We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Central Athens Hotel
Ranked #30 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Lakenheath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay!”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

I stayed here in April 2013 with a group of other ladies. In total, there were 11 of us. I shared a room with a girl friend. The rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable. The mattresses were supportive and provided a good night's sleep. The view outside our window was of a little church. From the top of the hotel, we had an amazing view of the Acropolis. This was especially true in the evenings! The staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was delicious with a variety of foods and wonderful cappuccinos. The spa was not available when we were there and that would have been a bonus. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Thank you very much for your review on our hotel. It is always a pleasure to have satisfied customers who enjoyed their stay with us. We hope that you will visit Greece and Central Athens Hotel soon to relax in the Jacuzzi with the view to the Acropolis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,731 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    637
    827
    212
    42
    13
See reviews for
272
903
126
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

This is a perfectly located hotel in the very heart of Athens. The view from the from rooms and the roof garden is magnificent. Staff is generally ok.

But this is where the positives end. The rooms are very small (with the front ones being smaller than the back street ones and without a balcony). The breakfast is very poor at the best and quality of ingredients very low. We didn't bother having breakfast the second morning and just had some in a nice caffe near the hotel. Hygiene of the breakfast area not great either (we asked for a highchair which had food residue allover). Our room was also a bit dusty (we were barefoot while dressing up and our feet quickly became greyish). The decoration is outdated with no attention to detail (with patio armchairs outside the lifts on the floors). Oh, and very expensive for what you get.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mskaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Thank you for your review. Our customers usually rate our hotel on a high standard of hygiene and cleanliness throughout its premises acknowledging our special care on the subject. They also like our breakfast variety that focuses on the Mediterranean diet without excluding the international tastes and was recently enriched with local Greek delicacies while they consider our minimal decoration style a point worth mentioning. In any case we are happy that you found our location convenient and the view magnificent and we hope that you will return in Athens again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We spent one night in this hotel. I booked a room with Acropolis views. I paid 150 euros. The room was really small. We had been travelling around the Greek islands and we had a lot of luggage. We did not know where to put the suitcases. There is hardly any space between the end of the bed and the wall and around the bed only one person could stand. The bathroom is the same. You need to hang outside the window to see the Acropolis. But the worst was that the room was next to the air conditioning pipe and there was a constant noise of the ventilator. I did not sleep the whole night, as it starts and stops constanlty, there was even a small vibration, problably from the window I don't know. We reported it to reception, who took note but just ignored us as nothing was done. For the rest the hotel is in a good location, the staff are polite but will not go the extra mile. Inside is really modern, the lift is tiny. I chose it for the nice roof top terrace with Acropolis views and for that I was not dissapointed. If I have had a bigger room and no noise I will have really enjoyed it.

Room Tip: We were in 508 and if you do not like constant noise at night beware of this side of the hotel as wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Europalover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Thank you for your review on our hotel. We apologize for any inconvenience that you might had during your visit but unfortunately you stayed with us on a fully booked day so no room change could have been made. We take your comments under consideration and we will include them in future actions. We hope that you will be back in Athens soon and have the opportunity to enjoy both the city and Central Athens Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We were in Athens for a couple of days and wanted to stay in the historical center, close to Acropolis. Central Hotel gave us just that - fantastic views from the bedroom as well as from the rooftop restaurant. The hotel is in the Plaka district and easily walkable to all historical sites and the shopping streets.

The breakfast spread was quite good and the whole deal was worth what we paid for!
A few drawbacks - small bathrooms, only one small elevator and the airconditioning isnt very effective.

Everything else was superb. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank addy_hols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Thank you for your review on our hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed the view and the location. Building limitations give us a limited choice regarding elevator and bathroom size. Come back soon to have a nice coffee or drink at Thea Terrace Bar, on the last floor of Central Athens Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Great location, walk to plaka. Great views from the rooftop bar. Serves the purpose, good value for money. Enjoyed hanging out in the rooftop bar. The rooms were updated and seemed pretty clean. We got a room with the interior courtyard view but my brother who was saying in the same hotel got a room with a large balcony which was very nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelchickster N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Thank you for your review on Central Athens Hotel. It is always a pleasure to have customers that enjoy their stay with us and have a nice time in our hotel. We hope that you will be back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

An excellent hotel to stay in in Athens. Practically next door to the Parthenon, cute rooftop cafe with an AMAZING view of the Parthenon, both in the day and at night when it's all lit-up (plus a rooftop jacuzzi around the corner). The breakfast buffet was one of the best we had in our two-week trek around Greece. Everything was clean and comfortable. Perfect location for wandering around all the cafes and shops, not to mention you can just walk over to the Parthenon. No complaints at all.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Thank you for your review on Central Athens Hotel. We are glad that your stay really pleased you and you found our hotel and our services worth mentioning. We look forward to see you back soon for a drink at Thea Terrace Bar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah GA USA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Well, we had just left the Waldorf Astoria in Rome which was 5 stars, so if you are going to be in a similar situation where you are used to "high end hotels", don't book here.
That is not to say it is a bad hotel. Apart from the marshmallow sized pillows and the nasty carpet (which should have been replaced 3 years ago - hell it should have been tile anyway in Athens) it was OK. And when I say OK, it was clean, the reception was immaculate, the shower worked and did not leak, and the view from the upstairs bar rivaled few places in Athens.
I just got this feeling though that more attention was paid to the entrance way than to the actual accommodations. Things just looked a little.... cheap. They left a bottle of wine for us, which was excellent. The decor was OK and contemporarily sparse, and for 100 Euros per night last minute booking it wasn't bad. The elevator was small, and if you have space issues, that is claustrophobia, then use the stairs. It is big enough for two normal Europeans (or two small Americans/Germans/Brits) Apart from these little details it was .... average to good. Oh, you cannot beat the location. Plakka is bang in the middle of everything. You will notice a lot of closed up stores and derelict buildings but that is a sign of Greece's financial woes. Not the area in particular. And... finally the Graffiti. It is everywhere and a little advice to business owners; if the city won't clean or paint over the Graffiti then you should. You would do yourselves a favor. It is everywhere, unsightly and off-putting.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dturner_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Thank you for your review on our hotel. It is appreciated by our customers – as and you indicate - our location that “you cannot beat” next to Plaka, Syntagma square, the National Garden and all major tourist attractions, the cleanliness, the minimal design and décor, a complimentary wine, our staff and of course the amazing view to the Acropolis. Our rooms are typical European city size while building structure limits our choices on the elevator. Athens is a city with great history and a lot of modern choices that one should explore. Come back soon to discover them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#13 of 326 in Athens
3,298 reviews
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#19 of 326 in Athens
1,541 reviews
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#24 of 326 in Athens
1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 326 in Athens
2,272 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#17 of 326 in Athens
3,795 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
Attalos Hotel
Attalos Hotel
#31 of 326 in Athens
1,862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Athens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Athens Hotel

Property: Central Athens Hotel
Address: 21 Apollonos, Athens 105 57, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Athens
#22 Family Hotel in Athens
#29 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Central Athens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a brief business trip or discover the Ancient Greek civilization in the area around the hotel and relax in our completely renovated rooms with the stunning views of the Acropolis. All rooms are designed to meet the highest standards of accommodation and feature upscale furnishing and decoration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Agoda, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Central Athens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Central Hotel
Central Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing