We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Central Athens Hotel
Ranked #30 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Newport Beach, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great hotel in a great location”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Great location, nice breakfast, helpful staff, amazing views of the Acropolis from the roof lounge, and from our room. Clean, organized, and arty. On a small street, walking distant to Syntagma Square and the plaka. Only problem was the school at the back of the hotel with the bell ringing if you want to sleep in.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Thank you for your review on Central Athens hotel. Your kind comments give us a reason to try even more to make our customers’ stay memorable. We look forward to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,682 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    613
    810
    209
    38
    12
See reviews for
258
874
126
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Volos, Greece
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We were very satisfied of our staying there (family with two children). Clean rooms, very helpful staff, underground garage, terrace bar with extremely nice view at Parthenon (especially at night). We will sure use it again!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nikos A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Thank you very much for your kind words on Central Athens Hotel. It will be a pleasure to have you back in our hotel on your next trip to Athens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limassol
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

Great location close to shops and plaka (plaka is an area full of restaurants, bars and taverns) fantastic view of the acropolis. Boutique hotel therefore minimalistic but very clean. Staff very helpful, they can't be faulted. Didn't like our room asked if we could change and they accommodated us immediately.

Roof garden has an amazing view of acropolis and Athens.

Breakfast not what we Brits are used to, but edible.

Would visit again as convenient location and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisoula1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Thank you very much for your review on Central Athens Hotel. It is always a pleasure to find out that customers are satisfied and they enjoyed their stay in our hotel. We look forward to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athens
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 December 2013

I stayed with my boyfriend for 3 nights, it was very clean, warm and cozy
The bathroom was a bit small, but the room was ok.
Also it had a thea tarache bar with a great view, i loved it, nice coctails and friendly staf
The only con i could say for the hotel was it's breakfast, it had a really bad coffee, i couldn't drink it, not a variety, and it wasn't really tasty..
Also it was like 5 minutes from the metro of sudagma, and really close to everything.
i would recomend it for families, couples or friends

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank artemis c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Thank you for your review. It is nice to hear that you liked our location, our view, our staf’s service and you found our hotel cozy and warm. We are making an effort on breakfast so we have included fresh handmade cakes, greek delicacies like ryzogalo and lichnarakia, vegetables, fresh and dry fruits, different types of sausages, eggs and cheeses and we are brewing Douwe Egberts coffee. We hope that you will be back soon for a nice stay in Central Athens Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 15 December 2013

I forgot some clothes in my room. The staff could not have made greater efforts to get them back to me, keeping me informed at all stages, and eventually putting them in a taxi to the airport. During my stay too the people there were really friendly, the room was clean and pleasant. Would definitely go back.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Justin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Thank you for your review on Central Athens Hotel. We are glad that we have helped and we hope that we will see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montréal, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

In the center of Plaka, yet quiet , modern and clean rooms. Some with balconies. Other with Acropolis view. One of the best terraces in the city. Pleasant staff. Excellent value. We havé been gong for many years and always enjoy going back.

Room Tip: If you like to smoke asp for a room with balcony, because smoking Is not permitted in the rooms room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VIVDIM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thank you for your kind review on Central Athens Hotel. It is so nice to hear that people who visit us often are satisfied with our services. Come back soon for a nice coffee or drink at Thea Terrace Bar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We are a family with two young children and had never been to Athen before. We chose the Central Hotel for the location, the two bedrooms linked giving us one child room and a master bedroom and were not disappointed. We had sufficient space, the rooms were very clean and the staff made us feel welcome at all time. The terrace is indeed fantastic for a sunset on the Acropole and a drink in the night. Breakfast is reasonable though choice is rather limited. We walked to every site we had planned to explore and really enjoy a relaxing time.

Room Tip: Room on south side have great views on the Acropole.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SebastienLondon70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thank you for your review on Central Athens Hotel. It is nice to hear that you were satisfied with our services, cleanliness and staff and you enjoyed a relaxing time. We will be happy to see you and your family back again soon for another memorable stay in Athens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#19 of 326 in Athens
1,506 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 326 in Athens
3,239 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 326 in Athens
2,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#23 of 326 in Athens
1,308 reviews
Omonia
Fresh Hotel
Fresh Hotel
#35 of 326 in Athens
1,980 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
Attalos Hotel
Attalos Hotel
#34 of 326 in Athens
1,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Athens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Athens Hotel

Property: Central Athens Hotel
Address: 21 Apollonos, Athens 105 57, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Athens
#22 Family Hotel in Athens
#29 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Central Athens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a brief business trip or discover the Ancient Greek civilization in the area around the hotel and relax in our completely renovated rooms with the stunning views of the Acropolis. All rooms are designed to meet the highest standards of accommodation and feature upscale furnishing and decoration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Bookgreece.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Central Athens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Central Hotel
Central Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing