We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place We Stayed in Greece”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Central Athens Hotel
Ranked #30 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2013

The Central Hotel was more than we expected for the price. Very nice, modern rooms at an extremely convenient location! The room and bathroom were very small (as expected) but because everything was updated and well laid out, the size was hardly an issue. We were a little disappointed not to have an acropolis view, but much to our surprise our room looked out on a tiny old church hidden between buildings that was just adorable! The rooftop bar has amazing views of the acropolis and the city, with very friendly and accommodating wait staff. The complimentary breakfast was also good with an adequate selection to suit different tastes. And now on to the location: perfection! With in walking distance to everything you need to get to – the Plaka & Metropolis Cathedral are right around the corner – but on a quiet enough street that you feel a little secluded from all the action. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would even stay there again myself if I ever happen to be in Athens again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meagang716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Thank you very much for your nice review on Central Athens Hotel. We are really happy that you had such a memorable stay with us and you enjoyed our services, our location and our prices. We hope that you will be back in Athens soon to enjoy a nice walk around Central or a drink in Thea Terrace Bar.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,825)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

864 - 870 of 1,825 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2013

We had one night there and I thought the b/f was on the balcony facing the Acropolis. Unfortunately it was not, that was really a pity. As soon as we found it out we planned our evening around and we had a couple of cocktails on the terrace. This is really the best of the hotel, though you can access to it even if you are not a guest.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stef_TravelPhotog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

Thank you for your review on our hotel. Our guests love the view from Thea Terrace Bar but it is very difficult to serve breakfast there for guests on 84 rooms and especially when the weather conditions might not allow to sit outside. You may visit it from 11 a.m. till 1 p.m. to enjoy coffee and drinks admiring the Acropolis. We look forward to see you back again soon for a lovely stay at Central Athens Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Central Hotel Athens is located close to Monasteraki, Plaka and Syntagma and several metrostations. The hotel is very clean and higiene and cleanliness in breakfast room is just the best. Rooms are not the biggest but big enough for suitcases and working at the large desk. The hotel seems new and rooms and bathrooms and nicely and simply decorated with good taste. Staff at the reception is very professionel and helpful. We arrived after breakfast time tired and hot, but we were offered a complete breakfast with juice, eggs, fruit and all kinds of pasteries - great service. The receptionis also arranged a taxi to the airport - fixed price and as he said "a nice Mercedes and a driver properly dressed" (unlike the one we arrived in from Pireaus),

The hotel is right around the corner from the cathedral and the street is safe also at night. Make sure to visit the wonderful roof top terrace to enjoy the sun setting behind Acropolis.

We highly recommend Central Hotel in Athens and will for sure come back.

Room Tip: Everything about this hotel is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

Thank you very much for your nice review on Central Athens Hotel. It is always pleasant to know that our customers had a great service from our staff and they enjoyed our hotel, its location, its decoration and our efforts on cleaning and hygiene. We hope that you will be back soon for a nice walk in Plaka and Monastiraki and a refreshing drink on Thea Terrace Bar during sunset.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

My friend and I stayed here for one night while we were on our way home to Australia. As we had limited time to explore Athens, this hotel was centrally located and only a 15 minute walk to the Acropolis and only a few minutes walk to Monastiraki shops. The hotel staff were friendly and attentive and the rooms were spacious and comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia09Albury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

Thank you very much for your review on Central Athens Hotel. Our location is quite convenient to reach within walking distance all major tourist attractions in the city center like Syntagma square, the National Garden, Plaka and Monastiraki as well as the city’s major shopping street, Ermou. Our staff will be happy to help you any time you will be back. We look forward to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

We were only in Athens for one night and the location of this hotel allowed us to explore the key sights without any transportation. The buffet breakfast that was included had a variety of food and drink. We were also very lucky to book during a discount period which meant that the experience was very good value.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank apmurr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

Thank you very much for your review on our hotel. We have given emphasis on the variety of our buffet breakfast which is included in our room price in order to offer choices on Greek and international delicacies like pastries, eggs, sausages, spoon sweets and local products that would please our customers. We hope that you had a nice experience walking around in the city’s attractions that are so close to Central Athens Hotel and we look forward to see you back soon to enjoy Athens once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights last week and were exceptionally happy with the room and especially the location. Leave the hotel and turns left, walk 1-2 mins and you are at monastiraki and the markets, turn right and wall around the corner and you are in the "city" near Syntagma square etc. It's a quiet street but so much around it! Rooftop is also AMAZING! Great and polite staff. We are staying again next month :)

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nickene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

Thank you very much for your nice review on Central Athens Hotel. Our name, coming after our location, says it all for the easiness our customers have to reach tourist attractions, shopping areas, restaurants, tavernas, the “life” in the center of Athens. We are very happy that you will be back soon and our staff will be ready to help you and welcome you in Thea Terrace Bar and Central Athens Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We were suggested the Hotel Aphrodite in 1995. (Now Central) Since then we have continued to book into the Central and have made bookings for our family and friends, and also suggested to those we knew were visiting Athens. We intend to stay again in 2014. We always ask for a room with a balcony a we like the extra open air space, as the room becomes cramped with 2 large and 2 smaller suitcases plus shopping. Since 2004 with the Olympics, it was revamped and became very modern and up to date. But nine years later we have noticed that it's getting rather tired. Nevertheless, it's a location that would suit every tourist. Restaurants and shopping in Plaka, Monastiraki and the streets with fashions and brand names are all within walking distance. Syntagma square, the Metro, Buses, and so much more are all minutes away. The staff at Reception are always helpful and very polite and pleasant. The breakfast has improved vastly, and the roof top restaurant with the view of Acropolis is fantastic to meet friends and relatives in a relaxing atmosphere with a glass of oyzo and a yiasoo or isigia.. Yes, do make your bookings at The Central for your next trip......................NAR

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Athen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

Thank you very much for your review but above all, thank you for being such a loyal customer to our hotel. It is very pleasant to find out that customers notice changes and efforts that we try to make every year and still enjoy our services and our staff’s professionalism. To avoid tiredness we proceeded to the lobby renovation, the opening of Thea Terrace Bar and we offered a greater breakfast buffet selection on a renovated corner while we plan more for 2014. We would be very happy to have your insight on changes that will improve Central Athens Hotel and we look forward to see you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#13 of 282 in Athens
3,439 reviews
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#15 of 282 in Athens
1,595 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#10 of 282 in Athens
2,438 reviews
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#22 of 282 in Athens
1,409 reviews
Omonia
Fresh Hotel
Fresh Hotel
#28 of 282 in Athens
2,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Athens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Athens Hotel

Address: Apollonos 21, Athens 105 57, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Athens
#14 Family Hotel in Athens
#25 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £58 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Central Athens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a brief business trip or discover the Ancient Greek civilization in the area around the hotel and relax in our completely renovated rooms with the stunning views of the Acropolis. All rooms are designed to meet the highest standards of accommodation and feature upscale furnishing and decoration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Central Athens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Central Hotel
Central Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing