We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value. Great service.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Central Athens Hotel
Ranked #30 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Good value. Great service.”
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Hotel is stylish and modern with many facilities and generous public spaces. Rooms are not large but very clean and of good design. Roof top bar is fantastic with views of acropolis. Area around hotel looks run down but this is athens today! That being said felt very safe. Service was excellent from start to end. A good choice at a moderate price.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roomchecker007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Thank you for your review on our hotel. It is nice to see positive comments from customers that enjoyed their stay. We are located within the area of Plaka which is the oldest part of the city so it may not look that updated but it is still very picturesque with its architecture and the antiquities near by. As and you say, the area is quite safe with a lot of restaurants, tavernas and nice cafes and the shopping area just a few steps away. We really hope that you will be back soon to admire again Acropolis from Thea Terrace Bar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,711 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    626
    819
    212
    41
    13
See reviews for
266
891
126
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I was in Santorini two days before, slept on a cold bed for two nights, and was not sure of using the super small shower in the hotel there, so arriving here was exciting. Couldn't wait to take a long hot shower without splashing the entire bathroom.

Here in Central hotel Athens the bathroom was good size, not too spacious but functioning well .The room was cosy with a window that open like a balcony facing the glowing Acropolis not so far away. From the airport you just take train to downtown Athens, cost only 4 euros one way per person. Location is only short walking distance from the Syntagma train station,no taxi service needed, surrounded by eateries and shopping area I felt like in heaven. Even if the hotel is in the middle of shopping area but it's quiet enough for you to sleep and resting. You can walk along the Ermou street all the way to Monastiraki square where you can find souvenier shops and cafes. Staff were friendly, free WiFi, breakfast included with good selection of food. There is a rooftop terrace bar where you can hang around late in the afternoon or in the evening gazing at the Acropolis.

I had a wonderful time in Athens, weather was superb, 18 degree celc in January...never happened in my country ;) I would definetly recommend this hotel, and if I could visit Athens again someday I would likely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms which have Acropolis view would be wonderful, definitely recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DenLilleHavrue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Thank you very much for your detailed review and your nice words on Central Athens Hotel. We are happy that you had a wonderful time in Athens and enjoyed your stay with us. We hope that you will return soon for a coffee or drink out in the sunshine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

A very nice hotel in the area of Plaka and very close to Syntagma square. The rooms r very nice and clean and there is parking for the car in the basement floor. The breakfast was amazing. There is also a roof garden bar with fantastic view of the Acropolis. The price was very, very good for what you get. For sure i ll go again and i strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eustace61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Thank you for your kind review on Central Athens Hotel. We are happy that you appreciated our efforts on quality services and convenient prices. We hope that you will be back soon to enjoy your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

It was an excellent location, walking distance to acropolis, yet on a quiet street, no noise at night at all. Room was very clean, we had a room with view, it was beautiful at night. Roof top terrace should never be missed, you can sit outside or inside in case it's too windy, having afternoon tea and enjoying the view. Breakfast was good, not fancy but had all the basics, staff were very helpful and friendly. There is a bus from airport to the area, stop is not far from hotel, very convenient, restaurants are plenty. We will come back again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gugi_2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Thank you very much for your review on Central Athens Hotel. It is always nice to have satisfied customers who wish to be back. We are looking forward to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

A few blocks away from Syntagma and Monastiraki, and located where the Plaka district begins… on a quiet street… perfect location. Clean spaces and friendly staff. Here we can marvel at the Acropolis from our own bedroom.

Room Tip: It will cost you a little more, but, at any time of the day or night, the Acropolis is quite an insp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alleluiamichel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay and we hope that you will be back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

It was very nice the location the service the view we love it.It was clean quiet and very close to the center the employes were very helpfull and polite the room service also,the bed was king size we sleep very well nice decoration the roof garden was a dream!!!!We 've been to many hotels and it was one of the best.We have a very good time there.I recommended without a thought.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joans s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review on Central Athens Hotel. It is always a pleasure to find out that customers have a memorable stay and they enjoy our hotel and services. Thank you for the recommendation and we hope to see you back soon for a nice coffee or drink at Thea Terrace Bar overlooking the Acropolis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cagliari, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

The Central Hotel has a good location: in the centre of the Plaka, in a quiet street, with many restaurants in the neighbourhood.
The superior rooms are those of the upper floors and they have a wonderful view to the Acropolis, as well as the bar and terrace at the seventh floor. You can sit outside or inside and have a drink, watching the sunset (in the winter season) behind the Acropolis.
Acoustic isolation could be better, but besides this I recommend this hotel (good rate price/quality) to visit Athens.
The underground (Syntaki) is 5 minutes walking away.

Room Tip: Standard rooms don't have any view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inge09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Thank you very much for your review on Central Athens Hotel. We are very well located in the city center and we are very close to two major metro stations, Monastiraki and Syntagma, as well as the bus stop to and from the airport.This is ideal for someone who want to wonder around the city, tourist attractions and shopping areas. We hope that you will be back soon to enjoy it once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#13 of 326 in Athens
3,273 reviews
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#19 of 326 in Athens
1,525 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 326 in Athens
2,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#24 of 326 in Athens
1,325 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
Attalos Hotel
Attalos Hotel
#31 of 326 in Athens
1,843 reviews
Omonia
Fresh Hotel
Fresh Hotel
#33 of 326 in Athens
2,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Athens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Athens Hotel

Property: Central Athens Hotel
Address: 21 Apollonos, Athens 105 57, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Athens
#22 Family Hotel in Athens
#29 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Central Athens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a brief business trip or discover the Ancient Greek civilization in the area around the hotel and relax in our completely renovated rooms with the stunning views of the Acropolis. All rooms are designed to meet the highest standards of accommodation and feature upscale furnishing and decoration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia, Bookgreece.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Central Athens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Central Hotel
Central Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing