We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Amazing view , the best location"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Central Athens Hotel
Ranked #30 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Ocean Grove, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“"Amazing view , the best location"”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Stayed here 3 nights at the start of our holiday and one night when we finished our island hopping, the breakfasts were the best! Plenty to chose from. The location was perfect. Central to everything, the Acropolis was only about 20mins away and the view was amazing from the roof top terrace. This hotel is within walking distance to all the site seeing in the Plaka. Athens is spotless and very safe and the Greek people are so nice. There isn't a pool but we were so busy site seeing we didn't really have time to waste lounging around a pool. The room was a bit small but we were only there to sleep. We spent all our time walking around the Plaka from morning till night. The bed was very comfortable and the reception staff were very helpful. We would certainly recommend this hotel. Loved it. Thank you to all the staff at the Central .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 615carolynj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you very much for your review and nice comments on Central Athens Hotel. It is always nice to know that our customers have a nice time while visiting Athens and staying in our hotel. We hope that you will be back soon to enjoy our city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,711 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    626
    819
    212
    41
    13
See reviews for
266
891
126
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed here 3 nights and found the staff very friendly and obliging as we travelled with an elderly. Location is fantastic just couple minutes to cafe, restaurants, souvenir shops in and around plaka, monastraki or agora. Room is of decent size, clean and good bed and pillow, which is important for long day in walking tours. Only setback is that they do not have coffee/tea making facility nor stable internet connection. All that could be easily fixed by calling reception to assist. ThisThere needs to have more hanging hook points in the bathroom. Hotel is central as its name says and you are looking for good value..this is it !

Room Tip: Check out terrace bar for a beautiful night lit acropolis view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bcmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you very much for your review and your nice comments on Central Athens Hotel. Busy days may end in an overloaded internet connection but we try to do our best to assist. We would be happy to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boulder co
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel offers a great location, nice rooms, terrific view of the Acropolis from the roof top bar, easy access to the Plaka and metro. Nice rooms. Good breakfast. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Athens.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveling_foodie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
We are happy to see that we will be your preference at you next trip to Athens. We look forward to see you and we thank you very much for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

As has been noted by previous reviewers location is very good, just about a 5 minute stroll from Syntagma Square. The rooms are not large, but are comfortable and very well equipped. The Superior rooms are on floors 5 & 6 and by looking sideways out of opening French doors (no balcony) the Acropolis can be seen from some of the rooms The rooftop bar serves very good coffee and cakes, good for a relaxing afternoon break. The selection and quality of the breakfast buffet food was also good.
All of the staff we spoke to were very friendly and helpful (whether they were front desk, catering or cleaning staff).
The lift is very small, holding a maximum of 3 people and as a consequence there can be a wait, especially at checking out time. Walking down 6 flights of stairs shouldn't be too much of a problem but walking up is another matter!
We would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If you are choosing a superior room ask for one with a view of the Acropolis.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doglover02_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for your review on Central Athens Hotel. We are ideally located for visiting the city’s attractions on foot and then having a nice coffee and drink at Thea Terrace Bar overlooking the Acropolis. We will be happy to have you with us soon in an interesting trip to Athens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This centrally located hotel in Athens, is typically of hotels surrounding Plaka - small but friendly. It has a great roof top bar overloohing the Acropolis. Rooms are small but comfortable. Lifts are typical of hotels in the Plaka district small, unless you want to spend a lot of money and stay on one of th new ones in syndagma.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a centrally located hotel, at a reasonable price, this is it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for your review on our hotel. We will be happy to see you once again in another trip to Greece.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We were very impressed with the Central Hotel in Athens. The economy rooms were compact but equipped with everything you need. The air-conditioning was smooth and noiseless. The hotel was sparkling clean throughout. The breakfast buffet was comprehensive and varied. Our interactions with staff were the highlight of our stay. They were exceptionally friendly and helpful, and had an advanced command of the English language. The location of the hotel is in a bustling part of the city, allowing easy access to most tourist attractions. We could not recommend this hotel enough.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 52Leeroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you very much for your review and your praising comments on Central Athens Hotel. It is very important for us to have customers that enjoy their stay and appreciate our services. We will be happy to have you back in another trip to Greece.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We were very pleased with the location of Central Hotel as it was pretty much walking distance to all the major attractions. From shopping to eating to visiting the Acropolis, everything was close by. The rooms were clean and the hotel staff were friendly.

The hotel itself is located in an alley of sorts, and can get fairly dark and quiet at night but we felt safe enough to walk through the streets even late at night. There were lots of people on the streets parallel to the alley as it was the main junction and it was definitely great value for money. Breakfast was also included and that too was decent. Lot of souvenir shops on the road ahead so tourists can get their last minute shopping done too.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacky T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for your review on Central Athens Hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed our location and services …it is after all the perfect spot to stay for shopping, eating, walking to tourist attractions and having fun in near by coffee shops and wine bars. We will be happy to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#13 of 326 in Athens
3,273 reviews
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#19 of 326 in Athens
1,526 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 326 in Athens
2,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#24 of 326 in Athens
1,325 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
Attalos Hotel
Attalos Hotel
#31 of 326 in Athens
1,844 reviews
Omonia
Fresh Hotel
Fresh Hotel
#33 of 326 in Athens
2,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Athens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Athens Hotel

Property: Central Athens Hotel
Address: 21 Apollonos, Athens 105 57, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Athens
#22 Family Hotel in Athens
#29 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Central Athens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a brief business trip or discover the Ancient Greek civilization in the area around the hotel and relax in our completely renovated rooms with the stunning views of the Acropolis. All rooms are designed to meet the highest standards of accommodation and feature upscale furnishing and decoration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Bookgreece.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Central Athens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Central Hotel
Central Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing