We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel with free parking” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Central Athens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Central Athens Hotel
Ranked #28 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good hotel with free parking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed here for a couple of nights before flying from Athens airport. We had a car with us so needed somewhere we could park for free and was quite central so we could explore the centre of the city.

The hotel is in very good condition and nicely decorated.

Our room was a bit on the small side, especially as we had three suitcases, but it was very clean and well decorated. The bathroom was also small. The room was comfortably air conditioned and mercifully the air conditioning was very quiet

Our room was on the fourth floor and it had no balcony but did have a partial view of the Acropolis.

The hotel has a Jacuzzi and a bar on the roof with great views of the Acropolis.

The hotel is in a very convenient location with the Plaka with its restaurants and small shops just a few minutes walk away. It was also near to the larger chain store shopping area too.

We walked to both the Acropolis and the Agora from the hotel, both of them were less than 20 minutes walk away.

Breakfast was a very good hot and cold buffet which starts at 0700. There was also a reduced breakfast available from 0500 for anyone needing to catch an early flight or ferry.

Staff were helpful and they helped us get the car in to a tight spot in the garage underneath the hotel.

Tip: If you are bringing a car, the garage is immediately before the hotel (you are in a one way street) so make sure you turn off the road onto the small driveway or you will have to try and find a way back to the hotel. The street is very narrow and you cannot park on the road.

We left very early in the morning and were able to get to the airport in under 40 minutes.

We can really recommend this hotel for exploring the centre of Athens

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rin1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you very much for your detailed review and nice comments on Central Athens Hotel. We are really happy that you had a pleasant stay with us and we hope that you will return in Athens soon to enjoy our city once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,610 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    589
    779
    196
    36
    10
See reviews for
247
837
118
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
South Africa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Neat, tidy clean rooms greeted us upon our arrival. The staff were friendly and helpful and the view from the rooftop bar was great! Great location as well, easy enough even for the laziest person to get around!

Apart from the tiny lift and the fact that the walls seem paper thin, this was a great place. We spent 3 nights here and enjoyed walking around Athens and the convenient location of the hotel. the feeling of watching the sun go down and the Acropolis light up at night was incredible- watch out for the pigeons though, they're very persistent!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denira_V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Watching the light up of the Acropolis right after the sun goes down, from Thea Terrace Bar on the last floor of our hotel, is the highlight of a nice day walking around Plaka and Monastiraki on foot. We would be happy to see you back soon to enjoy it once again and we thank you for your review on Central Athens Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean Grove, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Stayed here 3 nights at the start of our holiday and one night when we finished our island hopping, the breakfasts were the best! Plenty to chose from. The location was perfect. Central to everything, the Acropolis was only about 20mins away and the view was amazing from the roof top terrace. This hotel is within walking distance to all the site seeing in the Plaka. Athens is spotless and very safe and the Greek people are so nice. There isn't a pool but we were so busy site seeing we didn't really have time to waste lounging around a pool. The room was a bit small but we were only there to sleep. We spent all our time walking around the Plaka from morning till night. The bed was very comfortable and the reception staff were very helpful. We would certainly recommend this hotel. Loved it. Thank you to all the staff at the Central .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 615carolynj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you very much for your review and nice comments on Central Athens Hotel. It is always nice to know that our customers have a nice time while visiting Athens and staying in our hotel. We hope that you will be back soon to enjoy our city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malaysia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed here 3 nights and found the staff very friendly and obliging as we travelled with an elderly. Location is fantastic just couple minutes to cafe, restaurants, souvenir shops in and around plaka, monastraki or agora. Room is of decent size, clean and good bed and pillow, which is important for long day in walking tours. Only setback is that they do not have coffee/tea making facility nor stable internet connection. All that could be easily fixed by calling reception to assist. ThisThere needs to have more hanging hook points in the bathroom. Hotel is central as its name says and you are looking for good value..this is it !

Room Tip: Check out terrace bar for a beautiful night lit acropolis view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bcmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you very much for your review and your nice comments on Central Athens Hotel. Busy days may end in an overloaded internet connection but we try to do our best to assist. We would be happy to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boulder co
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel offers a great location, nice rooms, terrific view of the Acropolis from the roof top bar, easy access to the Plaka and metro. Nice rooms. Good breakfast. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Athens.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveling_foodie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
We are happy to see that we will be your preference at you next trip to Athens. We look forward to see you and we thank you very much for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

As has been noted by previous reviewers location is very good, just about a 5 minute stroll from Syntagma Square. The rooms are not large, but are comfortable and very well equipped. The Superior rooms are on floors 5 & 6 and by looking sideways out of opening French doors (no balcony) the Acropolis can be seen from some of the rooms The rooftop bar serves very good coffee and cakes, good for a relaxing afternoon break. The selection and quality of the breakfast buffet food was also good.
All of the staff we spoke to were very friendly and helpful (whether they were front desk, catering or cleaning staff).
The lift is very small, holding a maximum of 3 people and as a consequence there can be a wait, especially at checking out time. Walking down 6 flights of stairs shouldn't be too much of a problem but walking up is another matter!
We would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If you are choosing a superior room ask for one with a view of the Acropolis.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank doglover02_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for your review on Central Athens Hotel. We are ideally located for visiting the city’s attractions on foot and then having a nice coffee and drink at Thea Terrace Bar overlooking the Acropolis. We will be happy to have you with us soon in an interesting trip to Athens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

This centrally located hotel in Athens, is typically of hotels surrounding Plaka - small but friendly. It has a great roof top bar overloohing the Acropolis. Rooms are small but comfortable. Lifts are typical of hotels in the Plaka district small, unless you want to spend a lot of money and stay on one of th new ones in syndagma.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a centrally located hotel, at a reasonable price, this is it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for your review on our hotel. We will be happy to see you once again in another trip to Greece.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#9 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,082 reviews
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#18 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,450 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
Attalos Hotel
Attalos Hotel
#35 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#15 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,075 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Philippos Hotel
Philippos Hotel
#24 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Athens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Athens Hotel

Property: Central Athens Hotel
Address: 21 Apollonos, Athens 105 57, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Athens
#22 Family Hotel in Athens
#29 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Central Athens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a brief business trip or discover the Ancient Greek civilization in the area around the hotel and relax in our completely renovated rooms with the stunning views of the Acropolis. All rooms are designed to meet the highest standards of accommodation and feature upscale furnishing and decoration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Central Athens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Central Hotel
Central Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing