We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aptly-named”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Central Athens Hotel
Ranked #30 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Aptly-named”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

We had a great experience at this hotel. The rooftop bar view is spectacular. It was convenient and lovely to have a night cap there, the cocktails were also delicious. A fresh, minty mojito was delightful. The elevator was terribly small, which is no big deal. But our a/c never really got cool enough. All in all, however, a very positive stay. Very easy to get everywhere. Walk to many restaurants and shops, two minutes from Syntagma Square.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank KatherineKatLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you very much for your review on our hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you back soon for another nice cocktail at Thea Terrace Bar overlooking the Acropolis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,711 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    626
    819
    212
    41
    13
See reviews for
266
891
126
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights. Lobby is nice and people very kind in giving us all the info. The real plus of the hotel is location in the hearth of Plaka and the rooftop bar with a stunning view over Acropolis. Breakfast is ok while rooms are basic and small.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank SiM0StOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for your review on our hotel. We are very well located for those who love to walk around and visit all the major tourist attractions. As we are in the middle of Plaka, the historical centre of the city, our rooms are of standard size for most European cities. We hope that you will be back soon to enjoy Acropolis from Thea Terrace Bar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

after a disappointing experience with a nearby hotel- stumbled upon this hotel as my friends were staying here. was warmly accomodated and given a reduced rate by the exceptional customer service team who could see i was emotionally distraught. the location was amazing, the room facilities were better than expected. have also stayed at two other hotels in athens and this one supasses both. breakfast was included. thanks thanissos for taking care of me- felt at home, and experienced the Greek hospitality afforded by a great hotel with a great team. could not speak more highly of the place. Sarah ( doctor from Brisbane Australia)

Room Tip: dont think twice just book this place, you will not regret it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank priya c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you very much for your review and your praising comments on Central Athens Hotel and our personnel. We believe that a memorable experience in our hotel should be our aim. We will be happy to have you back with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonnyrigg, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

My husband and I stayed two nights recently and the hotel is very good. Close to everything. The staff were very helpful. The rooms were clean with comfortable beds and a good shower. The roof top terrace was great.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dina1817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for your review on Central Athens Hotel. We look forward to see you back soon to enjoy another stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Strategic location behind Syntagma, clean rooms, silent environment, really friendly staff, a beautiful terrace with breadthtaking view over the Acropolis, good breakfast. We ended up staying at Central by accident. It was a great surprise. We paid at the end of june 2014 100 euros for a double room including breakfast. To be noticed that we did not have pre-booking. Probably only the food quality fo the brekfast should be higher. The rest is close to be great. Warmly recommended the terrace bar in the evening.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giuseppe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you very much for your review and comments on Central Athens Hotel as well as your kind title. It is nice to have luck treat one with nice surprises during a trip. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed in the Central Athens Hotel in the Plaka - Clean, well managed and very convenient location. The roof top bar with outside seating and a view to the Acropolis is marvelous. Staff are all friendly and helpful, making our stay here exceptional.

Room Tip: My wife likes a tub bath in the evening, and most of the rooms are showers only, they have a few wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FredBagg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for your review on Central Athens Hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed for 6 nights while touring Athens and area. Staff were always friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean and very quiet. We had friends staying at a nearby hotel (Astor Hotel) who were kept awake by loud street noises nearly every night, but we didn't hear a thing.

The hotel is on a quiet, safe side street that is just minutes away from Syntagma Square, the Acropolis, and Plaka shopping (streets full of restaurants and little shops).

The rooftop bar has an excellent outdoor view of the Acropolis and the city - fantastic place to go for a drink or snack at night. There is also a jacuzzi on the roof - although I did not want to sit in a hot tub on a 37C night.

Our only disappointment was the food. The only meal available is the free continental breakfast. The rooftop bar serves only light snacks, so you have to go elsewhere for every other meal, which is not too much of a problem since there are many restaurants within a few minutes walk in any direction. Breakfast typically included scrambled eggs, hard-boiled eggs, eggs mixed with tomatoes or sausages, mushrooms, sausages, cereal, small selection of fruit, bread and pastries. However, we found the breakfast to be hit-and-miss quality. One day the food was so poor, we just left and started buying breakfast elsewhere. The eggs were so runny that our plates were filled with liquid, the hard-boiled eggs were under-cooked, the fruit was over-ripe and going bad, and the milk for the cereal was sour. When i brought my concerns to the food service manager, he had lots of excuses but didn't seem to care. (He was the only staff member with this attitude - all other staff were very helpful and polite.)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skl01Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you very much for your review on our hotel. We only serve breakfast and light snacks in the terrace but we aim at high quality products. We are sorry for the inconvenience that you faced and we will look more into it. We will be happy to see you again soon for a nice trip to Athens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#13 of 326 in Athens
3,273 reviews
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#19 of 326 in Athens
1,526 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 326 in Athens
2,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#24 of 326 in Athens
1,325 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
Attalos Hotel
Attalos Hotel
#31 of 326 in Athens
1,843 reviews
Omonia
Fresh Hotel
Fresh Hotel
#33 of 326 in Athens
2,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Athens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Athens Hotel

Property: Central Athens Hotel
Address: 21 Apollonos, Athens 105 57, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Athens
#22 Family Hotel in Athens
#29 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Central Athens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a brief business trip or discover the Ancient Greek civilization in the area around the hotel and relax in our completely renovated rooms with the stunning views of the Acropolis. All rooms are designed to meet the highest standards of accommodation and feature upscale furnishing and decoration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, Bookgreece.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Central Athens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Central Hotel
Central Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing