We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not trying to be something it's not”
Review of Arion Athens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arion Athens Hotel
Ranked #32 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 October 2013

This is a fabulous mid range option, and mid range it does very well. The rooms are spotless and spacious. The bathroom was immaculate. the wi-fi works and the reception staff are incredibly friendly and welcoming.

the breakfast was a fairly simple, but pleasant affair; coffee, good selection of teas, juice, eggs, cheese, meat and croissant and bread plus lots of fruits jams honeys and greek yoghurt.

the area was very nice, the back streets, towards the metro, were packed full of restaurants and bars - the metro is 2 minute walk from the hotel - don't bother with a cab!!

My only critique - the beds were a little hard, but this was more than made up for by the view (out of the corner of the window!!) of the acropolis. The roof terrace, at night, was stunning, the view is unrivalled! whilst there is no bar or lighting a romantic glass of wine (bring your own glasses) would make it very special.

Room Tip: left side of the building seem to have acropolis views
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank matty-os
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (662)
There are newer reviews for Arion Athens Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 662 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2013

As we had done our research and noted other reviewers' experiences we were not daunted by the copious grafitti surrounding the Arion Hotel. We arrived late at night and the hotel actually seemed to shine out as an oasis in the midst of it. I had pre-requested an Acropolis view and we were not disappointed - such an amazing sight as we drew the curtains to our fifth floor room.

We were more than happy with the location - a short walk from Monastiraki Metro Station, from which you can get to and from the airport as well as to the port of Piraeus, and within walking distance of many of the main sights of Athens including the wonderful new Acropolis museum. The hotel also has a nifty luggage storage area in its basement which we utilised between transits.

We found the reception staff friendly and very helpful and the hotel to be clean and tidy. There were a couple of light bulbs gone in the bathroom but because we were on such a hectic schedule we didn't report them. It certainly didn't bother us unduly as we knew it could be rectified on request.

The breakfast provided was much more than the basic continental choice with scrambled eggs, cheese, ham etc and help yourself tea and coffee. Absolutely fine to fuel us for the hard business of sightseeing each day.

The hotel had been recommended to us by our agent and we were very happy with his choice. We would certainly recommend it to others seeking a central Athens hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Acropolis - they tend to be higher up the hotel. Our A/C unit blo...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WelltravelledNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Very good location. Very nice stuff. Medium breakfast.
Difficult to park your car, but possible.
Spacious room.
Good and fast wifi.
Bathroom ok.
?
Climb to 7th foor to see the roof top view of the Acropoli.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maciej H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

looking at the Parthenon while watching the lights come up at sunset was enjoyable and then the area beneath came alive with wonderful cafes at night! Turns out that Spiro's streets and squares near Monastiraki are 'the place for young Athenians to eat' with a variety of restaurants to choose from, friendly but not pushy waiters and a great atmosphere. We preferred it to the Plaka district but had a shock on arrival at 6pm on a Saturday night as graffiti covered the lower floors of nearly every building on our walking route to the hotel. It didn't seem safe but it was a different world inside the minimalist hotel itself with Hilton-type decor, 2 lifts, quiet air-con, super bathrooms etc. And Monday morning revealed shop after shop specialising in restaurant/hotel hardware/kitchen/dining supplies, all spilling out onto every inch of pavement space, fascinating to browse through especially with the briliantly displayed nearby meat and fish markets.
The breakfast buffet was generous and suited some friends well but we had enjoyed our island Greek breakfasts more. Families could easily fuel themselves here and eat nearby at night to suit their budget. We never paid more than 4.50 Euros for 1/2 litre of local wine or 4 e for a bottle of Greek beer so that suited us and Greek dishes were substantial without being expensive unless choosing specialities.
The self-service luggage room was handy on our late-departure day and it only took minutes to rattle our cases here from Monastiraki. The special airport tube gives passport holder seniors half price (if you ask) and operates half-hourly. Taxis would be a nightmare through those crowded streets and the tube is fine as the airport is a terminus with easy loading/unloading and lift access to departures/arrivals.
This hotel was light years better than one main-street Plaka location we suffered years earlier.

Room Tip: Ask to face the church on the square and you might just see the Acropolis.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivien U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Arion Hotel is perfectly located in the center of Athens, Monastiraki is within walking distance and the metro station at 2 min.
It was noisy (elevator, neighbor and area) but the room was clean and modern.
Go to the roof top terrace: it's great !

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lnoliv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

Standard hotel for this star rating. However the location makes it up for the downsides, which are cleanliness to be improved and decor. The surrounding area can be daunting, especially when arriving at night, but guess what... The whole city looks like you're in Grad theft auto. The proximity of the metro and the roof top terrace with outstanding views of the acropolis were really great!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guestnapoleon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

I have stayed at this hotel on a number of occasions. I have a quite varied opinion from each visit. The first time is stayed i was upgraded to an acropolis view room. Amazing View with a super balcony. Room was very shabby and really needed to be refurbished.
Next time a regular room, no view but it was nice and had recently been refurbished.
The last time i stayed i booked an Acropolis view room. I didn't get a view or a balcony, and the elevator had a problem which meant i had to use the stairs for the last floor. The room was a little shabby again. I was also charged the price of the Acropolis view room even though that was not the room they gave me.
The general cleanliness of the hotel isn't up to scratch, i don't like stained bed covers or to find hairs in the bathroom.
Overall the staff are friendly and helpful. The hotel has a great location.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#23 of 282 in Athens
1,359 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
Attalos Hotel
Attalos Hotel
#29 of 282 in Athens
1,892 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Acropolis Hill Hotel
Acropolis Hill Hotel
#24 of 282 in Athens
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#27 of 282 in Athens
1,765 reviews
Acropolis Select Hotel
#52 of 282 in Athens
766 reviews
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arion Athens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arion Athens Hotel

Address: 18 Agiou Dimitriou (Psirri) | Plaka/ Monastiraki, Athens 105 54, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Psirri / Gazi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £49 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Arion Athens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arion Athens Hotel is a modern, city centre hotel, a 2-minute walk from Monastiraki Metro Station, with direct access to the airport and the port of Piraeus. The hotel’s extremely convenient location provides easy access to the Monastiraki Flea Market, Plaka, Thiseion, the Acropolis and the New Acropolis Museum as well as Syntagma Square, the Parliament, museums and many more. Many restaurants, tavernas and bars can be found within small walking distance. Arion Athens Hotel features bright, stylish rooms and a rooftop garden with stunning Acropolis view. Free wireless Internet available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arion Athens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arion Hotel Athens
Athens Arion Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing