We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy B&B bang in the middle of the action.”
Review of Athos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Athos Hotel
Ranked #98 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed in the only top floor rom on 6th floor. Small and cozy, good tv, nice air con, shower and bed. No wi-fi on the top floors was a drag. Booked with balcony, did not have one..bummer! breakfast was a waste, better at any next door taverna or even Starbucks 4 min away on Metropolis st. Staff was friendly but non negotiable when we complained about our booking with balcony.. We could use the roof top terrace with Acropolis view with all the smokers... We´ll try one of its neighbors on our next trip.. because the Plaka area with its tavernas and bars up the flights towards the monuments are sizzling hot!

Room Tip: don't choose the two top floors if you want wi-fi
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank famsim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (187)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 188 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014

We picked this hotel mainly for the location and price range. It was clean and basic. The terrace view was spectacular for sunset and evening viewing.

We splurged for the acropolis view room which was a total waste of money- the window with the view opened straight into the top-floor terrace, so we just went out onto the terrace instead (and who wants to lounge on their bed with the window open when other guests could pop into the terrace and look into your room?)

We went on a 2-day tour and they allowed us to leave our luggage overnight. When we returned we stayed in a cheaper room and were surprised that it was much more spacious than our first (more expensive!) acropolis view room. The AC did not work but we didn't discover it until late in the evening so we didn't ask them to fix it ... we can't really blame the hotel if it was indeed fixable.

Room Tip: Do NOT pick the acropolis view room- it is smaller than the other rooms and the window with the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Katie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I was gravely disappointed at the end of my trip when arriving for one last night in athens- i had made an honest mistake with my booking and booked the wrong date (by one night) - the room had already been paid for. instead of showing good will and customer service the lady at the counter refused to offer me another room for the night without further fee despite the fact that she could re- rent the room for the following night when i would be on the way bak to Australia. lucky for me Central hotel athens across the street could give me a reduced rate fee for a room for the night. i have travelled many times and stayed in many hotels and never have i had such an unwelcoming experience.

Room Tip: do not stay here
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
3  Thank priya c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This hotel does not invite another stay and it is not worth the price. I would try to find another hotel elsewhere for a similar cost, even if that means farther from attractions. The hotel is very close to an abandoned building and does not feel safe at night. The facilities are outdated and are basic, if clean. The breakfast was not worth the cost either. Overall it was a disappointing stay and by far the worst hotel we stayed at during our Greece trip.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lost_Happy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

As we planned our trip last minute- Athos was one of the only hotel we could booked into. The hotel is well situated-close to syntagma square, plaka and monasteraki and withing walking distance to a wide variety of restaurants and coffee shops. However for the price we paid we were very disappointed by how basic this hotel is. The next day when we came back basically the bed was made by just throwing the duvet back on it. There was still some crumbs from my macaroon i ate in the morning in it!! The good point if you are visiting greece for the first time is to go on the roof garden and have a view of acropolis from it.The staff was quite friendly luckily. I would not recommend this place unless you are looking for a budget hotel (even if it was not as we paid the price of a normal hotel)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amelie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

As previous reviewers have mentioned, this is a basic hotel, with clean / tidy facilities and friendly staff (although it felt slightly undermanned at times).
Poor wifi connection on the 5th and 6th floors - we could get reception for all the other hotels wifi except our own most of the time.
They ask you to book your breakfast in advance. We ended up leaving earlier than expected to make our flight and missing our breakfast. Were not willing to refund the EUR10. A little flexibility on this would have left a much better impression on us.
Lift is quite small (fits one person plus some other luggage) but very quick, so you don't have to wait too long but are likely to make multiple trips for your luggage.
When we arrived, we were asked to move rooms on our final and third day there to a smaller room so that they could accommodate a larger party. We didn't mind as they asked nicely and we were charged less for the smaller room in the end. However, it would have been better if they had moved our luggage for us. Instead, we had to bring the luggage down to the lobby, leave it in storage while we went on a day tour, collect it at the end of the day and drag them up a flight of stairs because our new room on the 6th floor had no direct lift access.
View of the Acropolis was as advertised, we could definitely see it from our window.
All in all, wouldn't mind staying here again if we had to as it wasn't that bad, but if we had a choice would choose to stay somewhere else for the same price they charged us (EUR150 per night). Guests should be aware that they are paying for the location, not the facilities.

Room Tip: Be careful of the 6th floor room 601 which has the worst access to wifi although it is next to the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BG284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I stayed here in May while at a conference in Athens.Its location in Plaka is undeniably good. It's close to the flea market, walking distance to the Benaki museum, right near Syntagma Square and about ten minutes away from the Acropolis. The price was also really affordable, but...sometimes you get what you pay for!

When they first gave me my room, they didn't warn me they'd yet to finish cleaning it, so a nice woman who didn't seem to know I'd been given my room key already walked in on me in the shower! Then there was the incident where the TV wouldn't turn off and no one at the front desk believed me it was broken, so I had to trudge down twice at 3 am desperate to turn off Sky News so I could sleep!


The rooms were okay. They could have been cleaner though. The blankets in particular did not look exactly sanitary to me.

Ultimately, though the price was fabulous, I would consider paying up an extra $20 or $30 a night to get something in the same neighbourhood of slightly better quality.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahSahagian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#32 of 282 in Athens
1,819 reviews
Plaka
Hotel Carolina
Hotel Carolina
#125 of 282 in Athens
228 reviews
Plaka
Hotel Acropolis House
Hotel Acropolis House
#81 of 282 in Athens
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Best Western Amazon Hotel
Best Western Amazon Hotel
#42 of 282 in Athens
996 reviews
Plaka
Hotel Nefeli
Hotel Nefeli
#110 of 282 in Athens
240 reviews
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#15 of 282 in Athens
1,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athos Hotel

Address: 3 Patroou, Athens 105 57, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Price Range: £47 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Athos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Athos Hotel is located in the gorgeous historic neighbourhood of Plaka and is open throughout the year. Recently refurbished and converted into a beautiful boutique hotel, Athos Hotel offers a unique opportunity to relax and enjoy your stay in Athens in a very friendly and tranquil environment, while being in the very heart of Athens. The elegant interior of Athos Hotel, the provision of faultless professional services and the friendly attitude of the hotel staff would satisfy even the most demanding guest. Because of its location in Plaka, in the very heart of old Athens, and its excellent connection with all means of transportation, Athos Hotel is the ideal place to stay in order to visit the main Athenian attractions and get familiar with Athens. ATHOS Hotel has been renovated in November 2016. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Athos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athos Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing