We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Central Athens Hotel
Ranked #30 of 327 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Central”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Great value, good service,incredible views loved sitting at the roof garden looking across to the acropolis..very central in Athens ..walk to all the main sites or hop on and off the buses red and blue.. Central is a very good choice.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keryn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thank you for your nice review on our hotel. It is always nice to have satisfied customers who enjoy their stay with us. We look forward to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,683 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    613
    811
    209
    38
    12
See reviews for
258
875
126
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
41 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

The male receptionists at this hotel react rather than interact – they helped us to book taxis when asked, but offered nothing of their own accord not even maps or greetings or smiles.

The triple room was simple but small like the other hotels we stayed in Athens. Cheap toiletries but nice smell so this was actually a plus point! We couldn’t connect to the wifi in our room. Breakfast was ok rather than good.

The rooftop terrace café looks very nice, and has the great views as touted. Location wise, the Central Hotel is near Syntagma Square but on Apollonas street off the larger roads. It felt a little deserted and dark in the 2nd half of October, but a short walk (towards Nikis street) brings you to several Asian restaurants - nice to have a change of tastes - and a decent grocer/fruit shop.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank s-myluvtotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Thank you very much for your review on our hotel. We are quite centrally located, within 5 minutes walk from Syntagma square, the National Garden, Monastiraki and Plaka where the area around is the new trend in the city’s night life with restaurants, local tavernas and wine bars. Our staff is usually the one praised by our customers for their friendly approach and willingness to help so it might have been a bad moment that you had encountered. We hope next time you are in Athens you stay with us and have a nice experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Incredible value, great service, upscale rooms, incredible views, impressive bar/restaurant, close to everything in Athens. The reception staff was very helpful and courteous. Walk to the main sites in minutes. Walk to dining, shopping, this is the best location in Athens.

Room Tip: Awesome connecting rooms for families. All rooms were quiet and clean with very comfortable beds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you very much for your review on Central Athens Hotel. We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sf
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

The internet was down when we checked in, which was disappointing, since that was part of the reason that I booked that hotel. The first room not only lacked internet, but the top comforter/sheet was stained with yellow splotches. (There seem to be multiple reviews with this complaint.) We asked to be moved to a second room because of these issues. Unfortunately, the second room also lacked an internet connection and the top comforter/sheet was stained yellow as well. The rug in the second room was stained. I had purchased slippers to walk in the room, so it wasn't terrible, but it was not pleasing to look at.

The shower in the room was nice and had good water pressure, but the door to the bathroom didn't extend all the way to the floor so that you could hear everything when the other person was using the toilet. (The door ends about nine inches above the ground.)

The breakfast was not good; the eggs and meat were very cold by the time we arrived at 9am. They were inedible. The milk that was sitting out was warm. The hotel charges an extra 20 euros per night for a second person on your reservation. That breakfast was in no way worth 20 euros.

Additionally, the "jacuzzi" on the roof should not be advertised as a jacuzzi. The American term refers to a very hot pool of water; the "jacuzzi" at the Central Athens Hotel was lukewarm. It had bubbles, but it was not warm at all. It was more like a very small pool.

On the other hand, the front desk staff, as well as the bartender at the Terrace Bar hotel were very friendly. The front desk staff tried very hard to get our internet working that first night and finally found a work around solution for us until the internet went back up in the hotel. The staff were always available to help answer any questions. The Terrace Bar hotel bartender was very friendly.

Given how costly the hotel is (especially when you are charged an extra 20 euros for a second person on the reservation), I would recommend staying at another nearby hotel instead, and going to this hotel to have a cocktail at the rooftop bar. The cocktails are not particularly good, but the view of the Acropolis at sunset is breathtaking.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jjudith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wethersfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Greate Hotel, dont get a room facing the interior small court yard, very depressing, but the hotel itself, the location, the roof bar and food, were all wonderful. The view from the roof was fantastic, great hotel.

Room Tip: Dont get an intertior room facing the small square inside courtyard and directly facing, very close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you for your review on our hotel. We look forward to see you back at Central Athens Hotel to enjoy Athens and the city center in a future trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
142 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

the Central hotel in Athens was centrally located, and literally right around the block from the Plaka. The only down side was the bathroom, little tight but other than that I thought it was fine,, rooms came with robes and slippers which was a nice bonus,clean, courteious staff and perfect location, with a dynamite roof lounge with the Acropolus as a back drop!

Room Tip: try to get the view of the acropolus
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ann m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Thank you very much for your review on Central Athens Hotel. We try to offer quality services to our customers so that they have a memorable stay with us. We hope to see you and your family back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Finding rooms for a couple with kids in Athens was surprisingly difficult for us. Central hotel is in a good spot and has some adjoining rooms at a reasonable price. They are small but modern and comfortable. Breakfast is quite basic. The staff on the front desk were very helpful with van hire and other logistics.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank ChrisZig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Thank you for your review on our hotel. We try to facilitate families with kids with the adjoining rooms so that they may also take advantage of our location, a nice spot with easy access, on foot, to all points of interest. We look forward to see you and your family back soon to enjoy Athens again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#19 of 327 in Athens
1,507 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 327 in Athens
3,241 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#15 of 327 in Athens
2,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#23 of 327 in Athens
1,308 reviews
Omonia
Fresh Hotel
Fresh Hotel
#35 of 327 in Athens
1,983 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
Attalos Hotel
Attalos Hotel
#34 of 327 in Athens
1,811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Athens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Athens Hotel

Property: Central Athens Hotel
Address: 21 Apollonos, Athens 105 57, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Athens
#22 Family Hotel in Athens
#29 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Central Athens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a brief business trip or discover the Ancient Greek civilization in the area around the hotel and relax in our completely renovated rooms with the stunning views of the Acropolis. All rooms are designed to meet the highest standards of accommodation and feature upscale furnishing and decoration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Central Athens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Central Hotel
Central Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing