We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What every reasonably priced hotel should be!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Central Athens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Central Athens Hotel
Ranked #29 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Moab, Utah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What every reasonably priced hotel should be!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Excellent service, location, breakfast and view from the rooftop cafe. It is worth a few extra dollars to get a room with the Acropolis view. This hotel gets or highest recommendation for travelers wanting great value.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank GoGeronimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you very much for your kind words and your recommendation. We will be more than happy to welcome you in Central Athens hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,608 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    588
    778
    196
    36
    10
See reviews for
247
835
118
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Grenoble, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

The best hôtel in plaka ; very nice design and comfortable rooms; central location close to restaurant and métro; the view from the roof bar is exceptionnal and the bar has à closed section that can be used all the year.

Room Tip: Rooms on the acropolis have a very nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank lapbruno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you very much for your review on our hotel. We do have a central location and a great view so we look forward to see you back again for a memorable stay in Athens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

Excellent in every way. Very clean, comfortable and modern- and therefore the perfect place to relax. Almost spoilt for choice at breakfast, with coffee on tap. Very central with a great view of the Acropolis from my window. The staff really could not have been more friendly and helpful. What more can you want?

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank ROBERT G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you very much for your kind words. We are always happy to have satisfied customers that appreciate our efforts. Thea Terrace bar will be there for you on your next visit for a nice view to the Acropolis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
170 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

I liked the hotel: good location, near the best places to visit and near to good restaurants and shops. It has clean and quiet rooms, however they are not big ones. The hotel offers a great breakfest.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Agnyz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

We loved everything about this hotel. The location was perfect. we never used a taxi, just walked from and to the metro and the sights. We loved the view from our room especially the dawn on the Acropolis. We loved the rooftop terrace. Blankets were supplied so we could sit outside and watch the sun set and the lights come on over the Acropolis. Staff were helpful and friendly. Breakfast was excellent and wifi was included. Could not have been better

Room Tip: We asked for a room with a view of the acropolis.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review on Central Athens Hotel. We also love the view from Thea Terrace Bar so we believe that a little cold should not be an obstacle …that’s what blankets are for. Come back soon to enjoy Acropolis and Athens with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

We stayed at the Central Hotel in January 2014 and had booked a room with a view of the Acropolis. The room was small but it was big enough for a short break and the view was fabulous. We particularly liked the roof terrace bar (also with an Acropolis view). There was the most amazing thunderstorm during our visit and we sat in the bar feeling warm and happy and watched the sky light up with the lightening around the Acropolis and it was fantastic. The staff both on reception and at breakfast were friendly and welcoming and we would thoroughly recommend this hotel, it was fantastic value for money, the location is perfect for sightseeing and very central but not noisy. We had a fabulous time and will be going back.

Room Tip: We were very happy with the Acropolis view and a very small room, but realise a lot of couples might...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you very much for your review and your kind words on Central Athens Hotel. It is always nice to have satisfied customers who have a great experience in the hotel enjoying our services and appreciating our efforts. We look forward to see you back again for another memorable view of the Acropolis maybe in a great sunset this time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Great location. Close to the metro, all the major sightseeing places and top restaurants. Clean and quiet rooms. A rooftop bar with an incredible view of the acropolis. Cheap and perfect in this budget. Only negative are that we wish they had better bathroom toiletries. No body lotion included so better carry your own. And we had asked for a double bed but got joined twin beds (hate when that happens)... though the beds were big and comfortable.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jinx_Garima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#9 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,079 reviews
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#18 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,450 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
Attalos Hotel
Attalos Hotel
#35 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#14 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,071 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Philippos Hotel
Philippos Hotel
#23 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Athens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Athens Hotel

Property: Central Athens Hotel
Address: 21 Apollonos, Athens 105 57, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Athens
#22 Family Hotel in Athens
#29 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Central Athens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a brief business trip or discover the Ancient Greek civilization in the area around the hotel and relax in our completely renovated rooms with the stunning views of the Acropolis. All rooms are designed to meet the highest standards of accommodation and feature upscale furnishing and decoration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Central Athens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Central Hotel
Central Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing