We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So-so”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Athos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Athos Hotel
Ranked #135 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“So-so”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013

This is a basic hotel in the center of Athens:

1) Simple but clean rooms with quite a small bathroom

2) Wi-Fi for free

3) Safety box for a small charge

4) Personnel could be a little bit more friendly.

5) Breakfast is too poor, in my opinion. And teabags (as well as boiled water) are provided only on demand.

I would highly recommend paying some 15 Euro more and staying in Sweet Home Hotel which is just next door but is much, much better than Athos Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xenia_Nikishkova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NIKOS G, Front Office Manager at Athos Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2013
Dear Mrs Nikishkova

Thank you for your Comments Regarding ATHOS Hotel.
Safe Box Facilities are FREE In ATHOS Hotel, there is no charge for In Room safe box use Therefore i assume that you have mistook our Hotel services with another place that you might have also stayed in Athens.
We are Always at Your Disposition
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    62
    49
    14
    12
See reviews for
22
83
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

Lovely hotel. Nice quiet Room, good breakfast, lovely service and walkimg distance from all atteactions and surprisimgly quiet.good restaurants all aronds, shopping centre and the mRket with tavernas and music on the weekend.

Room Tip: All are the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nurami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NIKOS G, Front Office Manager at Athos Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2013
Thank you Very Much for your Beautifull Comments , We are Always at Your Disposition .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2012

Comfortable hotel with good facilities for its price range and pleasant staff. In a nice area and very accessible. The staff were really helpful and pleasant, they gave us some great tips on restaurants and nightlife that really made our time extra special. Thanks for helping to make our trip to Athens a good one!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RhodiePaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NIKOS G, Front Office Manager at Athos Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2013
Dear Mr Rhodie

Thank you for your beautifull Comment , We are always at Your Disposition.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

This Hotel offers an excellent opportunity for visiting Athens. Located in Plaka nearby Acropolis, it permits to reach walking any interesting place in the city. Some rooms with are avaible with a Parthenon view. Rooms are not too small, clean and we had a spacious and pleasant bathingroom. The staff is so nice and welcoming. I can recommend this hotel as excellent an exellent stay in a medium class hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Bernard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NIKOS G, Front Office Manager at Athos Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2013
Dear Mr Bernard

Thank you for your beautifull comment, We are always at Your Disposition.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
68 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2012

We took a train from the airport to Syntagma and the hotel was only a few minutes walk away. The side road the hotel is in is very quiet and slightly rundown with vacant buildings but it was very safe. The location is great with Ermou street being very close so lots of shopping and eateries nearby. The hotel itself, although a little dated was just fine for our needs. The room was quite spacious, was cleaned daily, had aircon (not very effective though), flat screen TV and free wifi. The bed was not very comfy. We did not require any taxis or transport as walking from place to place was possible and not a huge distance from the hotel. Breakfast wasn't particularly varied and it was an additional cost so we only had breakfast once throughout our stay. The receptionist's did not all speak good English but Elpida was very helpful. We had a pleasant stay and would recommend it for the budget traveler.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TheAbduls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NIKOS G, Front Office Manager at Athos Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2013
Dear Mr And Mrs Abdul

Thank you for your beautifull Comment , we are always at Your Disposition .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Adequate, clean accomodation in a central position. Although in a small side street it was a very safe area to walk about in and within walking distance of Acropolis. Staff very helpful. Breakfast rather disappointing with no fresh fruit. Lovely baker's nearby in Othonos Street where you can get a great breakfast. Although rooms would probably benefit from being updated I would go back to the Athos.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NIKOS G, Front Office Manager at Athos Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2013
Thank you for your review and your comment. We are pleased you enjoyed our very central location, the cleanliness of our rooms and the customer service we are offering. Hope you will choose us again on a future trip to Athens.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
73 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

Very convenient for public/airport transport, a small hotel with a roof terrace. Room was quite small but clean & comfortable. Can't comment on the breakfast as we opted not to take it.
TV, mini bar fridge, hairdyer, safe & aircon all included.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank Yiassas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NIKOS G, Front Office Manager at Athos Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for choosing Athos Hotel for your stay in Athens. We are always aiming for the best customer service and every clients' satisfaction. Thank you for mentioning the very central location and we are glad you enjoyed the cleanliness of our rooms as well as our amenities. Hope you will choose us again on a future trip to Athens.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Kimon Athens Hotel
Kimon Athens Hotel
#75 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Plaka
Omiros Hotel
Omiros Hotel
#108 of 325 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Plaka
Pan Hotel
Pan Hotel
#62 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Syntagma
Hotel Metropolis
Hotel Metropolis
#56 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Plaka
BEST WESTERN Amazon Hotel
BEST WESTERN Amazon Hotel
#45 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
Plaka
Hotel Nefeli
Hotel Nefeli
#121 of 325 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athos Hotel

Property: Athos Hotel
Address: 3 Patroou, Athens 105 57, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Athos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Athos Hotel is located in the gorgeous historic neighbourhood of Plaka and is open throughout the year. Recently refurbished and converted into a beautiful boutique hotel, Athos Hotel offers a unique opportunity to relax and enjoy your stay in Athens in a very friendly and tranquil environment, while being in the very heart of Athens. The elegant interior of Athos Hotel, the provision of faultless professional services and the friendly attitude of the hotel staff would satisfy even the most demanding guest. Because of its location in Plaka, in the very heart of old Athens, and its excellent connection with all means of transportation, Athos Hotel is the ideal place to stay in order to visit the main Athenian attractions and get familiar with Athens. ATHOS Hotel has been renovated in November 2016. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Athos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athos Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing