We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Athos Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$322
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$453
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$210
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Attalos Hotel(Athens)
US$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$150
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Centrotel Hotel(Athens)(Great Value!)
US$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$252
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$211
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$280
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$198
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
New Hotel(Athens)
US$426
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$376
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Plaka Hotel(Athens)
US$234
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$207
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$205
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$200
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (196)
Filter reviews
196 results
Traveller rating
34
81
53
16
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
34
81
53
16
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroof gardengreat locationtiny roomcleaned dailyquiet streetwithin walking distanceupon checkyour luggageside streetclean roomsfew minutes walkhotel roomvisiting athensgreat view of the acropolisstar hotelsyntagmacloset
Filter
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 196 reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Athos hotel is located around 15mins walk to the acropolis. It is very close the Plaka where you can buy souvenir and have dinner. The hotel is a bit old - But it is clean!

We were told when we checked in that there is a "American Breakfast Buffet" that we can have by paying an extra 5 euros. So we thought we might give it a try. BAD DECISION! We were having breakfast at around 8:30am, and there was literally NOTHING there. The "scramble eggs" were pale off white colour and it looked like they only use 2 eggs to make that thin dish of scramble eggs. You cannot call that a buffet! Aside from the scrambled eggs - there was yoghurt and and (no joke) 3 slices of processed ham! That was what they called the American breakfast. We sat for a while, and more people came to the breakfast area - by the time this place was nearly full - they didn't even bring out more food nor did they make more of that pale off coloured scrambled eggs.

The manager asked us when we got back to the hotel that day whether we would like to have the breakfast again for the next day - Hell no - i wouldn't even have it if it was for Free!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Z3173054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2010

I have recently returned home after a forced 7 night stay in Athens due to the volcanic ash cloud that grounded flights across Europe - by chance and under pressure to find a hotel quickly, I came to find the Athos Hotel - perfectly located, up a quiet street in the Plaka area just 5 minutes walk from Syntagma Square and Metro Station - the hotel is small, clean, nicely decorated, well run and best of all the service was absolutely exceptional! - I hope to return one day soon, although under different circumstances!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
25  Thank Euro-salesrep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2009

We (couple with 2-year-old boy) stayed 4 nights at Athos Hotel (Athens, Plaka) in May 2009. The hotel is well situated and the room was clean, the receptionists were really friendly. Even though, we would not go back, because we had a serious dispute with the hotel owner. We booked our double room with a baby cot through e-mail; the rate was 75 EUR incl. cot and taxes per room. When I arrived at the hotel after a long journey, I was as inattentive as to sign a paper which stated that the rate was 75 EUR plus 13% taxes. Later we went to the hotel owner and showed her the printout of her e-mail confirming the rate of 75 EUR. She said that since I signed the paper at arrival, her email is not valid any more. We tried to explain how immoral her approach is. She said that we got linens for the baby cot for free (as if it was not natural!!) and a big room (it was not at all big). She added that if I had said at the arrival that I want a cheaper room, she would have given us a smaller one, but that would have been really tiny for the 3 of us. We told her that she should not have confirmed a room for 3 persons if she is not willing to accept the agreed rate for the particular room. Later, we heard that ours was not the first case like this. At the end, after we had told her we would call the police, she accepted that we pay 75 EUR (plus 6 EUR/breakfast), but we really had a bad feeling in that hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank gjuci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2009

A fine place to land if you're arriving dazed after a long trip from the U.S. Athos is cool, clean, quiet, and friendly. Location A+. Good value for Plaka.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank las718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2009

Coming up to Athos Hotel, you might initially be very wary of its location. Patroou Street is very narrow and the surrounding buildings display evidence of a once unhappy period with all their graffiti slogans. However, we were very pleased with Athos Hotel. The rooms were very clean and they were certainly spacious enough. The bathroom was a comfortable size and the aircon was a most appreciated amenity in the Athens summer. The highlight however of room 402 (the one we were staying in) was the beautiful view of the Acropolis from our very tiny balcony. We would definitely recommend Athos Hotel if you are just using Athens as a stopover before moving onto an island hopping itinerary. From a logistical perspective, Athos hotel is very close to all the restaurants and shops in the Plaka district and it is an easy 10 minute walk to the Monastariki Train station, which is then a 20 min ride to the Port of Pireaus. The hotel is also very closely situated to the bus stop at Syntagma square. However, be weary of pick pockets that operate on the X95 bus from the Airport to Syntagma Square.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
23  Thank dan_erasmus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews