We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE BEST OVERALL”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Central Athens Hotel
Ranked #30 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“THE BEST OVERALL”
Reviewed 5 May 2012 via mobile

I recently stayed at this hotel for four days and it was tremendous value for the money.
Beautiful view of the Acropolis,rooftop open to all to bring some wine and cheese for the afternoon sun.
Location could not be better . Walking distance to all that Athens has to offer. Staff were very friendly and the area is very safe .
When I need to stay in center of Athens this will be my choice again .


Stayed May 2012
Helpful?
Thank PETERPNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,711 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    626
    819
    212
    41
    13
See reviews for
266
891
126
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2012

i stayed at the Central Athens Hotel in November 2011 so this review is a little dated but I hope still relevevant. I stayed here for two nights on business. I did struggle to find the hotel when we arrived in the evening but only because there was a strike and our train stopped at a different station but we got there in the end!

The lobby and room was very clean and fresh looking, a nice powerful shower and plenty of space for luggage and hanging clothes.

The wifi was not free in the room, I paid to have this and connected through a wire but it wasn't too much of a problem.

I stayed on my own in the room, but if I'd been with anyone else I may have been a little put off by the frosted bathroom wall(?) and the door to the bathroom doesn't go right down to the bottom. Maybe a little off putting for some but as I said I was on my own so not a problem.

Breakfast was nice and views from the rooftop fantastic. There were protests going on when I stayed but I felt very safe staying here.

I would stay here again whilst on business and if I come with my family I will stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lulu7903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

I did a lot of research before coming to Athens and ended up booking Central Athens Hotel because of its price, location, and breakfast. We took the train from the airport to Syntagma square and the walk from the station to the hotel is probably 5 minutes. So close! We walked all over Plaka, to the Acropolis, and to the Parliament building with no problems at all. Breakfast consists of yogurt, fruit and a few pastries- just enough to hold you off until lunch. The front desk even gave us the name of this great restaurant that gave us a complitmentary bottle of wine to take with us! I would definitely recommend staying here if you are looking for a nice, clean hotel that is pretty cheap with a nice rooftop bar area.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spell17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

My friend & I just returned from 3 nights at the Central Athens Hotel. We had a great stay, Hotel is very clean, & the location is perfect!!!! 2 minutes from the beautiful historical streets of Plaka, shops and tavernas......what more could you want? We also found it easy to walk to the acropolis & other areas without getting a Metro (but we are girls in our 20's)
Breakfast was good fresh food and filled us up for the day.
It was a shame the rooftop bar is under refurb ,however you can still sit up there with your own Wine and enjoy the amazing views of Athens.....which took our break away.

We also found the lady on reception very unhelpful!! when booking trips and giving us advice was too much trouble for her, so we booked our delphi and island tours from another hotel where the reception were more helpful.
But Overall........great value and location and Athens is a wonderful city, friendly locals, delicious food and many hisorical site to see.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bluemartini349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mieussy
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Minutes walk from all the restaurants & close to the Acropolis, museum, & central square for the bus or metro to/from the airport & port. Friendly night desk - I arrived at 01:30. View from back windows to the Acropolis is a nice extra.
Breakfast basic - no bacon :( - but acceptable given proximity of alternatives. Shame rooftop bar wasn't open.
Best of all is the neighbouring selection of shops selling specialist religious clothes & paraphernalia but then maybe that's just me. Hope to stay there on last night & purchase a cassock or two.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kedass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This is a great hotel in central Athens which we (family of 5) stayed in for 2 nights on our way home after 2 weeks on Agistri island. It's a very shiny, businesslike and yes, characterless hotel - but it was spotless, efficient and comfortable. It's main attractions are it's location in the Plaka district 5 minutes from all the shops, restaurants and bars and within walking distance of most tourist attractions. The price is reasonable but certainly not backpacker-cheap. It also has a great rooftop bar with jacuzzi with amazing views of the Acropolis, especially at night when it's all lit up and best enjoyed with a room-service beer in hand! So would I stay here again? Well, I would probably try to find something in the same area a bit more funky next time, but I wouldn't be disappointed if we ended up here again - it's only a hotel after all, and you don't go to Athens to stay in your room. And I would certainly prefer to stay at the Central Hotel than a more characterful hotel further away from the city center.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheeryble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Due to a strike, we had to rearrange our trip a bit. As such, we spent three nights in Athens at three different hotels. We found much better values at two other hotels in the vicinity.

The location is pretty good, a quite street on the eastern end of the Plaka neighborhood. The room was very bland. The whole place wreaked of smoke. The staff didn't seem terribly knowledgeable; we found the reception at other locations much better. Overall, this is probably closer to a "two star" budget-type hotel.

I would stay here again, but I would also recommend looking closely at other higher rated hotels in the area.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#13 of 326 in Athens
3,273 reviews
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#19 of 326 in Athens
1,525 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 326 in Athens
2,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#24 of 326 in Athens
1,325 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
Attalos Hotel
Attalos Hotel
#31 of 326 in Athens
1,843 reviews
Omonia
Fresh Hotel
Fresh Hotel
#33 of 326 in Athens
2,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Athens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Athens Hotel

Property: Central Athens Hotel
Address: 21 Apollonos, Athens 105 57, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Athens
#22 Family Hotel in Athens
#29 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Central Athens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a brief business trip or discover the Ancient Greek civilization in the area around the hotel and relax in our completely renovated rooms with the stunning views of the Acropolis. All rooms are designed to meet the highest standards of accommodation and feature upscale furnishing and decoration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Central Athens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Central Hotel
Central Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing