We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”
Review of Arion Athens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Arion Athens Hotel
Ranked #30 of 281 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 November 2013

This hotel was in a good location. 15 min walk to main attractions and restaurants. The breakfast included wasn't anything fancy but was better than nothing! Staff were helpful and rooms were clean and simple. The roof top garden had a good view. We had a room at eh front of the hotel and the church bells ring right across the road at 7am! Other than that a nice hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank t027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (668)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 668 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

Just returned from four nights at the Arion and was really pleased with our choice.

It's in a good, central location, not far from Monastiraki train station and one of the starting routes into the city and main sites.

As other reviews have stated, the hotel is situated in what appears to be a run down area. Don't be put off by the graffiti on the nearby walls, it adds to the charm of the area - you're staying in real Athens.

We were fortunate as we we're given a great view of the Acropolis from our room but you can easily go the roof terrace and enjoy the view if you're not as lucky.

Breakfast is adequate - continental style and finishes past 10am so you don't have to rush. The noon check out time is a bonus.

Downsides - our room got awfully warm when the air con wasn't on, the towels had an occasional cigarette smell ( according to my wife) and the bells from a nearby church ring loudly early in the morning...

However, this just added to our great stay and adds to the charm of the hotel; as soon as you gaze up and look at the Acropolis, especially when it is bathed in light during night time, all the niggles are forgotten about, and you just focus on the as breathtaking sight in front of you.

Recommended.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank sifeldman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night to your Athens after returning from the Cyclades. The room was nice and clean, the location was great, and the staff was great. They helped us plan our day and arrange a taxi to the airport. Our room had two twin beds pushed together - I'm not sure if that's the usual layout, but I would have preferred a double bed! Other than that, it was just fine for what we needed.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank ginnyh4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

The Arion Athens Hotel is within easy reach of all the places most people would like to visit. It has a fantastic view of the Acropolis from the roof terrace.
The majority of the bars and tavernas close to the hotel seem to be popular with young people, although the hotel is far enough away not to be to disturbed by the any noise from the bars or the traffic.
The hotel staff are very pleasant and helpful.
Good value for the money we paid and we were impressed with Athens as a whole.

Room Tip: Ask for Acropolis view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ladyfid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

This is a fabulous mid range option, and mid range it does very well. The rooms are spotless and spacious. The bathroom was immaculate. the wi-fi works and the reception staff are incredibly friendly and welcoming.

the breakfast was a fairly simple, but pleasant affair; coffee, good selection of teas, juice, eggs, cheese, meat and croissant and bread plus lots of fruits jams honeys and greek yoghurt.

the area was very nice, the back streets, towards the metro, were packed full of restaurants and bars - the metro is 2 minute walk from the hotel - don't bother with a cab!!

My only critique - the beds were a little hard, but this was more than made up for by the view (out of the corner of the window!!) of the acropolis. The roof terrace, at night, was stunning, the view is unrivalled! whilst there is no bar or lighting a romantic glass of wine (bring your own glasses) would make it very special.

Room Tip: left side of the building seem to have acropolis views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank matty-os
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

As we had done our research and noted other reviewers' experiences we were not daunted by the copious grafitti surrounding the Arion Hotel. We arrived late at night and the hotel actually seemed to shine out as an oasis in the midst of it. I had pre-requested an Acropolis view and we were not disappointed - such an amazing sight as we drew the curtains to our fifth floor room.

We were more than happy with the location - a short walk from Monastiraki Metro Station, from which you can get to and from the airport as well as to the port of Piraeus, and within walking distance of many of the main sights of Athens including the wonderful new Acropolis museum. The hotel also has a nifty luggage storage area in its basement which we utilised between transits.

We found the reception staff friendly and very helpful and the hotel to be clean and tidy. There were a couple of light bulbs gone in the bathroom but because we were on such a hectic schedule we didn't report them. It certainly didn't bother us unduly as we knew it could be rectified on request.

The breakfast provided was much more than the basic continental choice with scrambled eggs, cheese, ham etc and help yourself tea and coffee. Absolutely fine to fuel us for the hard business of sightseeing each day.

The hotel had been recommended to us by our agent and we were very happy with his choice. We would certainly recommend it to others seeking a central Athens hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Acropolis - they tend to be higher up the hotel. Our A/C unit blo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WelltravelledNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Very good location. Very nice stuff. Medium breakfast.
Difficult to park your car, but possible.
Spacious room.
Good and fast wifi.
Bathroom ok.
?
Climb to 7th foor to see the roof top view of the Acropoli.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maciej H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#23 of 281 in Athens
1,384 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
Attalos Hotel
Attalos Hotel
#28 of 281 in Athens
1,915 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#31 of 281 in Athens
1,801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
Acropolis Hill Hotel
Acropolis Hill Hotel
#25 of 281 in Athens
743 reviews
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#10 of 281 in Athens
3,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arion Athens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arion Athens Hotel

Address: 18 Agiou Dimitriou (Psirri) | Plaka/ Monastiraki, Athens 105 54, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Psirri / Gazi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £49 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Arion Athens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arion Athens Hotel is a modern, city centre hotel, a 2-minute walk from Monastiraki Metro Station, with direct access to the airport and the port of Piraeus. The hotel’s extremely convenient location provides easy access to the Monastiraki Flea Market, Plaka, Thiseion, the Acropolis and the New Acropolis Museum as well as Syntagma Square, the Parliament, museums and many more. Many restaurants, tavernas and bars can be found within small walking distance. Arion Athens Hotel features bright, stylish rooms and a rooftop garden with stunning Acropolis view. Free wireless Internet available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arion Athens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arion Hotel Athens
Athens Arion Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing