We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality and great location”
Review of Arion Athens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Arion Athens Hotel
Ranked #30 of 281 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2014

It is located near Psiri, and is functional to go around Athens from Monastiraki to the Acropolis by foot. The price/benefit is quite good. The rooms are small, clean and basic, seems that was renovated recently. The view from the rooftop is spectacular and the hotel allows bringing your drinks and food to enjoy it. If you like the Ibis style, you will appreciate it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Juju_mx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (668)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 668 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

I only stayed for a very short while, on a layover in Athens, but I liked it so much that I really wished I had stayed longer. My flight to Athens was unfortunately delayed so I got even less time at the hotel than planned, but reception is open throughout the night and checking in and out was no problem at all.

The hotel is centrally located, very easy to reach from Syntagma square if you just follow the streets to Monastiraki, it took me less than 10 minutes to get there on foot. It's true that the houses around it are very run down and the walls covered in graffiti, you'd think it's dangerous, but I walked by myself at both 2 and 5 in the morning and felt perfectly safe, because it's so close to areas where there are restaurants and crowds.

It's got modern decor, it's very clean and comfortable. My bed was actually quite hard, which to be honest I prefer because it's much better for the back. The shower was great, hot water with great pressure and towels and toiletries provided. The view from my room was not particularly inspiring, but on a budget and on the first floor in the neighborhood it's bound to happen that you get the shaft, besides you're not there to spend time in the room. It was also very quiet, I didn't hear anyone else or any noise coming from the other rooms.

Internet worked perfectly, there was a TV in the room and air conditioning.
I didn't have the time to eat breakfast or check the view from the rooftop terrace, it's closed at night, but judging from the location, I do believe it's great.

I did the mistake of booking this for a layover, it doesn't really work if your layover is just 8 hours, because getting into Athens from the airport will take you about one hour. You will spend more time on the road than at the hotel. But for a longer stay in Athens I could definitely recommend this and I'm looking forward to going back, I was very pleasantly surprised by it and the lively area of Monastiraki.

Room Tip: If you're looking for a nice view, get rooms on the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cristinablendea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

This is a simple hotel with spacious, clean rooms. Checking in and out was efficient and wi-fi is available throughout. Breakfast was self-service with sufficient variety. I rarely stay in the centre of Athens, but I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I stayed in this place last year, I had a 1 night stay in July 2013. The rooms are spacious overlooking town. Mine was on the 4th floor. Rooms are soundproof, bathroom is very beautiful, modern, has glass doors. Location is not perfect, but it's easy to find if you have a map. Not more than 5 minutes to metro. For the price they charge it's very very good! Would recommend!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stavros P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Pros: clean room, friendly staff, great view of the Parthenon, good value for money, good location (in a way)--close to narrow streets with restaurants and nightlife
Cons: terrible/uncomfortable beds, bad, leaky shower with useless curtain, bad location (in a way)--nearly impossible to find and kind of dicey at night.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a view of the Parthenon--it's beautiful during the day and at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alladin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I booked and paid for the Hotel Achilleas (another hotel in the four hotel Group) away back in Jan 2014 and on 10th June the day I was leaving Kefalonia I received e-mails from two friends who had flown from England on 9th June and on arrival at the Hotel Achilleas at 10pm they had no rooms due to the hotel being over-booked and they were transferred to Arion Athens Hotel. I received no intimations or apology from Hotel Achilleas for the actions taken.

Arriving at Arion Athens Hotel I was not a "happy bunny" as the action taken by the Group is just not right, no matter what excuses or apologies that are made. However we did sort out recompense.

I enjoyed my stay in the hotel. My room was comfortable, very clean and had all the facilities I needed, including a fridge. Wi-Fi was free with a good signal. Views across the City from the 7th floor balcony (see photo) were very special. I enjoyed the buffet breakfast. The staff were excellent, obliging, knowledgeable and helpful. Here I single out Stavros Nikitopoulos on reception - ultra cool and relaxed at all times with nothing being a problem.

A good location in Psiri and a five minute walk from Monastiraki Metro station (once you find your bearings!!). Thus all central attractions are near and you have the Metro to take you to the airport (Euros 8) and to the coast (Daily pass - Euros 4). Many restaurants and bars are all around.

A bustling and diverse City with a delightful clash of present with many historic sites that span four millennia. Do not miss out on this City.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the 7th floor as the door to the balcony makes an "un-necessary" closing no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fraser M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

During our three night stay at the Arion, we experienced outstanding service from four young men: Alfred Serpetopoulos, Nikolaus Karagiannides, Stavros Niuitopoulos, and Poli Fratzeskakis. Alfred directed our travel group to a fabulous restaurant. He gave us a list of his favorite dishes that we might like to order. We had such fun at the restaurant and took our leftovers back to him. Nikolaus, Stavros, and Poli, provided exemplary service, support, and help during our stay, and in seeking medical help for my husband. They were the best team ever, and I will never forget what they did for us. What a wonderful asset for the Arion to have these young men on their staff. Thank you from the Hadas.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bev Jensen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#23 of 281 in Athens
1,384 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
Attalos Hotel
Attalos Hotel
#28 of 281 in Athens
1,916 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#31 of 281 in Athens
1,801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
Acropolis Hill Hotel
Acropolis Hill Hotel
#25 of 281 in Athens
744 reviews
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#10 of 281 in Athens
3,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arion Athens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arion Athens Hotel

Address: 18 Agiou Dimitriou (Psirri) | Plaka/ Monastiraki, Athens 105 54, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Psirri / Gazi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £49 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Arion Athens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arion Athens Hotel is a modern, city centre hotel, a 2-minute walk from Monastiraki Metro Station, with direct access to the airport and the port of Piraeus. The hotel’s extremely convenient location provides easy access to the Monastiraki Flea Market, Plaka, Thiseion, the Acropolis and the New Acropolis Museum as well as Syntagma Square, the Parliament, museums and many more. Many restaurants, tavernas and bars can be found within small walking distance. Arion Athens Hotel features bright, stylish rooms and a rooftop garden with stunning Acropolis view. Free wireless Internet available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arion Athens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arion Hotel Athens
Athens Arion Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing