We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money”
Review of Arion Athens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Arion Athens Hotel
Ranked #31 of 281 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Everything the other reviewers said already :) It's a pretty quiet hotel in the midst of a pretty engaging neighborhood. I really liked that. Nothing to comment on the rooms and bathrooms, everything was very clean and in good condition, especially the bathrooms.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChanHoiHoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (667)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

229 - 235 of 668 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2013

Nice Hotel in a great location to tour Athens. Just few blocks from the Monastiraki Metro stop. An 8 Euro Metro ticket from the airport gets you there! At first pass the area seems a little sketchy.. with the graffiti and closed business (we arrived on a Sunday Afternoon, when many of the businesses were closed). But once we found the front door we were pleasantly surprised.. a quant little gem in a great location.
The Ancient sights are close enough to walk to, or you can use the Metro, which is pretty easy to navigate. We walked mostly. The nearby Psyrri area has lots of cafes, bars and restaurants to choose from. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful.. giving us directions and a walking map.
Nice breakfast in bright spacious dining room. The staff spoke excellent English.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Webbfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We had a wunderful stay in Arion Hotel Athens. It is very close to Monastiraki station, where the metro brings you right to the port and airport. The nice area of Plaka and most of the sights are very close to the hotel. Right next to Arion hotel are some nice bars and restaurants. The hotel's surroundings didn't seem dangerous at night.The staff was friendly and the room's atmosphere very comfortable. The hotel's roof terrace has an amazing view on the Acropolis, which is beautiful especially at night. Very recommendable!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nina Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Nice hotel with a perfect location to visit Atheens.
Very close to the famous Monastiraki Square where you can find lots of shops, restaurants and the flea market and last but not the least: a Metro Station that takes you straight away to the airport.
The hotel has got a roof terrace with wonderful view to the Acropolis.
Also nice breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnaSeguro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We were happy with the hotel itself, though the location was a little sketchy at night. The area isn't dangerous, just full of graffiti and trash. However, only a block down the street started an area with many small, nice, friendly, and delicious restaurants that were reasonably priced. And it is very close to the Monisteraki metro station and many of the tourist sites. The hotel reception staff members were all very helpful, polite, and spoke excellent English. Our room was clean and comfortable, and the air conditioning worked very well despite the July Athens heat! Breakfast was good - hot and cold foods with a lot of variety - and the eating area was attractive. The wireless in our room worked very well almost all the time, but once I had to go down to the public areas for a little while. The very best feature of this hotel is the small rooftop terrace with an amazing view of the Acropolis. We brought some beverages up and sat at a table on the terrace after sunset -- it was wonderful!

Room Tip: We read on TripAdvisor to request a room with a view of the Acropolis, but there wasn't one avai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teacher_from_Iowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This is a wonderful, centrally located hotel in Athens. The neighborhood is bustling with activity... lots of shops, restaurants, and bars. It is a really quick walk to pretty much all the major attractions in Athens (or at least everything we planned to see). The staff was helpful in providing directions and any information we needed. The rooms were comfortable, and we even had a great view out our window. A great value.
Not much else to say other than this place is great!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

I recently got back from a short stay in Athens , a place where I actually stayed for several months so there were lots of intense memories on the line. Eight years is quite alot .I chose this hotel mainly because of it's roof top and location.The price was also an issue.
Placed pretty close to the Monastiraki Metro station , it is quite easy to visit almost everything (except for Lykavittos hill or the olympic village). If you don't mind the tones of graffitis and slight garbage during the night time, the hotel is well possitioned.Although the streets and narrow, pitoresque and crowded at night , they are safe and well lit.There were lot's of traditional places to eat mearby so it made it more pleasant and , why not, eat some yougurt ice cream on your way back.
The room was nice , clean, with a nice bathroom.. parquet on the floor .It was on the 7th floor so we had the privilege to use the roof terrace whenever we wanted.The view was breathtaking and the tables and chairs provided were perfect for sunbathing during the day and drinking retsina during the night.
The staff was always polite and helpfull.
I totally recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose the 7th floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miruna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#23 of 281 in Athens
1,382 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
Attalos Hotel
Attalos Hotel
#29 of 281 in Athens
1,912 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 281 in Athens
1,794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
Acropolis Hill Hotel
Acropolis Hill Hotel
#25 of 281 in Athens
743 reviews
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#10 of 281 in Athens
3,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arion Athens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arion Athens Hotel

Address: 18 Agiou Dimitriou (Psirri) | Plaka/ Monastiraki, Athens 105 54, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Psirri / Gazi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £52 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Arion Athens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arion Athens Hotel is a modern, city centre hotel, a 2-minute walk from Monastiraki Metro Station, with direct access to the airport and the port of Piraeus. The hotel’s extremely convenient location provides easy access to the Monastiraki Flea Market, Plaka, Thiseion, the Acropolis and the New Acropolis Museum as well as Syntagma Square, the Parliament, museums and many more. Many restaurants, tavernas and bars can be found within small walking distance. Arion Athens Hotel features bright, stylish rooms and a rooftop garden with stunning Acropolis view. Free wireless Internet available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arion Athens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arion Hotel Athens
Athens Arion Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing