We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid hotel, for any type of traveller”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Central Athens Hotel
Ranked #30 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Solid hotel, for any type of traveller”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

There are very few cons to this hotel. It's a very good location, though your initial impression from a ton of graffiti might suggest otherwise (know that that's Athens) - it's an easy walk from Syntagma metro which is on the airport line, and walking distance to all the sites and most tour group meeting areas. It's very close to a lot of restaurants themselves, and also the Plaka area. Too, even as a single female traveller I never felt unsafe walking back later at night. The front desk staff were very helpful, and spoke fluent English if your Greek is as bad as mine.

The lift is tiny, but that hardly matters unless you want your whole family in there together (at least the hotel has a fully functional one, after lugging my suitcase up many a flight of stairs elsewhere in Greece). The rooms were standard European size - even bigger than some. The bed was incredibly hard, but like graffiti, you're going to have to accept that that's Greece (as I learned later). The views were lovely from the rooftop patio, and their free wifi worked perfectly throughout the hotel and the roof - enough to stream video or make a facetime call. All amenities were as described (in room safe, etc).

The only real downside I can truly mention was the lack of soundproofing through the doors to the hall, and even to an extent adjacent rooms, though it wasn't enough to detract from my sleep or stay. I found everything very clean, which is of huge import to me, from in room to the housekeeping staff even cleaning the carpets in the halls as I found on my arrival. Relative to the price for Athens, I found it a very good choice and would have stayed on my way back through Athens if they hadn't been fully booked.

Room Tip: Don't worry about a room view, you can get that fix from the rooftop patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank canadianjourneyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your review and comments on Central Athens Hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are sorry that you couldn’t find a room on your way back through Athens. We hope that we will have you back with us soon on another trip to Greece.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,731 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    637
    827
    212
    42
    13
See reviews for
272
903
126
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

My wife and I spent 3 nights in Athens based on the Cenreal Hotel. Whilst it was initially difficult to locate, in fact it is very central to all the main tourist locations and within walking distance of most.
the hotel rooms with Acropolis View give you and excellent view of this anciant monument. The roof top bar and snack area is a great location for evening viewing too.
Bedrooms are rather small and bathrooms very tiny. The lift is even smaller, particularly when struggling with bags.
Breakfast is served in an airy and well furnished room, with a more than adequate buffet.
Service was at all times both friendly and efficient.

A good place for two or three days stay.

Room Tip: Choose an Acropolis View room, its worth the little extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michaelmoongazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your review on Central Athens Hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed our location and services and we look forward to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina Coast, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The location of this hotel makes up for all the other issues such as small rooms and a tiny bath! It is perfectly located within walking distance to all the restaurants ,shopping and the Acropolis. The rooma are clean and the staff is very helpful. We will definitely stay there again if in Athens

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bk1769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your review on Central Athens Hotel. We are happy that you will choose our hotel for another stay of yours when in Athens and we look forward to it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bulleen, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Great location (close to plaka) quiet, amazing views, lovely breakfast, huge and clean rooms and jacuzzi on the rooftop. If we are ever back in athens we will be back here!

only negative was the really loud plumbing in our room. made it sound like it was pouring with rain outside when it wasnt. and the rooftop bar is open to publican go early if you want a spot. they should have priority for hotel guests but dont.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Em T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your review on Central Athens Hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and you had the time to visit Thea Terrace Bar. Acropolis is a world class monument so it is our duty to allow everyone to admire it even if one is not a hotel guest. We look forward to see you again soon to have a nice coffee or drink overlooking Parthenon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrenceville, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Perfect hotel for spending a day or 2 in Athens on your way to the islands. Centrally close to everything. Wonderful breakfasts with numerous choices. Amazing roof top bar with view of acropolis. Tiny rooms, doubled single beds, tiny elevator, tiny sink are negatives.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Qdog56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your review on our hotel. We hope that you had a nice stay with us and we look forward to see you back at Central Athens Hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 days whilst in Athens.
Pros
- nice hotel and rooms
- great location, we walked to all the sites
- nice staff
- lovely roof top space with jacuzzi
- yummy breakfast

Cons
- small rooms
- teeny tiny lift that only fits two people
- our bathroom had little black marks in the corners, possibly mould, I was too scared to look closely

I would probably stay here again for the price if I ever came back to athens.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Eatingthecake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for your review on our hotel. We will take your comments under consideration especially since we are usually praised for our cleanliness. We hope that you will have the opportunity to visit Athens again soon …we will be happy to see you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Provo, UT
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Let me say, first of all, that this is higher priced as it is right in the middle of all of the action. You are minutes on foot from Syntagma, the Acropolis area, Monstiraki, and Plaka. It is very convenient. Your first impression of the neighborhood might not be that great, as there is ample graffiti in the side streets. But that is the unfortunate reality of Athens--too many instances of ugly graffiti. It really drags the city down, as it is everywhere. But I have never felt unsafe in this neighborhood, even late at night. You are just around the corner from the main Greek Orthodox cathedral, which also contributes to the goodness of the neighborhood. As other reviewers have noted, the view of the Acropolis from the rooftop is simply stunning, especially at night. We enjoyed the hot tub as well, although the water is not hot in the midst of the summer (it would not be pleasant if it was). The elevator is ridiculously small. I have never seen one smaller. You can literally only get one person and a large suitcase in at one time. You might get two people into it, but you will be very cramped with your luggage. We were on the third floor, so we ended up taking our suitcases up the stairs. Note, also, that people are frequently coming to the hotel to go to the roof, especially at night, so we more than once could not go either up or down on the elevator as it always arrived full (two or three people). The room was rather small, and had very little space for hanging things or putting things into drawers (we were in a triple, and there was really only enough space for one person to use in the closet). The beds were decent, and the air conditioning was excellent--it cooled the room within minutes, which is much appreciated after being out in the heat all day. The bathroom was also small, and there was a fair amount of black mold in the crevices. That was the one unattractive part of the room. I was surprised by that, as the rest of the hotel is kept up very well, and feels rather trendy. Our window opened up on the interior courtyard of the building. I was very pleased that I never heard any noise from any neighbors--the sound abatement is excellent. The breakfast buffet was super good with lots of variety of hot and cold foods. The staff were very helpful. A great stay, despite the minor irritations!

Room Tip: The only time I heard of any noise problems is when, at 11 pm, they shut down the hot tub and said t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveBYU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for your review on Central Athens Hotel. We will keep your comments under consideration although as you understand anything that has to do with building construction works is very difficult to be changed due to permits since we are in the middle of the historical part of the city. We are happy that overall you had a great stay with us and we hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#13 of 326 in Athens
3,300 reviews
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#19 of 326 in Athens
1,541 reviews
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#24 of 326 in Athens
1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 326 in Athens
2,272 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#17 of 326 in Athens
3,795 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
Attalos Hotel
Attalos Hotel
#32 of 326 in Athens
1,862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Athens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Athens Hotel

Property: Central Athens Hotel
Address: 21 Apollonos, Athens 105 57, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Athens
#22 Family Hotel in Athens
#29 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Central Athens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a brief business trip or discover the Ancient Greek civilization in the area around the hotel and relax in our completely renovated rooms with the stunning views of the Acropolis. All rooms are designed to meet the highest standards of accommodation and feature upscale furnishing and decoration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Central Athens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Central Hotel
Central Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing