't great so you wouldn't want to stay out there too long unless you wanted to sunbathe, and the furniture out there was rather sad. The furniture in the room is very good and the bed comfortable. It would have been good if there had been a second easy chair. The staff are extremely helpful and pleasant. The breakfast was good - plenty of variety and all kept very clean. There is tea and coffee available all the time in the dining room. The area isn't great, plenty of prostitutes in evidence on 3 septiembrou street, but we didn't feel threatened - just keep your wits about you. Omonia Square is about 5 minutes walk away - if you are coming from the metro at Omonia Square, walk up 3 septiembrou street 6 blocks to Stournai, turn left, then left again when it meets Marnis street and the hotel is just on the corner there. Having planned our route from the airport by metro, we discovered the metro line has not been working since February but the information desk at the airport told us to take the X95 Syntagma Express (about an hour!) to Syntagma Square (costs €3.20) then the metro to Omonia. The hop on, hop off bus is also about 5 minutes walk from the hotel, beside the archaelogical museum and costs $5. The ticket can be used on all transport for 24 hours. We were allowed to keep our room till 1.30 p.m. on the day we were leaving which meant we could have a quick shower before leaving for the airport.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShropshireJessica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, TX
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2009

The staff made our stay very enjoyable. They were very friendly and helpful. Rooms were okay with plenty of space. Morning breakfast was nice.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SCRTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2009

We enjoyed staying here before and after visiting a number of Greek islands, including Santorini. The hotel was very helpful both by email and in person, breakfasts were plentiful and the room comfortable.
The staff were so helpful about where we could visit, local attractions and cost of taxis to and from the airport.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenCSalisbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Athens Lotus Hotel
#51 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Centrotel Hotel
#26 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
Exarchia
Best Western Museum Hotel
Best Western Museum Hotel
#56 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Exarchia
Areos Hotel
Areos Hotel
#20 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
Attalos Hotel
Attalos Hotel
#35 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,789 reviews
Omonia
Polis Grand Hotel
Polis Grand Hotel
#41 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Hotel

Property: Art Hotel
Address: 27 Marni | Omonoia - Museum, Athens 104 32, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#68 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Art Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Athens Art Hotel is 4-star new elegant boutique hotel, operating in a renovated neoclassical building of 1930, situated in the centre of Athens, within walking distance from the national archaeological museum and Omonoia square. The 30 guest rooms and suites are designed and furnished one by one, depending on the room shape, the traffic flow, the focal point and the lighting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Odigeo, Bookgreece.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing