We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small room with great view of acropolis”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Central Athens Hotel
Ranked #30 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Small room with great view of acropolis”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stayed here for the first three nights of our honeymoon to explore athens before heading to Santorini. We felt the room was extremely small. It was hard to fit the two of us and all our luggage in the room. The bathroom was very small also. However, the hotel is in an amazing location!! The view if the acropolis was un beatable and the rooftop bar was unbeatable. We spent two of three nights up there. The hotel was walking distance to all major sites in athens, again, great location. Our only complaint other than the room being small was the bed was extremely hard and we weren't personally a fan of the breakfast... Although they did have a capaccino machine (always good in my mind).

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TNT C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We hope that you had a great honeymoon in Greece. Our location is the ideal spot to explore Athens when one is not enjoying the magnificent view to the Acropolis from Thea Terrace Bar. Our rooms are of typical European city size and we keep them clean and comfortable for our guests. We hope that you will have another trip in Greece soon and we wish you all the best at your new life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,730 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    637
    826
    212
    42
    13
See reviews for
272
902
126
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

This is a clean, comfortable hotel in a great central location. Very easy to get to from the airport and in walking distance of most sites. There is an extensive hot & cold buffet breakfast and the lovely roof top bar has an amazing view of the Acropolis. Staff were friendly & efficient.
We'd definitely recommend this as a great value mid range hotel or excellent budget hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaG79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Thank you for your review on Central Athens Hotel. We are happy that you were satisfied with our staff, location and services. We focus on presenting a nice variety of Greek and international breakfast tastes that would please our customers. We hope that we will see you back, soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington,DC
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Excellent location, walking distance to everywhere, restaurants and historic sites.
The room is a bit small, but very comfortable. Is better to have one with balcony, which almost the same side as the room.
The view from the roof is breathtaking, the bar offered snacks and good selection of wines.
The hotel staff was very professional and extremely kind, specially Thanasis,Chryssa and Antonis, our favs.
Is very convenient to have a laundromat two doors from Central. They charge 4€ per kilo and can delivery to the hotel.
We definitely will go back to Central.

Room Tip: With balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaVirazon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Thank you very much for your review on our hotel. It is always nice to have satisfied customers who appreciate the effort of our staff and our services. We hope that you will be back with us soon to enjoy a nice glass of wine at Thea Terrace Bar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

Tucked away in the side streets off the now infamous Syntagma Square the modern building that is the Central offers a warm welcome after the drive in or bus ride from the airport. The rooms are clean and fresh with comfortable beds and lovely views of the mighty Acropolis and imposing Parthenon. The roof bar is open to 1am and offers terrific all round views of Athens with a spectacular panoramic view of the Acropolis and nearby
Lykibitos. Wide choice of food for breakfast which is a self service buffet. Lovely place for overnight stay or base for short break. Limited secure car parking underground by prior reservation is a must. A bit pricy but worth every penny.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank DodgerW3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Thank you for your “mobile” review on Central Athens Hotel. We are strategically located so as to be able to visit all the interesting places in the city centre on foot. It is a must to visit Thea Terrace Bar on the last floor of the hotel with the magnificent view to the Acropolis so come back with or without your car - the underground parking is a nice solution - to enjoy Athens once more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

The room was very comfortable and modern with good fittings, serviced just adequately, and worth the extra cost to have a view of the Acropolis. The rooftop bar had even better views to the floodlit Acropolis and breakfast was substantial. But it was very strange, indeed tedious, that the only lift is tiny, basically two people only for a hotel where everyone has rooms upstairs, so hauling luggage too takes time. Nothing they can do about this now. Good location, near but just out of the main tourist drag

Room Tip: Worth asking for a room with a view of the Acropolis. You have to squeeze into the lift no matter wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Radix7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Thank you for your review on our hotel. We are happy to see that you enjoyed your room with the Acropolis view. Building restrictions give us limited choices on the elevator but once in the terrace bar the view is magnificent. We hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaverton, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Forget the 3 star ratings.. you don't need an Olympic size pool or oversize bathroom. Rooms are a bit small but you are right in the middle of everything... safe, very modern, spotlessly clean and only a few minutes to great adventure. The view is outstanding. Great people and a fun stay.. 4 nights. You can have all your dirty cloths washed and folded just two door from Central and they deliver.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the back side with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gliderBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Thank you very much for your nice review on Central Athens Hotel. We are always happy to have satisfied customers who enjoyed their stay with us. Come back soon for another nice trip to Athens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayamon, Puerto Rico
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Central Hotel for a total of 5 nights! The hotel is small but centrally located near Plaka and Syntagma Square. The staff was friendly and helpful. The rooftop garden has amazing views of the Acrópolis and the city. The rooms are small but they were clean. The bathroom sink is too small so you end up wetting the floor when you wash your face or brush your teeth. The elevator is very small it only accommodates 3 people. But overall the hotel is perfect due to its location, friendly staff, breakfast is included, and the rooftop garden is a plus for the great views! I would recommend this hotel since its close to Plaka, restaurants and sightseeing!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maribel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Thank you very much for your review on our hotel. It is nice to have customers who appreciate our efforts on quality services -although building restrictions give us limited options on the elevator and bathrooms - and recommend our hotel. We look forward to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#13 of 326 in Athens
3,298 reviews
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#19 of 326 in Athens
1,541 reviews
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#23 of 326 in Athens
1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 326 in Athens
2,271 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#17 of 326 in Athens
3,795 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
Attalos Hotel
Attalos Hotel
#31 of 326 in Athens
1,860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Athens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Athens Hotel

Property: Central Athens Hotel
Address: 21 Apollonos, Athens 105 57, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Athens
#22 Family Hotel in Athens
#29 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Central Athens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a brief business trip or discover the Ancient Greek civilization in the area around the hotel and relax in our completely renovated rooms with the stunning views of the Acropolis. All rooms are designed to meet the highest standards of accommodation and feature upscale furnishing and decoration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Central Athens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Central Hotel
Central Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing