We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a short Athens stay”
Review of Polis Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Polis Grand Hotel
Ranked #39 of 281 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed at the Polis Grand for two nights upon our arrival in Greece. The rooms were small, but clean and comfortable. The staff was generally helpful during our stay. The location was good, being only a short metro ride away from the main attractions of Athens. The neighborhood also had a sufficient amount of restaurants and kiosks that we had everything we needed during our stay there. We decided to pay for the breakfast buffet and it was a good selection of fruit, pastries, and yogurt.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank land_shark77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
polisgrand, Guest Relations Manager at Polis Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Dear land_shark77,

It was a pleasure having you as our guest at the Polis Grand Hotel. We are glad you enjoyed our services and especially our breakfast enriched daily with local products. Hopefully your next visit to Athens will last longer than one night to have the opportunity to enjoy more of our service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (960)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

485 - 491 of 960 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed at the Polis Grand for a couple of days before going on a cruise, Comfortable Hotel in a great location, Staff are friendly and very helpful. Food was good both Dinner in the Roof Garden also Breakfast. the Café near reception makes fantastic coffee.
We have no hesitation in recommending this Hotel

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pauld255103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
polisgrand, Guest Relations Manager at Polis Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Dear Guest,

It is always our pleasure to receive such reviews and know that you had an excellent stay with us!
We will be happy to accommodate you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We liked the hotel reception staff, always smilling and willing to help and book us taxis. The view of the Acropolis from the rooftop bar was very nice though the bar closes really early and they stop serving food. Our room was not very spacious, it was exactly what you see in the pictures above. The bathroom area though quite big was a bit overdated. It was cleaned every day though. A huge minus on the beds, we asked for a double bedroom and we had a double bed made from two beds which were too hard and the pillows were too flat. The air conditioning worked well, there was a tv, and a minibar available in the room, but no kettle. Room service was at very reasonable prices.We asked for iron and they were really helpfull providing us with one. The area is dodgy at night but it is not dangerous, you just need to be aware. The hotel is extremely close to the metro station and in walking distance from restaurants and bakeries.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank The_Trav3ll3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
polisgrand, Guest Relations Manager at Polis Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Dear acya26,

Thank you very much for choosing the Polis Grand for your stay in Athens and for for taking the time to share with us your kind comments and your valuable reamrks. We have already addressed your remark about your sleeping preferences and thank you for bringing them forward to us.
Thank you for your valuable review and we are looking forward to welcome you back at Polis Grand Hotel.
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

My husband and I had the great pleasure of staying at the Polis Grand Hotel in Athens for a few days at the beginning of the summer this year. All I can say is that it was a great way to start our vacation. The whole experience rated almost 10 out of 10. The staff was super, very friendly and proactive for any questions or requests. Our room was kept perfectly clean, in fact the hotel was spotless, the breakfast bar was a delicious and complete offering of all that is delicious in Greece from the freshly squeezed juices, yogurt, honey, nuts, eggs, spreads, coffee, teas .......I can go on and on. I wanted it all...The hotel is a wonderful little boutique jewel that I will recommend over and over..

Room Tip: Be polite and ask for what you would like...but above all enjoy the experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank May A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
polisgrand, Guest Relations Manager at Polis Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Dear May A

Receiving such kind comments as yours encourages us to offer our outmost and increase our efforts.
Our aim is to offer comfort and hospitality to all our guests and make Polis Grand a “home-away-from-home” experience.

Once more thank you very much for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you at Polis Grand Hotel on your next visit in Athens.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel. The service I received was very good, especially from Nikos (on the reception desk) who was very friendly and helpful *(eg by allowing me to use the computer and printer after I had checked out. I also left my iPod behind and the hotel is keeping it for me until I can arrange for someone to collect it.

The location is very close to Omonia station, which is two stops away from Syntagma (the centre of Athens).

Thank you Polis Grand.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Melford D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
polisgrand, Public Relations Manager at Polis Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Dear Melford D,
our pleasure to receive such reviews and know that you had an excellent stay with us! Please do not forget to arrange for your ipod.
We will be happy to accommodate you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We arrived earlier than check in time but our room was ready and we were able to go straight to our room which was a nice surprise. The food in the restaurant was very good and the service was excellent. The night view of the Acropolis from the rooftop bar was very nice. My only complaint is the beds were a bit too hard for my liking and the pillows were too flat.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valandwayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
polisgrand, Director of Sales at Polis Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your kind comments. Our aim is to offer comfort and hospitality to all our guests. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and please note that we have already addressed your remarks to the management. Your comments are very valuable to us and helps us to keep our high standards.
We will be happy to accommodate you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

As previous reviewers have said, the location, in the Omonia district, is not the best. When we arrived - late afternoon - it looked a bit shabby, but very busy. On venturing out later at about 7:30pm, it looked entirely different - deserted and rather rough. However that was a Monday evening and subsequent evenings were not so bad. I noticed Athenians in evidence walking around purposefully so I believe it is not dangerous - just be aware of your surroundings.

The hotel is in quite a convenient location for everything with good transport and lots of taxis around.

At first the rooms look rather unenticing - quite small - and the carpet has seen better days. However they were spotlessly clean, including the linens and the bathroom. Our bathroom had a proper bath. The air conditioning worked very well and was not noisy.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. We didn't eat there at all, preferring to go out instead. NB there is a very good local kebab place opposite the hotel, but hidden behind that block. Turn right on the main road and take a left by the patisserie and then left again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fillyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Omonia
Athens Tiare Hotel
Athens Tiare Hotel
#35 of 281 in Athens
239 reviews
Exarchia
Melia Athens
Melia Athens
#33 of 281 in Athens
2,108 reviews
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#23 of 281 in Athens
1,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Athens Lotus Hotel
#57 of 281 in Athens
902 reviews
Exarchia
Areos Hotel
Areos Hotel
#22 of 281 in Athens
619 reviews
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Polis Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Polis Grand Hotel

Address: 19 Patission | & 10 Veranzerou, Athens 10432, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Omonia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £62 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Polis Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Polis Grand Hotel, a fine 4- star hotel in the heart of the historical and commercial center of Athens. Since 1974 we have been personally taking care of our guests in our 100 renovated rooms, combining modern high-standard services with the tradition of genuine hospitality.The hotel's central location offers easy access to the public transportation means, the Eleftherios Venizelos international airport and the Piraeus and Rafina ports, the major exposition centers, public services and organizations, the downtown theater stages, the museums and art galleries, the best commercial shops and malls, the entertainment scene, the sports events venues and the most important tourist attractions of Athens. Thus, Polis Grand Hotel in Athens, makes an ideal accommodation choice for both business and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Lastminute, Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Polis Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Polis Grand Athens
Hotel Polis Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing