We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent in everyway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Central Athens Hotel
Ranked #30 of 281 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2014

after a disappointing experience with a nearby hotel- stumbled upon this hotel as my friends were staying here. was warmly accomodated and given a reduced rate by the exceptional customer service team who could see i was emotionally distraught. the location was amazing, the room facilities were better than expected. have also stayed at two other hotels in athens and this one supasses both. breakfast was included. thanks thanissos for taking care of me- felt at home, and experienced the Greek hospitality afforded by a great hotel with a great team. could not speak more highly of the place. Sarah ( doctor from Brisbane Australia)

Room Tip: dont think twice just book this place, you will not regret it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank priya c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you very much for your review and your praising comments on Central Athens Hotel and our personnel. We believe that a memorable experience in our hotel should be our aim. We will be happy to have you back with us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,793)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

691 - 697 of 1,794 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

My husband and I stayed two nights recently and the hotel is very good. Close to everything. The staff were very helpful. The rooms were clean with comfortable beds and a good shower. The roof top terrace was great.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dina1817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you for your review on Central Athens Hotel. We look forward to see you back soon to enjoy another stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Strategic location behind Syntagma, clean rooms, silent environment, really friendly staff, a beautiful terrace with breadthtaking view over the Acropolis, good breakfast. We ended up staying at Central by accident. It was a great surprise. We paid at the end of june 2014 100 euros for a double room including breakfast. To be noticed that we did not have pre-booking. Probably only the food quality fo the brekfast should be higher. The rest is close to be great. Warmly recommended the terrace bar in the evening.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giuseppe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you very much for your review and comments on Central Athens Hotel as well as your kind title. It is nice to have luck treat one with nice surprises during a trip. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed in the Central Athens Hotel in the Plaka - Clean, well managed and very convenient location. The roof top bar with outside seating and a view to the Acropolis is marvelous. Staff are all friendly and helpful, making our stay here exceptional.

Room Tip: My wife likes a tub bath in the evening, and most of the rooms are showers only, they have a few wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FredBagg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for your review on Central Athens Hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed for 6 nights while touring Athens and area. Staff were always friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean and very quiet. We had friends staying at a nearby hotel (Astor Hotel) who were kept awake by loud street noises nearly every night, but we didn't hear a thing.

The hotel is on a quiet, safe side street that is just minutes away from Syntagma Square, the Acropolis, and Plaka shopping (streets full of restaurants and little shops).

The rooftop bar has an excellent outdoor view of the Acropolis and the city - fantastic place to go for a drink or snack at night. There is also a jacuzzi on the roof - although I did not want to sit in a hot tub on a 37C night.

Our only disappointment was the food. The only meal available is the free continental breakfast. The rooftop bar serves only light snacks, so you have to go elsewhere for every other meal, which is not too much of a problem since there are many restaurants within a few minutes walk in any direction. Breakfast typically included scrambled eggs, hard-boiled eggs, eggs mixed with tomatoes or sausages, mushrooms, sausages, cereal, small selection of fruit, bread and pastries. However, we found the breakfast to be hit-and-miss quality. One day the food was so poor, we just left and started buying breakfast elsewhere. The eggs were so runny that our plates were filled with liquid, the hard-boiled eggs were under-cooked, the fruit was over-ripe and going bad, and the milk for the cereal was sour. When i brought my concerns to the food service manager, he had lots of excuses but didn't seem to care. (He was the only staff member with this attitude - all other staff were very helpful and polite.)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skl01Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you very much for your review on our hotel. We only serve breakfast and light snacks in the terrace but we aim at high quality products. We are sorry for the inconvenience that you faced and we will look more into it. We will be happy to see you again soon for a nice trip to Athens.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

We just checked out of this hotel after a 1 night stay prior to a flight. We had already been in athens before this so I can say it is a good location. The welcome was poor, very uninterested reception. Rooms however a quite nice and spacious. The beds were very good. The shower was good with good pressure and plenty of hot water also. I did not like the bathroom door, basically a glass panel that swings shut with around a 4 inch gap at the bottom, no privacy. The breakfast was very good and comprehensive. The staff there were the only nice ones we have encountered on our stay here. Overall, I would stay here again based on hotel qualities, if staff interaction is not important to you.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank leahhh17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for your review on our hotel. We will take into consideration your comments although our staff is usually praised for its services. We apologize for any inconvenience and we hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Historical building. Were able to get 2 connecting rooms with 1 door for families with kids. Very clean and a fantastic location. Our view was of the Acropolis. Roof top bar and outside seating was fantastic.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Photolisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you very much for your review on Central Athens Hotel. Satisfied customers are always our aim. We hope to have you back with us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#10 of 281 in Athens
3,379 reviews
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#15 of 281 in Athens
1,574 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 281 in Athens
3,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#23 of 281 in Athens
1,382 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#11 of 281 in Athens
2,376 reviews
Plaka
Best Western Amazon Hotel
Best Western Amazon Hotel
#42 of 281 in Athens
979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Athens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Athens Hotel

Address: 21 Apollonos, Athens 105 57, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Athens
#18 Family Hotel in Athens
#25 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £62 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Central Athens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a brief business trip or discover the Ancient Greek civilization in the area around the hotel and relax in our completely renovated rooms with the stunning views of the Acropolis. All rooms are designed to meet the highest standards of accommodation and feature upscale furnishing and decoration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Central Athens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Central Hotel
Central Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing