We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Central Athens Hotel
Ranked #30 of 281 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The location of this hotel makes up for all the other issues such as small rooms and a tiny bath! It is perfectly located within walking distance to all the restaurants ,shopping and the Acropolis. The rooma are clean and the staff is very helpful. We will definitely stay there again if in Athens

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank bk1769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for your review on Central Athens Hotel. We are happy that you will choose our hotel for another stay of yours when in Athens and we look forward to it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,793)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

668 - 674 of 1,795 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Great location (close to plaka) quiet, amazing views, lovely breakfast, huge and clean rooms and jacuzzi on the rooftop. If we are ever back in athens we will be back here!

only negative was the really loud plumbing in our room. made it sound like it was pouring with rain outside when it wasnt. and the rooftop bar is open to publican go early if you want a spot. they should have priority for hotel guests but dont.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Em T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for your review on Central Athens Hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and you had the time to visit Thea Terrace Bar. Acropolis is a world class monument so it is our duty to allow everyone to admire it even if one is not a hotel guest. We look forward to see you again soon to have a nice coffee or drink overlooking Parthenon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Perfect hotel for spending a day or 2 in Athens on your way to the islands. Centrally close to everything. Wonderful breakfasts with numerous choices. Amazing roof top bar with view of acropolis. Tiny rooms, doubled single beds, tiny elevator, tiny sink are negatives.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Qdog56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for your review on our hotel. We hope that you had a nice stay with us and we look forward to see you back at Central Athens Hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Stayed here for 3 days whilst in Athens.
Pros
- nice hotel and rooms
- great location, we walked to all the sites
- nice staff
- lovely roof top space with jacuzzi
- yummy breakfast

Cons
- small rooms
- teeny tiny lift that only fits two people
- our bathroom had little black marks in the corners, possibly mould, I was too scared to look closely

I would probably stay here again for the price if I ever came back to athens.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Eatingthecake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you for your review on our hotel. We will take your comments under consideration especially since we are usually praised for our cleanliness. We hope that you will have the opportunity to visit Athens again soon …we will be happy to see you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Let me say, first of all, that this is higher priced as it is right in the middle of all of the action. You are minutes on foot from Syntagma, the Acropolis area, Monstiraki, and Plaka. It is very convenient. Your first impression of the neighborhood might not be that great, as there is ample graffiti in the side streets. But that is the unfortunate reality of Athens--too many instances of ugly graffiti. It really drags the city down, as it is everywhere. But I have never felt unsafe in this neighborhood, even late at night. You are just around the corner from the main Greek Orthodox cathedral, which also contributes to the goodness of the neighborhood. As other reviewers have noted, the view of the Acropolis from the rooftop is simply stunning, especially at night. We enjoyed the hot tub as well, although the water is not hot in the midst of the summer (it would not be pleasant if it was). The elevator is ridiculously small. I have never seen one smaller. You can literally only get one person and a large suitcase in at one time. You might get two people into it, but you will be very cramped with your luggage. We were on the third floor, so we ended up taking our suitcases up the stairs. Note, also, that people are frequently coming to the hotel to go to the roof, especially at night, so we more than once could not go either up or down on the elevator as it always arrived full (two or three people). The room was rather small, and had very little space for hanging things or putting things into drawers (we were in a triple, and there was really only enough space for one person to use in the closet). The beds were decent, and the air conditioning was excellent--it cooled the room within minutes, which is much appreciated after being out in the heat all day. The bathroom was also small, and there was a fair amount of black mold in the crevices. That was the one unattractive part of the room. I was surprised by that, as the rest of the hotel is kept up very well, and feels rather trendy. Our window opened up on the interior courtyard of the building. I was very pleased that I never heard any noise from any neighbors--the sound abatement is excellent. The breakfast buffet was super good with lots of variety of hot and cold foods. The staff were very helpful. A great stay, despite the minor irritations!

Room Tip: The only time I heard of any noise problems is when, at 11 pm, they shut down the hot tub and said t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DaveBYU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you for your review on Central Athens Hotel. We will keep your comments under consideration although as you understand anything that has to do with building construction works is very difficult to be changed due to permits since we are in the middle of the historical part of the city. We are happy that overall you had a great stay with us and we hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

As everyone says this hotel is in the perfect spot to explore Athens. The beds are firm but very comfortable. The breakfast is great. We found everything to be clean and well staffed. Quiet street but near everything!!!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank healthda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you very much for your review on Central Athens Hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed your experience with us and we hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The hotel is indeed very well located and you can walk to most areas of interest. The rooms are tiny clean and spartan with large opening double windows some with great views of the Acropolis The breakfasts are about standard for Athens Hotels The roof terrace bar snacks is pleasant, but if you are in a room directly below it can be noisy.The staff are friendly and helpful. The larger rooms in Athens are usually more distant but with pools which in the summer are great.

Room Tip: Rooms at rear have the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank charlestc_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you for your review on Central Athens hotel. We hope that overall you had a nice stay and we look forward to see you back in another trip to Athens.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#10 of 281 in Athens
3,379 reviews
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#15 of 281 in Athens
1,574 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 281 in Athens
3,880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#23 of 281 in Athens
1,382 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#11 of 281 in Athens
2,375 reviews
Plaka
Best Western Amazon Hotel
Best Western Amazon Hotel
#43 of 281 in Athens
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Athens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Athens Hotel

Address: 21 Apollonos, Athens 105 57, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Athens
#18 Family Hotel in Athens
#25 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £62 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Central Athens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a brief business trip or discover the Ancient Greek civilization in the area around the hotel and relax in our completely renovated rooms with the stunning views of the Acropolis. All rooms are designed to meet the highest standards of accommodation and feature upscale furnishing and decoration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Central Athens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Central Hotel
Central Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing