We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good start point for city exploration”
Review of Ilissos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ilissos Hotel
Ranked #95 of 281 Hotels in Athens
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The hotel is nice located near bus and metro station. The staff is friendly and helpfull. On arrival, we got fresh a drink and a cold bottle of water was waiting in the room. The rooms are spacious and very clean. We stayed for 3 nights and explored Athens during the day.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruudw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (584)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

225 - 231 of 584 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2013

close to city center
polite and helpfull staff.
clean room.
great view from the roof garden
comftable bed
the room was too small and the shower olso
great room servise
soundproof windows
crt - old and small TV

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andreas33mk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

This reasonably nice hotel lies between 2 highways in a nabourhood where the crises has hit greece hard. 80% of all the shops are cloosed , garbage & graffiti everywhere and beggers sitting in the street. But it is at a reasoble distance from the Acropolis.
The Room with a view on a building was dated but ok, but with a little sigaret smell.
Staff was reasonably friendly. Luckally we did not stay for dinner because a cheap Italian bustour group of youngsters was yelling in the restaurant when we came back from dinner. Not the cosy dinner admosphere we were looking. Breakfast was a self service buffet (with the same group) a disaster for the staff who remained friendly. Coffee was from deepfrozen concentrate and the orange juice was a chemical orange substance.
Overall average because of the friendly staff, sorry for the groups & the neighbourhood

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KDG19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Arrived 1:00am after 18 hours flight!!! Front desk amazing set us up in a room so we could sleep.
Hotel is located 15minutes walking distance from the Acropolis, the Museum etc did not stayed much at the hotel except to sleep Very Clean, Spacious and the front desk crew AMAZING Thank you

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adelita K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We really had troubles to reach the hotel, situated in an unpleasant and dirty street about 10 minutes from the metro station. If you have trolleys to carry, consider taking a taxi since cars will be parked cross over the street. Room was clean but very noisy, especially in the morning.
I advise to try the bakery betweek the hotel and the metro.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alessandra_Vienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

OK, to be honest if I'd come away from Athens saying that the best thing about it was a hotel overlooking the freeway and some low-rise banking offices opposite you'd probably think that I'd missed something..

On the plus side - from the roof terrace (food and drinks available on request) you can see The Acropolis and the Filopapou Monument. They look amazing lit up at night. Breakfast was super-huge with lots of options.

Also, we are not afraid of a walk and we found the location to be fine for exploring the tourist areas. We had a cheap and cheerful little gyro-shop around the corner for when we arrived and in the next street there was a leafy pedestrianised cafe quarter... (pedestrianised is not recognised as a word by this spell check just as it is not by greek drivers)

We were around 15 minutes from the Acropolis and we started our own little tour from there which lasted us the rest of the day. So, for us, the location was good - not too far to be annoying but far enough for us to be able to eat and experience other non-touristy things.

We were allowed to leave our bags in a corridor once checked out so that we could do a little more exploring on our last day before heading off. The nearest underground station is Sygrou Fix and is around 12 minutes walk. This station is two stops from Syntagma which is on the line to the airport.

OK, on the flip side of the euro-coin, the map given to us by a very happy and personable gentleman at reception gave a brief description of the hotel and stated it had been refurbished only 9 years ago. Although that may not sound like a long time I guess hotel years are like dog years - The room felt tired - carpet worn in the between the door and the bed and dirty at the edges. The sink was cracked and the towels had loose threads at their ends.

The window was left open for our arrival (which I would say was fine) but unfortunately when the lights went out a definite sound of insects buzzing filled the room. I rose in the morning bitten about 9 times on my arms and a few times on my legs. The following night I wrapped myself up like a gyro in the blanket and no further bites were recorded.

Our first morning we went for breakfast only to be told that we were not booked in for breakfast... After a brief discussion the waitress went out back to clarify something. She returned and reiterated that we were not eligible for breakfast. When checking in we spoke to the receptionist and confirmed our breakfast order... So we returned to our room (on the fourth floor) to find our booking form and returned to show reception who didn't want to see the receipt but said everything was fine and we could go for breakfast. When we entered the dining area the waitress apolgised saying that it wasn't her fault, etc. Fine. The actual breakfast was extensive and certainly filled us up for our walk.

It wasn't a painful experience... It was fine... Just so ... Average.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Clean hotel, friendly staff. Very good breakfast buffet. The dinner was not so good though.
A couple of minutes walk from Syggrou Fix station so you have to get in the Metro to go to the centre like Syntagma square. The fact that it is not "in the centre" but "close to it" is a good choice if you have planned to make excursions via bus in Attiki our out of Athens cause you probably won't get stack in traffic. I was accompanying students in a educational excursion to Attiki and the hotel was a very good choice for us.
The only cons for me was the shower that did not work well. I complained about very low water pressure (it really was unacceptably low) and the staff said the cause was that all the showers in the floor were in use at the same time. Well that might be true but I didn't manage to have a decent bath while staying there..

Room Tip: check the bath when you check in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank psari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Athens
0.5 mi away
Acropolis Select Hotel
Acropolis Select Hotel
#53 of 281 in Athens
776 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marble House
Marble House
#17 of 281 in Athens
711 reviews
0.5 mi away
Athens Avenue Hotel
Athens Avenue Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kallithea
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Athenaeum Grand Hotel
Athenaeum Grand Hotel
#126 of 281 in Athens
37 reviews
0.5 mi away
Athens Atrium Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tony
Hotel Tony
#45 of 281 in Athens
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilissos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilissos Hotel

Address: 72 Kallirrois | Koykaki, Athens 117 41, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Best Value Hotel in Athens
#49 Family Hotel in Athens
#54 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £44 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ilissos Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 1.5 km away from the Acropolis, Hotel Ilissos features a roof garden bar overlooking the Parthenon. The Sygrou Fix Tram and Metro Station are a 10-minute walk away.All elegant rooms are soundproofed and air-conditioned with satellite TV and radio. Fridge and minibar are standard. A work desk is provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ilissos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilissos Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing