We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Place to Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ilissos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ilissos Hotel
Ranked #94 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent Place to Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

Was recommended by friends, and I in turn would recommend . Very friendly staff greeted by a welcome drink of orange juice, good selection for breakfast, has a restaurant but didn't use, but the menu looked good.
I would recommend if booking try to get a room at the rear as the hotel is just off a busy road and if you can get a top rear floor you have a an excellent view of the Parthanon. The hotel is just a ten minuets walk down town to the Plaka, Acropolis , museum, and a little retail therapy.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Parosgirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    241
    132
    29
    22
See reviews for
99
216
22
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
60 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

Being honest, I only care if a place is clean. However the extras can sometimes be marvelous. It's easy to find, a quick 4 block walk from Sygrou Fix metro stop. Located on a busy in-city roadway it feels a bit daunting but the warm interior is an inviting oasis and the neighborhood behind the hotel is quaint and peaceful. On arrival we were met at the desk by the marvelous smiley Souzanna with perfect English, who offered us each a glass of fresh apricot juice. Our room on the 4th floor had a double bed made out of 2 twin beds pulled together, unfortunately a common thing in Greece, but soft and comfy with plenty of pillows. The place was spotless including a tiled bathroom with a lovely shower/tub with standard amenities and a "sanitized" paper ring over the toilet seat. The main room had a good shape carpet floor, art on the wall, great AC, good closet space, a sturdy built in luggage rack, an old fashioned TV, which we did not try, and nice lighting controlled by the room key in a master switch at the door. The nearby highway was loud with windows open but completely inaudible with AC fan on and windows closed. There were fluffy towels and bathrobes and 2 free waters in room. Having read about it we went up to have a welcome beer (we bought on the street) on the rooftop garden with an absolutely priceless view of the lighted Acropolis and Parthenon. Just 4 blocks away in the neighborhood was a green pedestrian space where we had a marvelous Greek salad and vegie (Green) pizza at Mystic Pizza, which was among other eateries, pubs, coffee shops and a bakery. We elected no breakfast which was a good sounding buffet for 8Euros/person. All this in November cost us only 43Euros/night, and everyone on the staff was friendly, helpful and spoke English fluently. They sold us our tickets to the Red Bus city tour , which is a great intro to the city, and has a stop very near the hotel where you can get on and off at the start and end of the tour. (FYI the yellow bus seems to go to the same spots and had fewer riders. We are not sure what the difference is.) This is a fabulous value near the center of Athens.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveW43323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornhill, Canada
Level Contributor
584 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

The hotel has small, well appointed rooms and is set beside a highway so there is some noise. Good bath. It has a wonderful view from the rooftop terrace. We received a welcome drink which was well received. Good full breakfast buffet. Internet access. 15 minute walk to Acropolis, Museum and other sites. Little parking but on bus route. Staff very helpful and accommodating.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMsays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights, used 3 double rooms. The hotel and rooms are very clean, spacey and nice. The lobby bar serves nice drinks for reasonable prices, the breakfast is 8 euro per person and is very good for the price. You have 3 kinds of cheese, hams, omelettes etc. all the basics and they all taste good. The staff is very helpful and wifi works great both in the rooms and in the hotel. The roof has acropolis view but they bring drinks to there from the lobby (there is a phone for you to order) plus they close it at 11.30 pm which is a pity. The area the hotel is in is not great but we did not have any safety issues. We had a car, you can park it in front of the hotel for free but it is hard to find a spot, we always did though. We would definitely stay there again...

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Öyküm G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

I visited the hotel with my husband, our 15 months old baby, my mother, my sister and her husband. Staff was very helpful. Rooms are commodious, cosy and clean. Breatfast is very rich and delicious. Hotel is in a good location but it has a parking problem. This hotel can be preferred for touristic and also business trips.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clementinestyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
364 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

The hotel has tiny rooms with an even smaller elevator. The standard double room is rather small with 2 single beds pushed together. The TV is from the 90s.

On the positive side, the staff are very helpful and location is walking distance from the Pantheon.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Rocknrollah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights. The hotel located right in front of the two major highways. Very High noise level! The surrounding street looked quite depressing and filthy as most of the shops were out of business. The shower had poor design. No matter how hard we tried, the bathroom floor always got wet because of the cheep shower curtain. Room furniture looked old. 13" TV looked like from 80s. It's a bit far from main attractions (20 min walk). Room service was not so great.
Staff in front desk and breakfast room were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was great! This is a 2 star hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer1688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Athens hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
Arethusa Hotel
Arethusa Hotel
#87 of 325 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#21 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,280 reviews
Marble House
#23 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
Acropolis View Hotel
Acropolis View Hotel
#44 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Hotel Tony
#49 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Katerina Hotel
#36 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilissos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilissos Hotel

Property: Ilissos Hotel
Address: 72 Kallirrois | Koykaki, Athens 117 41, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#56 Family Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ilissos Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 1.5 km away from the Acropolis, Hotel Ilissos features a roof garden bar overlooking the Parthenon. The Sygrou Fix Tram and Metro Station are a 10-minute walk away.All elegant rooms are soundproofed and air-conditioned with satellite TV and radio. Fridge and minibar are standard. A work desk is provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Bookgreece.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ilissos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilissos Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing