We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, comfortable room”
Review of Arion Athens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Arion Athens Hotel
Ranked #30 of 281 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Hotel is tucked away in an alley so we had difficulty finding it on Day 1. However, once you find it, it is very convenient to get to the shopping area such as Plaka, Monastiraki and to the Acropolis museum. There are plenty of small pubs and restaurant within 2 mins walk away. There is a bathtub in the room & we had a room facing the street. There is a rooftop garden which has a beautiful night view of Parthenon. Minus point is the guy at the reception is not very fluent in English & shows a nonchalant attitude.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xinni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (668)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 668 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

It's only 500m from Monastiraki!
Free wifi even in the room! They upgraded the wifi! Check in out time 12:00 not 14:00. Clean and friendly staff. Very good few 7th floor! Take your camera and make TimeLapse! Even wifi there
Don't scare by those graffiti. There are pubs nearby and lots of ppl there so it's safe.
I'm from holland. It's scarier in Holland Amsterdam at night than here.
But no supermarket nearby. Or I can't find it.
Wifi is kidda unstable cuz Internet TV I think.

Thank Lucille T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Modern, clean and spacious rooms and a nice breakfast.

However, our view was horrible, it looked out onto the roof of the neighbouring building and across to a few other buildings which looked very dilapidated and run down - probably the worst view I've had, but it was no problem because we just shut the curtain.

I'd definitely stay here again, but if your view out the window matters to you I'd just ask to stay in a room that faces out towards the front or the other side (I can't remember which side I stayed on, unfortunately, but maybe just ask about what way your room will face).

The staff were friendly and the location was great, a good budget hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Genevieve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed 5 days there. When we arrived the first receptionist was listless ... The room was small and just stuffy-- smothering. For ventilation, we had to open a little window. Our room has no view :/ we had to stay out in a terrace...the view there was amazing!!!! Especially during night we could see the acropolis and it was sooo beautiful <3

Contrariwise the food was nice :) and the other staff there were very friendly and helpful!!! Concerning the location is very convenient!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maera P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel has been great. Very central. Clean and spacious rooms. Excellent view from the roof top garden but the Handle Bar nightclub has drum & base so loud less than 50 metres across the intersection from hotel that even my ear plugs can't block it out. Staff are super friendly and helpful. Just ask for a room at the back of the hotel.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Rjleey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Summary:
-Budget friendly (Got 2 rooms. 1 double & 1 triple)
-Very clean. Rooms were simple, tidy and the huge windows made our room so bright & happy
-Staff were helpful when we arrived.
-Location was very good. Near the main area yet peaceful.
-Breakfast was alright but theres a great family restaurant at the corner on the right when leaving the hotel.

Stayed here with my family during the last week of May. Found the hotel on tripadvisor as I was searching for a high rated, nice, clean, budget friendly place near plaka. The area where the hotel was located seemed sketchy at first coz it looked similar to the market places where I come from but it was actually pretty safe and comfortable. The staff even helped us bring our luggage when we were dropped off at the corner.

When we got in the hotel we were surprised to see that it looked better than what we expected. The rooms were beautiful and very clean! The entire hotel was simple yet pleasing to the eye. The location was great too! We were very close to Monastiriki square and all the fun shops and just around the corner of the hotel was a quaint family restaurant that served delicious Greek food! Would definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HDCebu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This unassuming small hotel is a surprise to us when we were looking around Monastraki area. Most of the similar hotels like Attalos with decent triple rooms were filled up. The lobby was hidden away but once you enter the lobby there is a homely feel to it. Lifts could fit 2luggages with 3 people easily. Room is modern and clean. Bathroom is big so ita a bonus for me after some other hotel stay experiences around athens. Had a good acropolis view from the room! It is located on a quiet part of the street but just a street down to the happening square.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bcmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#23 of 281 in Athens
1,384 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
Attalos Hotel
Attalos Hotel
#28 of 281 in Athens
1,915 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#31 of 281 in Athens
1,801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
Acropolis Hill Hotel
Acropolis Hill Hotel
#25 of 281 in Athens
743 reviews
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#10 of 281 in Athens
3,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arion Athens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arion Athens Hotel

Address: 18 Agiou Dimitriou (Psirri) | Plaka/ Monastiraki, Athens 105 54, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Psirri / Gazi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £49 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Arion Athens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arion Athens Hotel is a modern, city centre hotel, a 2-minute walk from Monastiraki Metro Station, with direct access to the airport and the port of Piraeus. The hotel’s extremely convenient location provides easy access to the Monastiraki Flea Market, Plaka, Thiseion, the Acropolis and the New Acropolis Museum as well as Syntagma Square, the Parliament, museums and many more. Many restaurants, tavernas and bars can be found within small walking distance. Arion Athens Hotel features bright, stylish rooms and a rooftop garden with stunning Acropolis view. Free wireless Internet available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arion Athens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arion Hotel Athens
Athens Arion Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing