We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderment in Athens”

Jewish Heritage Tours
Ranked #60 of 284 Tours in Athens
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Jewish Heritage Tours in Athens and Greece in general, tailored to your needs and preferences. Tours Juifs guides a Athenes et dans toute la Grece pour individuels et groupes sur mesure.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
“Wonderment in Athens”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

A trip to see Jewish Athens without touring with Haim would be just a trip rather than the unforgettable emotions that you will experience as he relates the ancient and modern history of Jewish Greece. Haim makes you feel so comfortable that within minutes you will feel that you are traveling with a family member and not just a tour guide.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ischakis, Ιδιοκτήτης at Jewish Heritage Tours, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Thanks Marc for your kind words! My warmest regards to Janice!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Haim--one of a kind!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

Haim Ischakis is a very special guide. His knowlege and familiarity with anything and everything having a Jewish connection in Greece is unparallelled. Besides his great skills as a tour guide, Haim is a wonderful person, with a very warm personality. His cantorial skills, and his abilty to blow the shofar are also extraordinary. If you want to see the Jewish side of Greece, going with Haim is a must!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank David821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ischakis, Διευθυντής at Jewish Heritage Tours, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Thanks David, it was really an honor to make your acquaintance because you are a very special person!! Hoping our paths will cross again in future, all the best to you and to your family, Haim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our trip to Greece with Haim”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Our trip to Greece this past summer was made most memorable because of Haim. He was not only a Tour Guide- He took a special and personal interest in our group. Haim wanted to make sure that we enjoyed every moment and took extreme care in doing so. Haim is like family. If someone is interested in taking a trip to Greece, please make sure you take Haim as your guide. You will not be disappointed!! He will make it a trip to remember.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ischakis, Διευθυντής at Jewish Heritage Tours, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Dear karen, thank you for your kind words.

I really hope to see you again someday in the future ב"ה!!

Take good care of you and Ezra and stay in touch,

Haim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Haim is energetic, witty and can share lots of personal knowledge you cannot get in a book.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Haim is not your ordinary tour guide. He is good humored and an easy going tour guide. His smile will put you at ease. He has lots of information and facts to give, but best of all is the personal stories of the area, people and historical sights he will share with you. You will learn things you cannot get from a book. We are well traveled and had our share of tour guides. Haim is on the top of our list.
We had my youngest son's bar mitzvah in Ioannina with Rabbi Haim (another of one of his talents). Prior to the service, he gave us an in-depth tour of the Jewish quarter. The service was meaningful and touched our hearts. It was profound to connect to our ancestors and to hear Haim sing with the oldest Ioannina Romanoite (90yrs old) man. Several of us became teary eyed. The lunch on the island was beautiful and again, Haim gave a personal touch to historical information. This moment/memory could have not been any better.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tamyla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ischakis, Διευθυντής at Jewish Heritage Tours, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Tamyla, thanks for your kind words! I wish all the best to you, Arnold and your children and I hope to see you soon in Greece!! All my love, Haim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Trip to Cherish and Remember always”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

No way to give this incredible mensch too many stars! From start to finish, he was warm, friendly, professional and competent. He tailored a trip for us that was unique and special, taking into account our personal needs, the different ages, and time constraints. TO see Jewish Greece without Haim is not to see Jewish Greece. When he blows the shofar in the shul in Corfu and members of the community come from all corners of the shuk to welcome him and us to their community, you know you're in the presence of a special man. Our family has travelled through much of Europe, North America, the far east, etc, and have never encountered such a warm and caring Neshama.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Harvey E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ischakis, Διευθυντής at Jewish Heritage Tours, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thanks Harvey for your kind words! It was really an unforgettable trip! Best regards to all the family and a special kiss from me to Shimi!! Kol tuv, Haim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jewish Heritage Tours also viewed

 

Been to Jewish Heritage Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing